Canadian Cyclist


April 20/08 9:30 am - Houffalize World Cup

Posted by Editoress on 04/20/08

World Cup #1 - Houffalize

Coverage brought to you with the assistance of Velirium


In a stunning last lap display of power, defending champion Chengyuan Ren of China roared back to the front fron a minute down to win the first World Cup of the season in Houffalize, Belgium. World champion Irina Kalentieva (Topeak Ergon) took the silver medal and Canada's Marie-Helene Premont (Rocky Mountain) the bronze. Catharine Pendrel (Luna), after a fast opening lap which saw her move up as high as fourth, faded to 14th by the finish, with Kiara Bisaro (Opus) finishing one spot further back, putting three Canadians in the top 15.

The rain and fog that was forecast for today didn't materialize, with sun coming out just before the start of the women's 4.5 lap race and gradually drying up the circuit as the race progressed. However, in the woods there were still lots of dicey mud holes, as the muddy outfits of many riders bore witness to.

Marga Fullana (Massi) had her usual blazing fast start, finishing the opening loop 15 seconds in front of Premont, with a chase group of Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Multivan Merida), Kalentieva, Pendrel, Georgia Gould (Luna) and Ren forming a further 15 seconds back.

By the middle of the first full lap of the course, Fullana was being reeled in by Premont, with the chasers stuck at 30-40 seconds. Then disaster for Premont when she flatted in the second lap, too far from the tech zone to get a wheel swap.

"It was a slow leak, but I could not make it to the zone, so I decided to stop and fix it," Premont explained. "That let the others catch me and I rode with them for a few laps after that."

Kalentieva and Premont gradually distanced themselves from Gould, Dahle and Ren in the second and third laps, and were steadily catching Fullana. Kalentieva began the last lap almost on Fullana's wheel, and it looked like the world champion would take the lead.

However, to the surprise of everyone in the finish area, it was Ren who came rolling in first, with a substantial 15 second gap on Kalentieva. The Chinese rider gave her usual shy smile and little wave to the crowd.

Premont, in her first race of the season, was well pleased with third. "It has been a hard winter with a lot of snow, and because it ws my first race I didn't know how I would go. But I knew on the first lap that my legs were good, and that I could have a strong ride, so I am pleased that this is a good start to my season."

Pendrel was also satisfied with her race, despite losing 7 spots on the final lap. "I just died," she said simply. "It was one lap too long for me at this time of the year. But I felt really good, really strong on the first lap, so I was riding at the front group and pushing hard. Maybe that was my downfall, that I didn't pace myself more, but I'm confident after this race that it will come."

