Canadian Cyclist


March 17/99 1:00 am - Canadian Results, Paris-Ancaster Registration, Tirreno Final

Posted by Editor on 03/17/99

Canadian Results in California
(courtesy Mirek Mazur)

On the 13th, the Welton Time Trial in Yuma, Arizona took place. Canadian, Erin Carter (Manitoba), riding for Saecor Jana, took 2nd place in the Women's Pro 1/2. Over 43km she did a time of 1hr 3min. In the Men's Pro 1/2, 16 year old Canadian, Peter Mazur, riding for Kissena, took 2nd place. He covered the 43km in a time of 56min 13sec.

On the 14th, the North End Classic took place in Yuma, Arizona. Erin Carter won the Pro 1/2 Women's Criterium sprinting from a two woman break. There were a total of 30 starters. In the Men's Pro 1/2, Peter Mazur won his first Pro race. He lapped the field with 5 other riders. With 3 laps to go he broke away from the main field to win solo, 10 sec. ahead of the field. It was 90min Crit, with an average speed of 46km/h. There were a total 80 starters.

Paris to Ancaster

We have arranged with the organizer of the Paris to Ancaster offroad enduro (April, 11th) to provide an online registration form. You can register online using your Visa card, and ensure your entry into this very popular event.

The organizer says that they are expecting 600 entries this year., and that there will be a few changes to the course. The ride now starts in downtown Paris, at the Syl Apps arena, and the starting section will be modified to reflect the new location (and to minimize starting bottlenecks. They are also planning on adding one new climb in the first 10 kilometres, however, they are waiting to assess the trail conditions before a final decision is made.

You can register Here.

Ed. Note: Other organizers who wish to use this online registration service should contact us for details

Tirreno-Adriatico, Italy

Stage 8 - Civitanova to San Benedetto del Tronto, 164 km

1. Jan Svorada (Cze) Lampre-Daikin 4:22:10
2. Gian Matteo Fagnini (Ita) Saeco-Cannondale
3. Giovanni Lombardi (Ita) Telekom
4. Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Polti
5. Zoran Klemencic (Slo) Vini Caldirola
6. Lars Michaelsen (Den) La Francaise des Jeux
7. Marcel Wust (Ger) Festina
8. Endrio Leoni (Ita) Liquigas-Brescialat
9. Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Ballan Alessio
10. Martin Hvastija (Slo) Ballan Alessio all s.t.

Final GC

1. Michele Bartoli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 36:03:30
2. Davide Rebellin (Ita) Polti at 0:09
3. Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Bianchi 0:14
4. Laurent Jalabert (Fra) ONCE-Deutsche Bank 0:21
5. Igor Gonzalez (Esp) Vitalicio Seguros 0:30
6. Alessandro Spezialetti (Ita) Mobilvetta-Northwave 1:56
7. Bo Hamburger (Den) Cantina Tollo-Alexia 3:57
8. Christopher Jenner (Nzl) Crédit Agricole 4:26
9. Oskar Camenzind (Sui) Lampre-Daikin s.t.
10. Davide Casarotto (Ita) TVM-Farm Frites 4:27


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.