Canadian Cyclist


December 9/06 8:47 am - W.E. Stedman Grand Prix 'Cross (Verge NECCS #6)

Posted by Editor on 12/9/06

W.E. Stedman Grand Prix 'Cross (Verge NECCS #6) - Rhode Island, USA

Report from Milliman Media Group

Picking up where they left off two weeks ago the wife-husband duo of Lyne Bessette ( and Tim Johnson ( won Saturday's W.E. Stedman Grand Prix in South Kingston, Rhode Island, round 6 of the 2006 Verge New England Championship Cyclo-Cross Series. Less than 20 miles from the site of next week's U.S. national Championships, the penultimate Verge NECCS race went to form, with Bessette dominating the Elite Women's field and Johnson forming an early breakaway and then soloing in for the Elite Men's win.

On a dry afternoon with temperatures hovering in the high-30s, Johnson initiated a strong early move with U.S. National Champion Todd Wells (GT), Jeremy Powers (Jelly Belly), and Matt White (FiordiFrutta). The quartet rode well together with White the first to come off. An acceleration by Johnson eventually dropped Wells and Powers and it was clear sailing for the defending Verge NECCS champ. Powers came in for second with Wells filling out the podium.

As she has done all year in the Verge NECCS races, Bessette set a withering pace from the gun and never looked back. Even with other regional champions in attendance - recently crowned Verge Mid-Atlantic champ Deirdre Winfield (VeloBella-Kona) and Oregon Cross Crusade winner Rhonda Mazza (Vanilla-S&M) - Bessette showed no mercy in chalking up another win. Winfield took second with Mazza coming third.

With her fourth win in as many starts Bessette regained the Elite Women's leader's jersey, helped in large part by former jersey holder Mackenzie Dickey (Verge) recording a DNF. The Elite Men's race tightened considerably with White (FiordiFrutta) clawing to within 5 points of Series leader Mark McCormack (Clif Shot) going into the final race. McCormack lost the overall title to Tim Johnson in 2005 on the final day of the Series. The Verge NECCS concludes December 10 in with Caster's Cyclocross.

1 Lyne Bessette ( 41:58
2 Deidre Winfield (Velo Bella-Kona) at 0:22
3 Rhonda Mazza (Team S&M/Vanilla Bicycles) 1:21
4 Maureen Bruno Roy (Independent Fabrication/Wheelworks) s.t.
5 Christine Vardaros (Lotto-Belisol) 1:39
6 Rebecca Wellons (Gearworks/Spin Arts Cycling) 1:42
7 Anna Milkowski (Velo Bella-Kona) 2:34
8 Melanie Swartz (Velo Bella - Kona) 2:41
9 Betsy Shogren (Fort Factory Team) 3:00
10 Cris Rothfuss (NEBC/Cycle Loft) 3:50

1 Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclo Cross World) 57:39
2 Jeremy Powers (Jelly Belly ) at 0:17
3 Todd Wells (GT/Shimano) 1:08
4 Matt White (FiordiFrutta) 1:21
5 Mark Mccormack (Team Cliff Bar) 1:42
6 Tristan Schouten (Trek/VW/Michelin) 2:08
7 Justin Spinelli (RGM WATCHES - Richard Sachs - Rex) s.t.
8 Johannes Huseby (FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team) 2:09
9 Matt Kraus (Alan Factory Team) 2:41
10 Erik Tonkin (Kona) 2:42
11 Mathieu Toulouse (Team Maxxis Cyclocross) 2:52


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.