Canadian Cyclist


May 16/99 7:07 am - Men's Plymouth World Cup Story, More l'Aude News, l'Oise, Poley Mtn

Posted by Editor on 05/16/99

Men's World Cup XC #5 Race Report

This race was all Bas Van Dooren (Be One). He led a chase group containing World Cup leader Cadel Evans (Volvo-Cannondale), Miguel Martinez (Full Dynamix), Christophe Dupouey (Sunn), Christoph Sauser (Volvo-Cannondale) and others by over 30 seconds after the first lap, and extended it every lap afterwards. Behind, it was tactical game between Evans and second place overall Martinez. If Martinez could put enough places between himself and Evans, he could take the leader's jersey. However, it was not to be. Even though the chase pack thinned over the next 3 laps, as the riders entered their 5th and final lap, Evans was stilled glued to the French rider's wheel - ignoring the attack by Sauser in the 4th lap that netted his Swiss team mate the silver medal podium position. Martinez did managed to put some time between himself and Evans, latching onto the attack of last week's winner Filip Meirhaeghe (Mt Dew-Specialized), but he could not pass Meirhaeghe, finishing fourth to the Belgian rider's third; and only one position in front of Evans. So Evans retains his leader's jersey as the riders take a month off from the World Cup. (Results and standings posted earlier)

More Tour de l'Aude Results

We have the General Classification standings for the other Canadians after Saturday's double stage day:

18. Leigh Hobson CAN at 22:21
36. Sue Palmer-Komar CAN 58:13
46. Cybil DiGuistini CAN 1:27:16
52. Clara Hughes CAN 1:39:59
58. Kim Langton CAN 2:16:45
62. Anne Samplonius CAN 2:33:36

Tour de l'Oise, France

Stage 3 - Senlis to Creil 102.5 km

1. Jan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino 2:28:37
2. Marc Streel (Bel) Jack&Jones
3. Marco Milesi (Ita) Liquigas both s.t.
4. Michael Blaudzun (Dan) Jack&Jones at 0:01
5. Ellis Rastelli (Ita) Liquigas 0:08
6. Stéphane Barthe (Fra) Casino s.t.
7. Saulius Ruskis (Rus) St.Quentin 0:18
8. Frédéric Moncassin (Fra) FdJ
9. Jimmy Casper (Fra) FdJ
10. Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Palmans

Final GC

1. Jan Kirsipuu (Est) Casino 9:08:07
2. Marc Streel (Bel) Casino at 0:05
3. Marco Milesi (Ita) Liquigas 0:15
4. Michael Blaudzun (Dan) Jack&Jones 0:18
5. Stéphane Barthe (Fra) Casino 0:20
6. Thierry Marichal (Bel) Lotto 0:24
7. Jay Sweet (Aus) BigMat 0:27
8. Juris Silovs (Let) Jack&Jones 0:30
9. Saulius Ruskis (Rus) St.Quentin 0:31
10. Frédéric Moncassin (Fra) Credit Agricole 0:32

Poley Mountain Registration

If you intend to register for Canada Cup #1 at Poley Mountain next weekend through our online registration don't delay too much longer - Online registration closes at the end of the day May 18th (Tuesday). Just click on the Poley Mountain icon in the upper right corner of your browser and go to the Registration section.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.