Canadian Cyclist


August 27/07 10:24 am - Alberta Provincial Road Championships

Posted by Editor on 08/27/07

Alberta Provincial Road Championships - Lacombe, Alberta
Courtesy Andy Holmwood, ABA

August in Alberta on Sunday featured single-digit temperatures and plenty of rain, delighting the 118 riders assembled to contest the Alberta Provincial Championship Road Race near Lacombe, in central Alberta. The race was held on an out-and-back course just north of Sylvan Lake which featured a number of rolling hills, in addition to the dismal weather.

Due to the wretched, disgusting weather the Category 1/2 race was shortened from the planned 146 kilometres to 101 kilometres. The shorter distance resulted in an entertaining and aggressive race won solo by La-Z-Boy standout Jamie Sparling. Sparling, feeling at home in the Victoria-in-winter like conditions, was not eligible for the Provincial title as he carries a B.C. license. Instead, the provincial title went to Anthony Steenbergen of Team H&R Block, who led in a chase group of 4 riders. The other groups finished together for the most part, with Carrie Tuck, also of Team H&R Block, winning the women's race and claiming her second Provincial Road Race Championship.

Thanks to Jeff Klassen and the Central Alberta Bicycle Club for their organizing efforts, and the Alberta Sheriffs for their efforts in keeping the course secure.

