Canadian Cyclist


September 18/08 12:07 pm - Rollin 3rd in US Pro Tour Final Standings

Posted by Editoress on 09/18/08

Vande Velde US Pro Tour Champ
Courtesy USA Cycling

With his overall victory at the Tour of Missouri last weekend, Christian Vande Velde (Boulder, Colo./Garmin-Chipotle) won the season-long USA Cycling Professional Tour with a total of 272 points over runner up and defending champion Levi Leipheimer (Santa Rosa, Calif./Astana), who finished the season with 244.

In the team standings, Vande Velde's Garmin/Chipotle Professional Cycling Team earned the overall title with 711 points over Team Columbia (513).

For Vande Velde, his overall Tour title caps off arguably the best season of his career which also included a fifth-place overall finish at the Tour de France in July and a spot on the U.S. Olympic Team last month in Beijing.

In addition to his overall win in Missouri, Vande Velde won the stage 3 time trial in Branson, finished third overall at the Amgen Tour of California and third at the USA Cycling Professional Time Trial National Championships.

Having just finished its second year, the USA Cycling Professional Tour consists of all the internationally-sanctioned events in the United States and USA Cycling's three professional road championships in the disciplines of criterium, time trial and road racing. After 14 events in 2008, Vande Velde and Leipheimer were the most dominant, followed by third-place finisher Dominique Rollin (CAN/Toyota-United Pro), Eric Baumann (GER/Team Sparkasse) and Kanstantin Sivtsov (BLR/Team Columbia) with 144, 141 and 140 points respectively. In the team classification, Astana followed in third place with 358 points ahead of Team CSC (342) and Rock Racing (343).

