Canadian Cyclist


May 5/08 12:12 pm - US Air Force Cycling Classic

Posted by Editoress on 05/5/08

US Air Force Cycling Classic May 4th, Crystal City VA
Organization press release

Twenty-five year old Sebastian Haedo (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutter Home) took first place today in the 2008 U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic Men’s Pro Race in an exhilarating sprint to the finish in the last seconds of the three hour and twenty-seven minute race.

Relatively unknown on the pro circuit, Haedo’s surprising win came over last year’s winner Kyle Wamsley (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutter Home) and other pre-race favorites. Wamsley took second place, and Alex Candelario (Kelly Bennefit Strategies/Medifast) took third, with Andrew Randell (Symmetrics) ahead of all three medalists until the final fifty meters. Randell was named “Most Aggressive Rider” of the day.

The 12 lap race took place on an extremely challenging 12.5 kilometer course, with a difficult chicane and many sharp turns. There was no patron during the race, keeping spectators on edge as the cyclists neared the finish line. Only about half the competitors completed the entire race, less than most events.

Prior to the thrilling Men’s Pro Race, the day began with the Crystal Ride, an open ride for cyclists of all levels; Military Academy Races; and the ever-popular Kids’ Race. The Academy races pitted the U.S. Air Force Cycling Team against the U.S. Naval Academy and Military Academy at West Point Cycling Teams. The Air Force won the Team Time Trials, while the U.S. Military Academy at West Point won the sprint competitions. However, based on total points, the U.S. Naval Academy Cycling Team won overall.

All money raised through the U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic will go to Saul Raisin’s “Raisin Hope” fund, which raises money for people who have suffered Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI). In conjunction with the U.S. Air Force, the funds raised will benefit troops who have suffered TBI while serving the nation overseas.

“The day was a huge success,” said Rob Laybourn, Event Director and President of Arlington Sports, Inc. “You could not have asked for better weather in Crystal City, and we had a great turnout for the nail-biting end of the Men’s race. It is always gratifying to raise money for such a worthy cause.”

The U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic grew out of 2007’s Crystal City Classic and promises to be a premier destination for professional and amateur racers alike in years to come.

Note: Andrew Randell was Most Aggressive Rider and Symmetrics won the Team GC.

1. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light3:27:41
2. Kyle Wamsley (USA) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
3. Alex Candelario (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifastboth at s.t.
4. Andrew Randell (Can) Symmetrics0:01
5. Francois Parisien (Can) Symmetrics0:02
6. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Symmetrics
7. Jacob Erker (Can) Symmetricsboth s.t.
8. John Fredy Parra (Col) Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife0:03
9. Thomas Soladay (USA) Time Pro Cycling0:04
10. Emile Abraham (Tri) Team Type 10:05
11. Erik Barlevav (USA) Time Pro Cycling0:06
12. Mele Ryan (USA) Richmond Pro Cyclings.t.
13. John Durango (Col) Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife0:07
14. Carlos Eduardo Alzate Escobar (Col) Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife
15. Christian Meier (Can) Symmetricsboth s.t.
16. Tommy Nankervis (Aus) Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife0:08
17. Mark Walters (Can) Team R.A.C.E Pros.t.
18. Ryan Roth (Can) Team R.A.C.E Pro0:10
19. Dan Timmerman (USA) Team R.A.C.E Pros.t.
20. Anibal Andres Borrajo (Arg) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light0:12
21. Esteban Jukich (Uru) Richmond Pro Cycling0:13
22. Boyd Johnson (USA) DLP Racings.t.
23. Dustin Macburnie (Can) Team R.A.C.E Pro0:23
24. Nick Frey (USA) Time Pro Cyclings.t.
25. Buck Miller (Can) Team R.A.C.E Pro0:26
26. Valery Kobzarenko (Ukr) Team Type 10:28
27. Chuck Hutcheson (USA) Battley Harley Davidson0:29
28. Gerardo Castro (Uru) Richmond Pro Cycling0:35
29. Glen Alan Chadwick (NZl) Team Type 10:36
30. Daniel Ramsey (USA) Time Pro Cyclings.t.
31. Robert Lea (USA) Rite Aid Pro Cycling0:4
32. Davide Frattini (Ita) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light
33. Andy Baker (USA) Time Pro Cyclingboth s.t.
34. Thad Dulin (USA) DLP Racing0:43
35. Martin Gilbert (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast0:54
36. Daniel Vaillancourt (USA) Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife1:05
37. Jonathan Sundt (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast1:31
38. Matthew Wilson (Aus) Team Type 11:49
39. Christopher Jones (USA) Team Type 1
40. Benjamin Brooks (Aus) Team Type 1all s.t.
41. Benjamin King (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast2:07
42. Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light2:16
43. Jonathan Mumford (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast2:44
44. Keven Lacombe (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifasts.t.
45. Joel Dion-Poitras (Can) Team R.A.C.E Pro2:52
46. David Veilleux (Can) Kelly Benefit Strategies/Medifast
all others DNF
Team GC
1. Symmetrics10:23:08
2. Colavita Sutter Home p/b Cooking Lightat 0:07
3. Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife0:12
4. Team R.A.C.E Pro0:23
5. Time Pro Cycling0:28
6. Richmond Pro Cycling0:49
7. Team Type 11:04
8. Kelly Benefit Strategies / Medifast2:20


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.