Canadian Cyclist


August 3/07 4:55 am - Independent Inquiry to Investigate Rasmussen Firing

Posted by Editoress on 08/3/07

Independent Inquiry to Investigate Rasmussen Firing
Courtesy Rabobank

Peter Vogelzang (62), the former Superintendent of the Utrecht Regional Police, Chef de Mission of the Dutch Olympic team in Athens, member of the Supervisory Board of the Royal Netherlands Football Association (KNVB) and delegated supervisory director of Feyenoord NV is to head the independent inquiry into the events surrounding Michael Rasmussen and the crisis involving the Rabo Cycling Team in the Tour de France 2007. This inquiry has been initiated at the request of the Executive Board of the Rabobank Group.

The Executive Board has requested Mr Vogelzang to focus the inquiry on the following topics:

• The process leading up to the crisis. What are the underlying facts, how did the decision-making procedure take place during the different phases and how were the communications handled?

• How did the management and the team management perform within this process?

• The governance structure of the Rabo Cycling Teams that was established in 2004 and that provides for a clear division of responsibilities between the sport operation and the bank and facilitates remote supervision.

• The policy of the Rabo Cycling Teams concerning training and medical guidance and the system of monitoring the riders' compliance with the policy.

• The context of the developments within the realm of international professional cycling. What is the influence of legislation and regulations, doping checks, sanctions and the conduct of the various bodies (UCI, WADA and National Federations) and organisations such as ASO (organiser of the Tour de France)?

The ultimate findings, conclusions and recommendations of the inquiry committee headed by Mr Vogelzang are expected to be presented in October of this year.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.