Canadian Cyclist


June 7/09 12:47 pm - Women's Liberty Classic report and results

Posted by Editoress on 06/7/09

Columbia-Highroad’s Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won her third Liberty Classic Saturday with the help of fellow teammates who controlled the race around the 23-kilometer circuit through the streets of Philadelphia. 

Crediting her teammates for her 17th win this season, Teutenberg called today’s win a “full-on team victory.  The girls did pretty much everything today.  They worked like motorbikes throughout the race.  All day we controlled the race, with Kate (Bates) and Ellen (Van Dijk) doing the early work, constantly chasing breaks.  Mara (Abbott), Kim (Anderson) and Judith (Arndt) did a perfect job on the hills. Nuernberg attacked hard all day but our girls were always in control.  Being up on top of everything, we could neutralize all the breaks.”

The women raced at such a fast pace as to catch the men racing on the same circuit, forcing race officials to neutralize the men’s race so the women could compete uninterrupted. “Today was a bit different than usual.  It was a lot more aggressive than usual, so I think everyone was tired at the end.”

In today’s win, Teutenberg and three other Columbia-Highroad women were part of a 12-rider group who went clear on the last lap.  The four teammates including Abbott, Anderson and Arndt worked the break to deliver Teutenberg to a long sprint finish.

Teutenberg concluded, “On the last lap we really took the initiative.  The other big sprinters weren’t riding too hard up on the hills, and then we took control.  It was a complete team victory today.”

Team Columbia-Highroad press release


Results from today's women's race in Philadelphia, PA

Women, 57.6 miles/92.68km
1 Ina Teutenberg (Team Columbia-Highroad) 2:22:33
2 Joanne Kiesanowski (Team TIBCO) at s.t.
3 Shelley Olds (PROMAN Hit Squad) 0:01
4 Trixi Worrack (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung)
5 Catherine Cheatley (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light)
6 Alison Powers (Team Type 1)
7 Ruth Corset (Jazz Apple Cycling Team) all s.t.
8 Chrissy Ruiter (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team) 0:03
9 Amber Neben (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung) 0:06
10 Kim Anderson (Team Columbia-Highroad) 0:16
11 Mara Abbott (Team Columbia-Highroad)
12 Judith Arndt (Team Columbia-Highroad) both s.t.
13 Gina Grain (Webcor Builders Cycling Team) 0:30
14 Jennifer Mcrae (Team Type 1) 0:31
15 Kirsty Broun (Velo Classic Tours)
16 Tina Pic (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light)
17 Theresa Ryan (Verducci/Breakaway Powered by D)
18 Anne Samplonius (Team Lip Smacker) all s.t.
19 Kristin Sanders (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team) 0:32
20 Laura Gilder (Jittery Joe's Presented by Kudz)
21 Kristen Lasasso (Jittery Joe's Presented by Kudz) both s.t.
22 Rachel Neylan (PROMAN Hit Squad) 0:33
23 Anna Mcloon (Altarum Women's Cycling Team)
24 Rachel Lloyd (PROMAN Hit Squad)
25 Melissa Sanborn (Vanderkitten Racing)
26 Suzanne Goede (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung)
27 Toni Bradshaw (Team Lip Smacker)
28 Casey Gale (Altarum Women's Cycling Team)
29 Amy Dombroski (Webcor Builders Cycling Team)
30 Clara Kelly (NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dent)
31 Laura Bowles (Vanderkitten Racing)
32 Veronica Leal (Team Type 1) all s.t.
33 Kristin Mcgrath (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team) 0:34
34 Nicole Evans (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team)
35 Kori Seehafer (Team Type 1)
36 Sally Annis (Hub Racing) all s.t.
37 Tiffany Cromwell (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light) 0:35
38 Alexis Rhodes (Webcor Builders Cycling Team) s.t.
39 Rebecca Much (Webcor Builders Cycling Team) 0:36
40 Katheryn Mattis (Webcor Builders Cycling Team) 0:37
41 Eva Lutz (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung)
42 Regina Schleicher (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung)
43 Lauren Tamayo (Team TIBCO) all s.t.
44 Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders Cycling Team) 0:40
45 Carmen Mcnellis (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light) 0:54
46 Rachel Heal (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light) s.t.
47 Meredith Miller (Team TIBCO) 1:06
48 Malindi Maclean (Jazz Apple Cycling Team) 2:24
49 Emma Rickards (Team TIBCO)
50 Liza Rachetto (Velo Classic Tours)
51 Jacquelyn Crowell (Team Type 1) all s.t.
52 Kacey Manderfield (Team Lip Smacker) 2:25
53 Rebecca Wellons (NEBC/Cycle Loft/Devonshire Dent)
54 Kate Veronneau (Altarum Women's Cycling Team) both s.t.
55 Leigh Hopkins (Vanderkitten Racing) 2:26
56 Silke Wunderwald (Team Kenda)
57 Elenora Vandijk (Team Columbia-Highroad)
58 Rachel Warner (Salamander Racing) all s.t.
59 Rebecca Larson (Jittery Joe's Presented by Kudz) 2:27
60 Emily Zell (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team) 2:28
61 Melodine Metzger (Vanderkitten Racing) 2:29
62 Steph Roorda (Jazz Apple Cycling Team)
63 Dotsie Bausch (Jazz Apple Cycling Team)
64 Amanda Miller (Team Lip Smacker) all s.t.
65 Katharine Carroll (Team TIBCO) 2:31
66 Jessica Phillips (Team Lip Smacker) s.t.
67 Erica Allar (BWM-Bianchi) 2:32
68 Lauren Ellis (Jazz Apple Cycling Team) all s.t.
69 Charlotte Becker (Equipe Nurnberger Versicherung) 2:39
70 Kelly Benjamin (Colavita Sutter Homes p/b Cooking Light) 3:31
71 Amy Mcguire (Hub Racing) 5:06
72 Sharon Allpress (ValueAct Capital Cycling Team) 5:37
73 Erica Zaveta (Zaveta Cycling) 6:24
74 Nicole Brandt (PROMAN Hit Squad) 7:08
75 Flavia Lepene (BWM-Bianchi) 8:39


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.