Canadian Cyclist
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC2 Sept 13

Daily News


August 16/06 5:56 am - Tour du Limousin: Stage 1 & 2

Posted by Editoress on 08/16/06

Tour du Limousin France

Health Woes Follow François Parisien at the Tour du Limousin
Courtesy Sportcom
Translated by Amanda Leigh Cox

Despite persistent health woes, cyclist François Parisien (TIAA-CREF) finished with the main pack in Stage One's 153.1 K of the Tour du Limousin Tuesday. Stricken with inflamed bronchial tubes, the Quebec native admitted to Sportcom that he'd never suffered as much in any other race due to his condition.

French rider Pierrick Fédrigo (Bouygues Telecom) - winner of Stage 14 of the 2006 Tour de France - won the Stage which took place between Limoges and Abusson. Fédrigo is one to watch during this year's Tour de Limousin, having claimed the victory in 2004.

The race was decided early on as a breakaway at 20 K saw 16 riders slip away from the main pack, who essentially let them ride away for the remainder of the race.

"The race started so fast, and the terrain was so rolling that after 20 K the end of the race was decided. After the 16 man break-away, the pack rode more or less steadily until the end of the race." Parisien told Sportcom, adding "This is one of the races where I've suffered the most - it made no sense at all."

The main pack crossed the finish line at 16 minutes from the winning break-away. Three of Parisien's TIAA-CREF teammates were in the aforementioned break, American Dany Pate finished in tenth place.

Stage Two takes place between Tulle in St-Léonard-de-Noblat, Wednesday over a distance of 185,3 K. The Tour du Limousin ends Friday.

Stage 1 (August 15th): Limoges to Aubusson, 153:1 km

1 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom, 3:38:15
2 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis-Le Crédit par Téléphone, s.t.
3 Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Cycle Racing Team Vang, 0:02
4 Gilles Canouet (Fra) Agritubel
5 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Crédit Agricole
6 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) Française des Jeux
7 Yann Pivois (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
8 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Cycle Racing Team Vang
9 Cédric Hervé (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h
10 Danny Pate (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, all s.t.

41 Lucas Euser (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, 16:10
46 Peter Stetina (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
47 Craig Lewis (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
61 Brad Armstrong (USA) Orbea
81 Francois Parisien (Can) Team TIAA-CREF
89 Dan Bowman (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
93 William Frischkorn (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, all s.t.
116 Michael Lange (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, 19:23

Stage 2: Tulle to Saint Léonard, 185:3 km

1 Noan Lelarge (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h, 4:32:53
2 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) AG2R Prévoyance, at 0:19
3 Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h, 0:37
4 Benoît Salmon (Fra) Agritubel, 0:39
5 Dmitriy Muravyev (Kaz) Jartazi-7Mobile, 0:45
6 Julen Zubero (Esp) Orbea
7 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis-Le Crédit par Téléphone, 0:48
8 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Crédit Agricole
9 Eric Leblacher (Fra) Française des Jeux, 0:52
10 Rémy Di Gregorio (Fra) Française des Jeux, 1:11

20 Lucas Euser (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, 6:41
23 Danny Pate (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
31 William Frischkorn (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
50 Peter Stetina (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
78 Dan Bowman (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
85 Craig Lewis (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
91 Francois Parisien (Can) Team TIAA-CREF, 9:29

TC Brad Armstrong (USA) Orbea
DNF Michael Lange (USA) Team TIAA-CREF


1 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom, 8:17:35
2 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis-Le Crédit par Téléphone, 0:02
3 Cédric Hervé (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h, 0:11
4 Shinichi Fukushima (Jpn) Cycle Racing Team Vang, 0:12
5 Gilles Canouet (Fra) Agritubel
6 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Crédit Agricole
7 Yann Pivois (Fra) Groupe Sportif Bretagne-Jean Floc'h, 0:15
8 Danny Pate (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, 0:16
9 Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Cycle Racing Team Vang
10 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) Française des Jeux

46 Lucas Euser (USA) Team TIAA-CREF, 16:24
54 Peter Stetina (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
62 William Frischkorn (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
67 Craig Lewis (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
83 Dan Bowman (USA) Team TIAA-CREF
90 Francois Parisien (Can) Team TIAA-CREF, 19:12


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login