Canadian Cyclist


February 25/09 12:00 pm - Vuelta Independencia: Team Reports from first 3 stages

Posted by Editoress on 02/25/09

Vuelta Independencia Dominican Republic

Members of the team are participating at the 30th Vuelta Independencia in the Dominican Republic and Zach Garland has sent reports from the first 3 stages:

We just finished the second stage in Santo Domingo. So far, the team is showing good performance.

Stage 1: Santa Domingo Pan Am Circuit: 125 km
The First stage was a flat circuit (125km, 14 laps) Charles Thibault eventually get in a break which gained up to one minute. Only 2 riders at first, some guys bridge to them. On the 4th lap, their was a Meta Volante sprint so I attack and almost bridge to the first 2 guys in the breakaway. I ended up 4th on the sprint with only one points but we continued the break and get joined by more riders. I win the 2nd sprint (5 points) on lap 6 by attacking with 1km to go. On lap 8, their was another meta volante which I approach the same way by attacking. Unfortunately, I get caught on the line. On the following lap, the peloton caught our break and other attacks started. Unfortunately, I missed the decisive break and therefore the last 'Meta Volante' sprint. Three riders of the team were able to make it to the break. Arnaud Papillon, Guillaume Boivin and Joel Dion Poitras. Two riders rode solo to the line and Guillaume came in 8th , followed by Joel in 9th and Arnaud arround 12th. That performance put us as the best team in the overall classification and since the leader of the Meta Volante was also the new leader of the overall, I got to wear the Meta Volante jersey.

Stage 1
1 Luis Sepulveda (Chi) Aro & Pedal) INTEJA, 2:58:22
2 Nelson Sanchez (Dom) ONAPI) La Vega, at 0:08
3 Alexander Gonzalez (Col) Edenorte-CDP, 0:33
4 Rafael German (Dom) Mauricio BBez, 0:35
5 Wendy Cruz (Dom) Edenorte-CDP, 0:37
6 Gregory Brenes (CRc) Costa Rica-BCR-Pizza Hut, 0:45
7 Augusto Sanchez (Dom) Aro & Pedal) INTEJA
8 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Team
9 Joel Dion-Poitras (Can) Team

10 Kenny Darmyn (Fra) Velo Oxygene

11 Arnaud Papillon (Can) Team, all s.t.
58 Jean Michel Lachance (Can) Team, 6:19
82 Zack Garland (Can) Team, 6:55
88 Charles Thibault (Can) Team, s.t.

Stage 2: 148 km from Santo Domingo to to San Pedro de Macoris to Santo Domingo

The Second stage was a back and forth on the highway between Santo Dominguo and Boca Chica. The race started fast and getting away was not easy. 2 guys managed to get away and had more than a minute near the first 'Meta Volante' at km 38. I attack and almost caught them in time for the sprint. Unfortunately, I came 5th with no points. After that, I tried to organize the breakaway, but riders would not collaborate well until a small group with Wendy Cruz, 2 riders from Costa Rican Pizza Hut and other riders from the Dom Republic. I won the second sprint. Our break get caught at Boca Chica. After that I went to the car to get 4 bottles and unfortunately, a break went off again. Joel, Guillaume and I managed to bridge to the first group, but I was not able to score any points finishing 5th again. Guillaume got another top 10 today and Joel top 15. The race was won by the yellow jersey, followed by Wendy Cruz.

Stage 2
1 Luis Sepulveda (Chi) Aro & Pedal) INTEJA, 3:39:16
2 Wendy Cruz – Edenorte CDP) at s.t.
3 Augusto Sanchez (Aro & Pedal Enteja), 1:12
4 Stalin Quiterio (Mauricio Baez), 1:19
5 Ismael Sanchez (ONAPI La Vega), s.t.
6 Elvis Rodriguez (Edenorte CDP), 1:22
7 Bernard Gene (Tour de Quebec)
8 Alexander Gonzalez Pena (Edenorte CDP)
9 Norlandy Taveras (San Cristóbal)
10 Guillaume Boivin (Tour de Quebec), all s.t.

1 Luis Fdo. Sepulveda (Aro & Pedal INTEJA), 6:33:26
2 Wendy Cruz (Edenorte CDP), at 0:40.
3 Nelson Ismael Sanchez (ONAPI La Vega), 1:39
4 Augusto Sanchez (Aro & Pedal INTEJA), 2:05
5 Alexander Gonzalez Pena (Edenorte CDP), 2:07
6 Gregory Brenes (BCR Pizza Hut), 2:19
7 Guillaume Boivin (Tour de Quebec),
8 Joel Dion-Poitras (Tour de Quebec), both s.t.

9 Rafael Meran (Mauricio Baez), 2:26
10 Eddier Godinez (BCR Pizza Hut), 4:15

Stage 3: 135 Kms from Santo Domingo to San Francisco de Macoris

Stage 3 of the Vuelta Independencia was a 135 km stage leaving from Santo Domingo and finishing in another city. Like the other town stages the profile was flat, however, we were soon to find out that it would be rolling all the way to the line.

The stage started quite agressive with a group getting a gap. It was evident that this would be a breakaway and Zack Garland bridged across. When all was said and done this would be the break of the day, making it to the finish line. Eventually Charles Thibault would bridge across some 30km later. The group worked relatively well together. About 45km to go an attack started coming from the grup of 25 riders. Charles had a dig and when that came back, Zack took off for 15km. He was caught and it seems destined to stay together. The group was 16 riders. Coming into the finish Zack and Charles tried all they could to break things up and win. A counter attack to one of Zacks attacks was the decesive move. At this point Charles was cramping from his hard work. Zack crossed the line in 7th on the day with Charles not far behind in 10th.

Stage 3
1 Robert Perez (Areperos) 3:12:18
2 Oswaldo Capellan (Onapi La Vega)
3 Edgar Pimentel (Edenorte CDP)
4 Charliehooj Hernandez (Aro & Pedal Inteja)
5 Alexander Sanchez (BCR Pizza Hut) all s.t.
6 Wilbin Felix (Areperos) 0:12 segundos
7 Zack Garland (Tour de Quebec) a 0:32
8 Jose Payano (Onapi La Vega)
9 Elvin Colon (Edenorte CDP)
10 Charles Thibault (Tour de Quebec) all s.t.

1 Luis Fernando Sepulveda (Aro & Pedal Inteja) 9:48:54
2 Wendy Cruz (Edenorte CDP) at 0:40
3 Nelson Ismael Sanchez (Onapi La Vega) 1:39
4 Hector De los Santos (San Cristoba Genuine Express) 1:42
5 Augusto Sanchez (Aro & Pedal Inteja) 2:05
6 Alexander Gonzalez (Edenorte CDP) 2:07
7 Guillaume Boivin (Tour de Quebec) 2:19
8 Gregory Brenes (BCR Pizza Hut)
9 Joel Dion Poitras (Tour de Quebec) both s.t.
10 Rafael German Meran (Mauricio Baez) 2:26


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.