1 Christian Vandevelde (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)272
2 Levi Leipheimer (Astana)244
3 Dominique Rollin (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)144
4 Eric Baumann (Team Sparkasse)141
5 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Team Columbia)140
6 Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)126
7 Mark Cavendish (Team Columbia)121
8 Dave Zabriskie (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)115
9 Oscar Sevilla (Rock Racing)112
10 Matti Breschel (Team CSC)100
11 Trent Lowe (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)94
12 David Veilleux (Kelly Benefit Strategies - Medifast)94
13 Michael Rogers (Team Columbia)89
14 Fabian Cancellara (Team CSC)86
15 George Hincapie (Team Columbia)86
16 David Millar (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)84
17 Juan Jose Haedo (Team CSC)83
18 Alex Candelario (Kelly Benefit Strategies - Medifast)82
19 Tyler Hamilton (Rock Racing)80
20 Yuri Metlushenko (Amore & Vita - Mcdonald's)80
21 Fred Rodriguez (Rock Racing)80
22 Brad Huff (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)71
23 Kirk O'Bee (Health Net p/b Maxxis)70
24 Ivan Dominguez (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)69
25 Bernhard Eisel (Team Columbia)69
26 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Columbia)66
27 Greg Henderson (Team Columbia)66
28 Lucas Euser (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)64
29 Tom Zirbel (Bissell Pro Cycling)64
30 Antonio Colom (Astana)62
31 Steven Van Vooren (Johan Bruyneel Cycling Academy)59
32 Blake Caldwell (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)56
33 Karl Menzies (Health Net p/b Maxxis)56
34 Christo Van Heerden (Konica Minolta Continental Cycling Team)56
35 Svein Tuft (Symmetrics Cycling)52
36 Antonio Cruz (BMC)51
37 Andrew Pinfold (Symmetrics Cycling)45
38 Rory Sutherland (Health Net p/b Maxxis)44
39 Taylor Tolleson (BMC)42
40 Sebastion Haedo (Colavita/Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team p/b Cooking Light)40
41 Keven Lacombe (Kelly Benefit Strategies - Medifast)37
42 Gustav Larrson (Team CSC)37
43 Francesco Chicchi (Liquigas)36
44 Ryan Roth (Team R.A.C.E Pro)36
45 Michael Van Stayen (Rabobank)36
46 Moises Aldape (Team Type 1)34
47 Daniel Pate (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)32
48 Frederik Ericsson (Cykelcity.De/Klehr Harrison)30
49 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Bissell Pro Cycling)30
50 Jeff Louder (Health Net p/b Maxxis)30
51 Kyle Wamsley (Colavita/Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team p/b Cooking Light)30
52 Inigo Cuesta Lopez De Castro (Team CSC)29
53 Richard England (Bissell Pro Cycling)29
54 Robert Gesink (Rabobank)29
55 Gerald Ciolek (Team Columbia)28
56 Francois Parisien, (Team R.A.C.E Pro)28
57 Danilo Wyss (BMC)28
58 Steven Cozza (Tiaa-Cref)24
59 Frank Pipp (Health Net p/b Maxxis)24
60 Boy Van Poppel (Rabobank)24
61 Michael Creed (Rock Racing)23
62 Heinrich Haussler (Gerolsteiner)22
63 Roman Kreuziger (Liquigas)21
64 Tom Boonen (Quick Step-Innergetic)20
65 Andre Greipel (Team Columbia)20
66 Luciano Pagliarini (Saunier Duval - Scott)20
67 Christopher Horner (Astana)19
68 Jurgen Van De Walle (Quick Step-Innergetic)18
69 Anibal Andres Borrajo (Colavita/Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team p/b Cooking Light)17
70 Stefano Barberi (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)16
71 Daniel Holloway (VMG / Felt Racing)16
72 Ted King (Bissell Pro Cycling)16
73 Pat McCarty (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)16
74 Jose Luis Rubiera Vigil (Astana)15
75 Alessandro Bazzana (Successful Living Pro Cycling)14
76 Charles Dionne (Successful Living Pro Cycling)14
77 Christopher Jones (Nerac Outdoorlights.Com)14
78 Darren Lill (BMC)14
79 Nicholas Sanderson (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)14
80 Bradley Wiggins (Team Columbia)14
81 Robert Forster (Gerolsteiner)13
82 Mark Walters (Team R.A.C.E Pro)13
83 Andrew Bajadali (Jelly Belly Cycling Team)12
84 Yosvanny Falcon (Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife)12
85 Roman Kilun (Health Net p/b Maxxis)12
86 Tom Peterson (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)12
87 Andrew Randell (Symmetrics Cycling)12
88 Peter Stetina (VMG / Felt Racing)12
89 Henk Vogels (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)12
90 Jacob Erker (Symmetrics Cycling)11
91 Iker Ortuzar (Saunier Duval - Scott)11
92 Ciaran Power (Pezula Racing)11
93 Kevin Seeldrayers (Quick Step-Innergetic)11
94 Jonathan Clarke (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)10
95 Bobby Julich (Team CSC)10
96 Dennis Luyt (Global Cycling)10
97 Peter Salon (VMG / Felt Racing)10
98 Emile Abraham (Team Type 1)9
99 Paolo Bettini (Quick Step-Innergetic)8
100 James Driscoll (Fiordi Frutta Elite Cycling Team)8
101 Brian Jensen (Successful Living Pro Cycling)8
102 Philipp Mamos (Heinz Von Heiden - Wolf Block)8
103 Jason McCartney (Team CSC)8
104 Alexandre Moos (BMC)8
105 Eric Wohlberg (Symmetrics Cycling)8
106 Craig Lewis (Garmin-Chipotle p/b H30)7
107 Dirk Muller (Team Sparkasse)7
108 Michael Sayers (BMC)7
109 Scott Zwizanski (Priority Health/Bissell)7
110 Brent Bookwalter (BMC)6
111 Oscar Gomez Freire (Rabobank)6
112 Luis Hernandez (Tecos)6
113 Sergey Kudentsov (Marco Polo Cycling Team)6
114 Miguel Martinez (Amore & Vita - Mcdonald's)6
115 Scott Nydam (BMC)6
116 Victor Hugo Pena Grisales (Rock Racing)6
117 Justin Spinelli (Nerac Outdoorlights.Com)6
118 Matteo Tosatto (Quick Step-Innergetic)6
119 Sheldon Deeny (Sakonnet Technology U25 Team)5
120 Justin England (Toyota- United Pro Cycling Team)5
121 Jacob Keough (Kelly Benefit Strategies - Medifast)5
122 Bernard Kohl (Gerolsteiner)5
123 Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas)5
124 Matt Wilson (Team Type 1)5
125 Michael Blaudzun (Team CSC)4
126 Janez Brajkovic (Astana)4
127 Oscar Gatto (Gerolsteiner)4
128 Bradley Mcgee (Team CSC)4
129 Marco Pinotti (Team Columbia)4
130 Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner)4
131 Jared Barrilleaux, (Jittery Joe's - Zero Gravity Pro Cycling Team)3
132 Ben Brooks (Team Type 1)3
133 Michael Norton (Nerac Outdoorlights.Com)3
134 John Fredy Parra (Toshiba-Santo Pro Cycling p/b Herbalife)3
135 Luis Amaran Romero (Colavita/Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team p/b Cooking Light)3
136 Mauricio Alberto Ardila Cano (Rabobank)2
137 Erik Barlevav (Time Pro Cycling)2
138 Phil Gaimon (Fiordi Frutta Elite Cycling Team)2
139 Michael Grabinger (Gradystay / Out N About Gear)2
140 Alexandre Pichot (Bouygues Telecom)2
141 Markus Zberg (Gerolsteiner)2


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.