Canadian Cyclist


June 13/09 12:32 pm - Tour de Beauce: Stage 5 UPDATES

Posted by Editoress on 06/13/09

Stage 5: Quebec City Circuit, 125 km

9 laps in downtown Quebec City through the old city, scheduled start is at 12:15pm

89 will start today's stage.  98 were on original start list on Stage 1

The sun is out and it is hot in Quebec City today.  A nice change from the cold and rain earlier in the week.  Mid to high twenties in the forecast.  There will be a strong headwind along the top to challenge any breakaways.


Start was delayed by 10 minutes to ensure the course was clear.


Lap 1: 12 48 pm -  At the end of the lap all are together with the Colombian team at the front


Lap 2:  1pm - At about half way through the 2nd lap there is a group of 7 away with a 12 second gap on the peloton

Cameron Evans Canadian National Team), Jackson Stewart (BMC Racing Team), Jonathan Mumford (Kelly Benefit Strategies), Kristian House (Rapha Condor), François Parisien (Planet Energy) and Sergio Luis Henao  (Colombian National Team) and Danilo Wyss (BMC Racing Team).  The Kelly Benefit Strategies team is at the front of the peloton


Lap  3:  1:21pm - They are on the climb nearing the end of the 3rd lap.  The break now has 15 members.  Derrick St-John, Otavio Bougarelli (Garneau-Club Chaussure), Bjorn Selanler (Trek Livestrong), Steve Bovay (BMC Racing Team), Caleb Fairly (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin U23), Alesandro Bazzanna (Fly V Australia), Charles Dionne (Fly V Australia), William Munoz (Colombian National Team) have joined up and the gap is 2:30


Lap 4: 1:40pm  There is now a chase group of 3 Rodriguez, Lacombe and Langlois at 2:30.  Main field at nearly 5 min


Lap 6: 2:03pm - They have just started lap 6.  The break is holding at 2:30 and they are working well together.

2:15pm: Halfway through the lap and the gap to the peloton is 5:20 and they are now catching the 3 chasers who are 4:30 behind leaders but only 1 minute in front of the peloton


Lead group now 13:  Cameron Evans Canadian National Team), Bjorn Selanler (Trek Livestrong), Steve Bovay, Antonio Cruz (BMC Racing Team), Caleb Fairly (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin U23), Simon Richardson (Rapha Condor), Alesandro Bazzanna , Charles Dionne (Fly V Australia), William Munoz (Colombian National Team), Matt Wilson (Team Type 1), Ian MacGregor, Derrick St-John), Otavio Bougarelli (Garneau-Club Chaussure)


2:29pm -  Lap 7  3 to go.  Gap from lead group to peloton starting to come down slowly.  It is now 5 min.  Riders in the lead group are now starting to launch attacks


2:40pm:  Starting lap 8:  Cam Evans has attacked, but is quickly brought back.


The peloton is chasing a bit harder now and the gap is at 4:30


2:47 pm:  Evans has attacked again and has a gap of 10 sec along the flats.  Peloton is bringing the gap down  - now 4:20


2:56pm:  Evans has been joined by Caleb Fairly, Otavio Bougarelli and Simon Richardson.  They are about to start 1 lap to go and the gap is still 3 minutes to the peloton.  No dangerous riders have enough of a gap to endanger Scott Zwizanski GC lead.


3:05pm: Evans group was brought back just after they started the final lap.  Derrick St-John then attacked and Evans went with him.  A Fly-V (Charles Dionne?) is attempting to bridge up.  Peloton still at 3+ min


They are  currently 1/2 way through the final lap






1 Charles Dionne  (Fly V Australia)

2 Alesandro Bazzanna   (Fly V Australia)

3 Otavio Bougarelli  (Garneau-Club Chaussure)

4 Derrick St-John    (Garneau-Club Chaussure)



Race profile

Race Profile



Lap profile

lap profile


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.