Canadian Cyclist


August 25/07 10:27 am - CCA Announces National Road Team Selections

Posted by Editor on 08/25/07

CCA Announces National Road Team Selections

The Canadian Cycling Association has just announced the preliminary selections for the national men's and women's squads for the Road Worlds. Six Espoir men will race the Tour de l'Avenir, from which five will be selected for the Worlds. Christian Meier as Espoir national road champion is automatic for the road race, as is David Veilleux for the time trial, so we expect three more to be selected to join them. Meier has been pre-selected as the second ITT rider, with Brad Fairall as alternate.

Six women will race the Tour de l'Ardeche, and the Worlds team will be selected from that group. National champion Gina Grain declined an invitation to l'Ardeche and the Road Worlds, since her focus is on the Track World Cup and Worlds. National time trial champion Anne Samplonius also declined the l'Ardeche project to focus her preparation on the time trial event at the Worlds. Nationals silver medallist Lyne Bessette also declined an invitation. Samplonius still has a strong chance of being selected to the road squad for Worlds, since Canada has six spots.

For the elite men, two riders are pre-selected for the time trial - national champion Ryder Hesjedal and Svein Tuft. Tuft and national road champion Cam Evans are pre-selected for the road squad, and the third and final member will come from a just announced long list (below). The final selection will be made on September 15th. Note that Hesjedal is not eligible for the Worlds road race since he did not participate at the Nationals in this event.

Espoir men for l'Avenir (September 6-15)

Christian Meier
David Veilleux
Ryan Anderson
Éric Boily
Brad Fairall
Keven Lacombe

Elite women for l'Ardeche (September 11-15)

Leigh Hobson
Moriah Jo McGregor
Alex Wrubleski
Allison Testroete
Erinne Willock
Julie Beveridge

Elite Men Pool for third Worlds road spot

Michael Barry
Andrew Randell
Dominique Rollin
Andrew Pinfold
Charles Dionne
Mark Walters
Dominique Perras
Francois Parisien
Jacob Erker
Ryan Roth


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.