Canadian Cyclist


August 28/07 5:17 am - Brooklyn Road Race

Posted by Editoress on 08/28/07

Brooklyn Road Race Aug 26th, Brooklyn NS
Courtesy Bicycle Nova Scotia

The Metro Cycling Club/ Sportwheels hosted Race # 7 in the Bicycle Nova Scotia Road Race series this past weekend in picturesque Brooklyn, NS. Hot humid conditions and a relentlessly rolling circuit challenged the cyclists and the small pack sizes ensured that only the strongest riders would be in contention for podium positions.

The Women's field saw a fierce three-way battle waged between Mike's Bike Shop's Zuzanna Ecerova, Bicycles Plus' Kaarin Tae and AVCC's Jennifer Adams. After 88kms of racing it was Ecerova and Tae that sprinted for the finish with the former taking the win. Adams rolled in for a strong third place finish less than 1 minute down on the leaders.

The Men's Open Race was content to roll along in a strong paceline for the first 105kms of their 132 km race until the inevitable fireworks started in the hills before the final 22km lap. Hub Cycle's Lorenzo Caterini and Opus-Easton's Terry Tomlin rode away from a rapidly disintegrating pack with 20k remaining and fought each other to a final sprint finish with Tomlin nipping his opponent for the win. Fredericton's Adam Douthwright and Kris Barr of Halifax both showed strong form taking 3rd and 4th respectively.

Open Men (132 kms)
1. Terry Tomlin (Opus/Easton)3:31:25
2. Lorenzo Caterini (Hub Cycle)3:31:25
3. Adam Douthwright (Team OSB)3:33:29
4. Kris Barr (Bicycles Plus)3:34:46
5. Eli Chiasson (Cyclesmith)3:39:13
6. Geoff O'Toole (West of Quebec Wheelers)3:40:17
7. Charles Verge (Bicycles Plus)3:44:51
DNF. Jonathan Burgess (Cyclesmith)
DNF. Martin Austin (Cyclesmith)
Women (88 kms)
1. Zuzana Ecerova (Mike's Bike Shop)2:53:36
2. Kaarin Tae (Bicycles Plus)2:53:38
3. Jennifer Adams (Annapolis Valley CC)2:54:25
4. Cynthia Fry (Bicycles Plus)3:17:34
5. Brenda Merritt (Independent)3:24:54
Masters A (88 kms)
1. Rob Stel (Bicycles Plus)2:28:09
2. Gabriel Leblanc (Sea Level CC)2:31:07
3. Ian Loughead (MCC Sportwheels)2:32:11
DNF. Chad Robertson (Independent)
Masters B (88 kms)
1. Tom Beazley (Bicycles Plus)2:27:48
2. Donald McIntosh (Bicycles Plus)2:30:20
3. Charles Cormier (Mike's Bike Shop)2:31:54
4. Jose Martins (Bicycles Plus)2:32:07
5. Jim Currie (Hub Cycle)2:33:09
6. Ian Dennis (Mike's Bike Shop)2:34:02
7. Neil Weber (Ciclisti Milanese (OEM))2:39:17
Masters C (88 kms)
1. Barry Misener (Bicycles Plus)2:31:54
2. Graham Starratt (Bicycles Plus)2:32:33
3. Wayne Titus (Valley Stove & Cycle)2:38:21
4. Al Heubach (Lunenburg Bike Barn)2:40:35
5. Friedemann Bauer (Cyclesmith)2:45:46
Senior 4 (88 kms)
1. Greg Towndrow (Lunenburg Bike Barn)2:31:54
Junior (88 kms)
1. Jean-Richard Cormier (Mike's Bike Shop)2:27:22
U 13 (22 kms)
1. Zach Beazley (Bicycles Plus)1:04:40


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.