1. Ren Chengyuan * (Chn) China2:11:06
2. Irina Kalentieva (Rus) Topeak Ergon Racing Teamat 0:35
3. Marie-Helene Premont (Can) Rocky Mountain1:08
4. Margarita Fullana (Esp) Massisi2:23
5. Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Womens MTB Team2:47
6. Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (Nor) Multivan Merida Biking Team4:00
7. Nathalie Schneitter * (Sui) Colnago Cap Arreghini4:13
8. Petra Henzi (Sui) Fischer-BMC4:26
9. Tereza Hurikova * (Cze) Ceska Sporitelna MTB5:06
10. Sabine Spitz (Ger) Central Ghost Pro Team5:38
11. Elisabeth Osl (Aut) Team Ghost International5:59
12. Ying Liu (Chn) China6:31
13. Catherine Pendrel (Can) Luna Womens MTB Team6:39
14. Kiara Bisaro (Can) Opus6:57
15. Sabrina Enaux (Fra) Team Lapierre International8:17
16. Blaza Klemencic (Slo) Giant Italia Team8:36
17. Katrin Leumann (Sui)9:15
18. Mary M Conneloug (USA) Kenda Seven10:15
19. Esther Süss (Sui)11:01
20. Nina Wrobel (Ger) Multivan Merida Biking Team11:54
21. Jingjing Wang (Chn) Chian12:12
22. Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher12:42
23. Laurence Leboucher (Fra)12:45
24. Sandra Walter (Can) X.O.Felt13:00
25. Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Womens MTB Team13:36
26. Wendy Simms (Can) Kona14:02
27. Nina Homovec (Slo)14:15
28. Adelheid Morath (Ger)14:33
29. Magdalena Sadlecka (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team14:58
30. Tanja Zakelj * (Slo)15:21
31. Aleksandra Dawidowicz * (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team16:04
32. Marielle Saner-Guinchard (Sui) Bikepark.Ch BMC16:15
33. Laura Turpijn (Ned)16:46
34. Sarah Koba (Sui)16:54
35. Cécile Rode Ravanel (Fra) Team Lapierre International17:14
36. Susan Haywood (USA) Trek-VW17:17
37. Bernardine Boog-Rauwerda (Ned)17:17
38. Amanda Sin (Can) 3 Rocks Racing17:27
39. Anna Villar Argente (Esp) Massi17:51
40. Maria Osl (Aut) Sunshine Racers Asv Nals18:01
41. Sarka Chmurova (Cze) Max Cursor18:30
42. Helene Marcouyre (Fra) Bh-Sr. Suntour18:31
43. Eva Lechner (Ita) Colnago Cap Arreghini19:16
44. Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher20:08
45. Anna Szafraniec (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team20:53
46. Arielle Van Meurs (Ned)21:04
47. Francisca Campos Salas (Chi) Massi21:42
48. Julie Bresset * (Fra) Breiz Mountain22:21
49. Séverine Hansen (Fra) Bh-Sr. Suntour23:05
50. Claudia Seidel (Ger)23:22
51. Ivonne Kraft (Ger)23:22
52. Emma Colson (Aus)24:25
53. Nataliya Krompets * (Ukr)24:26
54. Kaytee Boyd (NZl)24:54
55. Kate Potter (Aus)25:01
56. Mical Dyck (Can) Terrascape Trek25:36
57. Vera Andreeva * (Rus)26:01
58. Maaike Polspoel * (Bel)29:02
59. Laura Metzler * (Fra) Bh-Sr. Suntour29:10
60. Caroline Mani * (Fra)31:25
61. Sandra Santanyes Murillo (Esp) Cemelorca-Seguros10.Com-1Lap
62. Hanna Klein * (Ger)-1Lap
63. Stephanie Wiedner * (Aut)-1Lap
64. Julie Krasniak * (Fra) Team Lapierre International-1Lap
65. Tory Thomas (Aus)-1Lap
66. Ksenia Chernykh (Rus)-1Lap
67. Yolanda Speedy (RSA)-1Lap
68. Agnes Naumann * (Ger)-1Lap
69. Renata Bucher (Sui)-1Lap
70. Alexandra Engen * (Swe)-1Lap
71. Oxana Rybakova (Rus)-1Lap
72. Rowena Fry (Aus)-1Lap
73. Myriam Saugy (Sui)-1Lap
74. Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Subaru-Gary Fisher-1Lap
75. Susan Butler (USA)-1Lap
76. Kathrin Stirnemann * (Sui)-1Lap
77. Kristien Nelen (Bel)-1Lap
78. Katrin Schwing (Ger) Dolphin-Trek Mountainbike Racing Team-1Lap
79. Laure Boulay * (Fra) Team Cibf Keops-1Lap
80. Sandra Dolcerocca (Den)-1Lap
81. Zoe King (Aus)-1Lap
82. Judith Pollinger * (Ita) Sunshine Racers Asv Nals-1Lap
83. Cristina Mascarreras Sabria (Esp) Conor - Camping La Siesta-1Lap
84. Hanna Israel * (Fra)-1Lap
85. Monika Heuveling (Ned)-1Lap
86. Monique Zeldenrust (Ned)-1Lap
87. Nina Kunz (Ger)-2Laps
88. Maja Wloszczowska (Pol) Halls Professional MTB Team-2Laps
89. Maaris Meier (Est)-2Laps
90. Inbar Ronen (Isr)-2Laps
91. Ekaterina Melnikova * (Rus)-2Laps
92. Nancy Bober (Bel)-2Laps
93. Sabine Bombaert (Bel)-2Laps
94. Iryna Slobodyan * (Ukr)-2Laps
95. Jennifer Fischer * (Fra) Team Cibf Keops-2Laps
96. Karin Groen (Ned)-2Laps
97. Daniela Bunzli Rojas (Chi)-2Laps
98. Evgenia Belozerova * (Rus)-2Laps
99. Ingrid Bosscha (Ned)-2Laps
100. Franciska De Vries (Ned)-2Laps
101. Karen Brouwer * (Ned)-2Laps
102. Elisabeth Mottet * (Bel) Windose Houffalize-2Laps
103. Kim Vrielink * (Ned)-3Laps
104. Katherine O'shea (Aus)-3Laps
105. Sofia Shashova * (Rus) Format-Udmurtia-3Laps



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.