Canadian Cyclist


June 24/09 9:24 am - CCA Announces 2009 Junior Track Worlds Team

Posted by Editor on 06/24/09

The Canadian Cycling Association announced today an eight-member team for the Junior World Track Cycling Championships August 11-15 in Moscow.

The men's side is led by Ryan Aitcheson of Kitchener, Ontario He competed at the 2008 worlds and placed 20th in the Points Race and 21st in the Pursuit. Also in the endurance events are B.C. riders Kevin Thorpe of North Vancouver, Jacob Schwingboth of Cloverdale and Ben Cowburn of Burnaby.

The sprinters are Allan Leparskas of London, Ontario, and Scott Mulder of North Vancouver. Canada is entered in all the men's events. A training camp at the Burnaby Velodrome will determine the starters for each event.

For the women, Krista Ruby of Caledon, Ontario, and Florence Laplante-Lamarsh of Ottawa, Ontario will focus on the Pursuit and mass starts events.

This is a self funded project, whereby the athletes will be responsible for their airfare, accommodation in Moscow, and other support costs associated with the event.

The purpose for this is to enable the Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) to run a full development program with the maximum number of athletes across all disciplines and to give our Junior athletes a world-level experience as early as possible in their career.

The CCA will be contributing funds to the pre-Worlds training camp which will give the athletes added experience to fine tune their skills and work together as a team.

If you would like to make a donation to help support the Junior World Track Team and alleviate some of the financial stress, please fill out a donation form that can be found at and e-mail it to Petrina Tulissi at All proceeds will go directly towards covering the athletes' expenses.

Courtesy CCA


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.