Women A + B - 70 Kilometres
1 Carrie Tuck (Team H&R Block) - Cat. A1:54:40
2 Pepper Harlton (Juventus) - Cat. As.t.
3 Amy Woodward (CMC/Bow Cycle) - Cat. As.t.
4 Judy Harlton (Juventus) - Cat. Bs.t.
5 Joanne Breau (bicisport) - Cat. As.t.
6 Melanie Zinck (Team H&R Block) - Cat. Bs.t.
7 Krystyn Ong (Juventus) - Cat. Bs.t.
8 Shantal Koenig (Independent) - Cat. B2:00:50
9 Mackenzie Mccormick (Juventus) - Cat. B2:05:41
10 Jolea Bilodeau (Blizzard) - Cat. B2:06:24
11 Ellen Sparling (bicisport) - Cat. B2:11:33
Category 1/2 Men - 101 Kilometres
1 James Sparling (La-Z-Boy Cycling)2:30:02
2 Anthony Steenbergen (Team H&R Block)2:32:29
3 Jesse Collins (bicisport)s.t.
4 Peter Toth (Juventus)s.t.
5 Stephen Ferris (ERTC/redbike)2:32:31
6 Shawn Goulet (Pedalhead Road Works)2:33:51
7 Bob Veroba (bicisport)s.t.
8 Chris Mcneil (Team H&R Block)s.t.
9 Lukas Jedras (Pedalhead Road Works)s.t.
10 Devin Erfle (Deadgoat)s.t.
11 Gideon Krishtalka (Team H&R Block)s.t.
12 Jared Green (TRS Racing)s.t.
13 Trev Williams (TRS Racing)s.t.
14 Dennis Bland (TRS Racing)s.t.
15 Shawn Bunnin (bicisport)2:37:44
16 Eric Bakke (Deadgoat)2:38:00
17 Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle)s.t.
18 Harley Borlee (Team H&R Block)2:38:13
19 Dave Jetz (Team H&R Block)2:39:47
Stuart Hughes (Team H&R Block)dnf
Nick Jendzjowsky (Pedalhead Road Works)dnf
Graham Rudge (ERTC/redbike)dnf
Philippe Abbott (Italpasta/Transport Belmire)dnf
Guri Randhawa (Pedalhead Road Works)dnf
Shawn Taylor (Team H&R Block)dnf
Aaron Schooler (ERTC/redbike)dnf
Jeff Bolstad (Team H&R Block)dnf
Category 3 Men - 101 Kilometres
1 Justin Middleton (Juventus)2:40:03
2 Dallas Morris (Team H&R Block)s.t.
3 Brian Robinson (CMC/Bow Cycle)s.t.
4 Jon Nutbrown (Ridley's Cycle)s.t.
5 Aaron Chappell (ERTC/redbike)s.t.
6 Steve Martins (Hardcore)s.t.
7 Keith Bayly (Synergy)s.t.
8 Don King (CMC/Bow Cycle)s.t.
9 Jason Proche (Pedalhead Road Works)s.t.
10 Matthew Ohagan (Independent)s.t.
11 Zbigniew Szymanski (United Cycle)s.t.
12 James Mollison (CMC/Bow Cycle)s.t.
13 James Purdy (bicisport)s.t.
14 Mark Rumsey (Hardcore)s.t.
15 Tommy Mak (Eurotech)s.t.
16 Phil Macdonald (Team H&R Block)s.t.
17 Frank Woolstencroft (TRS Racing)s.t.
18 Andre Sutton (Hardcore)s.t.
19 Tracy Shearer (Juventus)s.t.
20 Neal Gregory (CMC/Bow Cycle)s.t.
21 Michael Johns (CABC)3:02:08
Leroy Brower (Pedalhead Road Works)dnf
Wayne Long (United Cycle)dnf
David Larson (Juventus)dnf
Category 4 Men - 101 Kilometres
1 Craig Schmitt (Pedalhead Road Works)2:42:45
2 Steven Johnson (Independent)s.t.
3 Jon Benskin (United Cycle)s.t.
4 Alan Underhill (Pedalhead Road Works)s.t.
5 Bill Quinney (The Bike Shop)s.t.
6 ThomaS Auer (Calgary Cycle)s.t.
7 Stephen Reid (Pedalhead Road Works)s.t.
8 Andrew Schietzsch (Juventus)s.t.
9 Cory Dickinson (United Cycle)s.t.
10 Julie Beveridge (bicisport)s.t.
11 Spencer Hall (bicisport)s.t.
12 Larry Welsh (Independent)s.t.
13 Kyle Harris (Pedalhead Road Works)s.t.
14 Roy Quade (Crankmasters)s.t.
15 Alex Mccormick (Juventus)s.t.
16 Robert Reid (Rundle Mountain CC)s.t.
17 Scott Book (ERTC/redbike)s.t.
18 Craig Fraser (Calgary Cycle)s.t.
19 Shannon Hein (United Cycle)s.t.
20 Peter Knight (United Cycle)s.t.
21 Darin Schacker (Juventus)2:50:20
22 Doug Urness (CABC)2:50:43
23 Tom Mumby (Juventus)2:50:47
24 Jeff Bell (Highwood CC)2:54:45
25 Bill Blonski (bicisport)3:27:27
Blaine Richter (ERTC/redbike)dnf
Stephen Andrichuk (CMC/Bow Cycle)dnf
Ryan Campbell (bicisport)dnf
Jan Goh (Pedalhead Road Works)dnf
Mike Mckee (Deadgoat)dnf
Category 5 Men - 70 Kilometres
1 Alex Shaw (Speed Theory)1:49:18
2 Logan Brauer (Velocity)1:49:31
3 Chris Dittrick (CMC/Bow Cycle)s.t.
4 Don Huber (Highwood CC)s.t.
5 Eric Wong (bicisport)s.t.
6 Peter Macewen (Independent)s.t.
7 Scott Donaldson (Independent)s.t.
8 Cody Godlonton (Highwood CC)s.t.
9 Lorne Dmitruk (9th Street Cycle-logic)s.t.
10 Jason Buijs (Eurotech Cycle)s.t.
11 Al Gilbert (CABC)s.t.
12 Michael Godfrey (Crankmasters)s.t.
13 John Encarnacao (United Cycle)s.t.
14 Colter Young (Blizzard)s.t.
15 Gerhard Jacobs (Cranky's Bike Shop)s.t.
16 Keith Batstone (Independent)s.t.
17 Trevor Pombert (United Cycle)s.t.
18 Aaron Sands (Independent)1:49:42
19 Ryan Petersen (Velocity)1:50:22
20 Antonio Bilotta (Pedalhead Road Works)1:53:50
21 James Janzen (Crankmasters)s.t.
22 Hendrik Vanjaarsveldt (Independent)s.t.
23 Darcy Gullacher (Crankmasters)s.t.
24 David Todd (Juventus)1:54:15
25 Richard Cairney (ERTC/redbike)2:02:00
26 Bradley Nixon (bicisport)2:12:01


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.