Canadian Cyclist


June 30/09 16:20 pm - CCA Announces Team for 2009 BMX World Cycling Championships

Posted by Editoress on 06/30/09

The Canadian Cycling Association announced today a ten-member team for the 2009 BMX World Championships July 24th to 26th, 2009 in Adelaide Australia.  The team will be led by Olympians and Elite National Champions Sam Cools of Airdrie Alberta, and Scott Erwood of Surry B.C.  The Junior Team will be led by National Champion Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, B.C. <br><br><b>Elite Men</b><br>Scott Erwood, Surry B.C.<br>Jim Brown, Airdrie AB<br>Patrick Lebel, Calgary AB<br><br><b>Elite Women</b><br>Sam Cools, Airdrie AB<br>Danielle Brisson, Abbotsford B.C.<br><br><b>Junior Men</b><br>Tory Nyhaug, Coquitlam B.C.<br>Steven Creighton, B.C.<br>Nick Benetti B.C.<br><br><b>Junior Women</b><br>Abby Graalman, Red Deer AB<br>Amelia Walsh, Ayr ON<br><br><br>The team will begin their build up to Worlds with a camp in Abbotsford, BC from the 12th to 14th of July.  The team will then travel to Australia and complete their Worlds preparations.<br><br>The CCA will be contributing funds to this project, which will help with the funding for both the Elite and Junior riders. The funding from the CCA will allow the Elites to be fully funded and for the Juniors to be partially funded.<br><br>If you would like to make a donation to help support the BMX Worlds Team and alleviate some of their financial stress, please fill out a donation form that can be found at <a href= target=_blank></a> and e-mail it to Nicholas Vipond at <a></a>. All proceeds will go directly towards covering the athletes' expenses.<br><br>


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.