Canadian Cyclist


December 10/98 9:17 am - Results of Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards

Posted by Editor on 12/10/98

Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards

After 3 weeks of voting, we now have our winners in the second annual CC Awards. This year was a clean sweep by road riders from the east. In the Canadian Cyclist of Year voting, it was Commonwealth Games medallists Eric Wohlberg (Oakville, Ontario) and Lyne Bessette (Knowlton, Quebec) taking the men‚s and women‚s awards respectively. Both won by large margins over their nearest competitors (see results below).

Bessette took a second award in the Best Individual Performance category, for her Gold medal ride in the Commonwealth Games women‚s road race. The Best Newcomer award was won by Genevieve Jeanson of Lachine, Quebec, who was dominant in the Junior women‚s road category domestically, taking the National title, and won a bronze medal in the Individual Time Trial at the World Championships.

We congratulate all the winners, and thank all the readers who took part in the voting - nearly 1500 in total!

Note: Photos and stories from the Gala where the awards are being presented tonight will be posted tomorrow.

Canadian Cyclist of the Year ˆ Male

1. Eric Wohlberg ˆ 65% of votes cast
2. Seamus McGrath ˆ 12%
3. Chris Sheppard ˆ 9%

Canadian Cyclist of the Year ˆ Female

1. Lyne Bessette ˆ 55%
2. Alison Sydor ˆ 25%
3. Chrissy Redden ˆ 11%

Best Individual Performance

1. Lyne Bessette ˆ 57%
2. Ryder Hesjedel ˆ 16%
3. Alison Sydor ˆ 15%

Best Newcomer

1. Genevieve Jeanson ˆ 60%
2. Amber Chorney ˆ 24%
3. Lyne Bessette ˆ 13%


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.