Canadian Cyclist Leukemia 24/7-2 April5
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Lap the Gats CC1 April 27

Daily News


May 10/06 8:59 am - Mississauga Midweek

Posted by Editoress on 05/10/06

Midweek Club Tuesday Night Races
Courtesy Midweek Club

Conditions were perfect tonight for the Midweek Tues. Night Races. This week an early race was added to accomodate Sr.3/Masters women and riders who are not yet ready to make the step up to the open race. The group stayed intact for most of the race and the inevitable sprint was taken by Dan Thompson of Madonna Wheelers.

This week's late race was the premier event in the Jack Wierzbicki Memorial Prestige race series, which is a series within the Tuesday night series and carries it's independent points ranking and trophy.

Ital Pasta's new addition Thorben Wieditz started off the attacks with a strong move in the opening lap. But despite many powerful moves off the front including a 4 lap escape by La Bicicletta's Darko Ficko and Jason Valenti of, which netted a prime win for Ficko; the pack came together for the final sprint which was taken by La Bicicletta's Heath Cockburn: the man who has established himself as the most dominant rider in the history of the Midweek weekly series.

Thanks to Midweek's Craig Fagan and Dan Rothnie for set up and take down and to Peter Rodirigues and Bobby Mrvelj and his kids for minding the lap counter during the races. See you all next week.

Early Race
20 Laps - 19.6 km - 43.5 km/h avg.

1. Dan Thompson (Madonna Wheelers) 26:55
2. Marc Sullivan (Midweek CC)
3. Dennis Sartori (La Bicicletta)
4. Jeremey Rethazy (Midweek CC)
5. Steve Hamilton (Madonna Wheelers)
6. Bruce Camacho (D'Ornellas)
7. "Red Jersey"
8. Hugh Carter (Madonna Wheelers)
9. Rod Olliver (Open Access)
10.Pierre Perrin (D'Ornellas)
11. Liza Miranda (Midweek CC), all st

Late Race
44 Laps - 43.12 km - 43.8 km/h avg.

1. Heath Cockburn (La Bicicletta - S1) 59:00
2. Dan Lefevre (Team RACE - S1)
3. Jason Valenti ( - S1)
4. Jeff Hansen (Jet Fuel - S1)
5. Thorben Wieditz (Ital Pasta - S1)
6. Jordan Kofman ( - S3)
7. Damian Kurzawinski (ZM Cycling Team - S1)
8. Rob Chiocca (Wheels of Bloor - MA)
9. Rob Zuech (Wheels of Bloor - MA)
10.Mark Shaw (Chain Reaction - MC) all st.

70 Starters

Thorben Wieditz
Darko Ficko (La Bicicletta)

1. Merrill Collins (La Bicicletta) 59:00
2. Julia Farrell (Wheels of Bloor) st.
3. Heather Davidson-Meyn (W of Bloor)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login