Canadian Cyclist


August 7/07 6:12 am - Dionne to Race Tour of Ireland

Posted by Editor on 08/7/07

Dionne to Race Tour of Ireland
Courtesy Colavita/Sutter Home

The Colavita/Sutter Home Men's Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light is one of three North American teams invited to race in the inaugural Tour of Ireland, scheduled for August 22-26, 2007. The Colavita/Sutter Home roster will include Belfast native and former Irish National Champion David McCann, Canadian National Criterium Champion Charles Dionne, and Americans Adam Bergman, Anthony Colby, Andy Guptill, Dan Vaillancourt, and Tyler Wren.

"We're honored to be selected to join UCI ProTour teams for the debut of the new Tour of Ireland," said Schuler. "We're particularly proud that David McCann, one of Ireland's favorite athletes who has represented his home country in major cycling events all over the world as well as two Olympic Games, will be racing in Colavita/Sutter Home colors as the Tour of Ireland returns to the international cycling calendar after a 15-year absence."

"With Charles Dionne's speed and Anthony Colby's climbing skills, Colavita/Sutter Home has an excellent shot at winning stage victories at the Tour of Ireland," Schuler continued. "In the last two months alone, Charles has won Canada's National Criterium Championship and La Coupe de la Paix (Peace Race) as well as the overall points competition at the International Tour de Toona, one of the toughest stage races in North America."

Schuler added, "And when the road tips up on those steep hills for which Ireland is famous, you can bet that Anthony Colby will be at the front of the field." Colby, of Durango, CO, won the King of the Mountain competition at the Tour de Toona in July and finished third in Stage Five of the 2007 Tour de Georgia, renowned for the grueling climb up Brasstown Bald, the highest peak in the state.

Colavita/Sutter Home Men's Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light roster for the inaugural Tour of Ireland:

Adam Bergman (USA)
Anthony Colby (USA)
Charles Dionne (CAN)
Andy Guptill (USA)
David McCann (IRE)
Dan Vaillancourt (USA)
Tyler Wren (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.