Canadian Cyclist


July 5/09 12:41 pm - Tour of Austria: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 07/5/09

André Greipel powered to Columbia-HTC's 50th victory of the season in the Tour of Austria's stage one on Sunday. Greipel was the fastest in a bunch sprint that decided the 141-kilometre stage in Messpark Dornbirn.

The sprinter's victory takes his personal 2009 win tally to eleven while Columbia-HTC's total of victories has now risen to 50, reinforcing their position as the professional cycling team with the highest total of wins this season.

"We had to fight hard for this victory because two dangerous moves got away during the stage and both of them were difficult to pull back," Greipel said afterwards. "It was a hilly course, and we didn't get back the last two breakaways until eight kilometres to go. After that [teammates] Marcel Sieberg and Marcus Burghardt gave me the lead-out I needed and I went for it with about 200 metres to go."

Greipel's final charge for the line was affected by speed bumps in the finishing straight, but he still managed to fend off Australia's Graeme Brown for his eleventh victory of the season. "There was a headwind and we left it til quite late to start the sprint, so it ended up being close."

"But it's never easy, a lot of the guys see that I'm going well and they want to get on my back wheel. I don't get given any margin for error!"

Greipel has now won exactly half of the races he has started this season, and the German has high hopes he will be able to to beat his 2008 total of 14 victories.

"I think I can do it, although here in Austria I'm not optimistic about holding the leader's jersey tomorrow, the stage finishes with a seven kilometre climb. But there are more sprint stages later on in the race, and if we can keep the breaks from opening up too big a gap, then I'll try and win some more."

Team Columbia-HTC press release

Stage 1: Dornbirn to Dornbirn, 141.9 km
1 Andre Greipel (Ger) Team Columbia HTC 3:15:03
2 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank
3 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Serramenti PVC
4 Steffen Radochla (Ger) ELK Haus
5 Bernardo Riccio (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
6 Jonas Ljungblad (Swe) Silence-Lotto
7 Mathew Haymann (Aus) Rabobank
8 Thomas Fothen (Ger) Team Milram
9 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Katusha
10 Werner Riebenbauer (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
11 Roy Sentjens (Bel) Silence-Lotto
12 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Garmin-Slipstream
13 Cristiano Benenati (Ita) ISD-Neri
14 Harald Starzengruber (Aut) ELK Haus
15 Ian Stannard (GBr) ISD-Neri
16 Emanuel Vona (Ita) ISD-Neri
17 Marco Velo (Ita) Quick Step
18 Sebastian Siedler (Ger) Voralberg Corratec
19 Eloy Teruel Rovira (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
20 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Silence-Lotto
21 Luca Barla (Ita) Team Milram
22 Martin Reimer (Ger) Cervelo Test Team
23 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) Fuji-Servetto
24 Francesco Reda (Ita) Quick Step
25 Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Team Katusha
26 Marcus Burghardt (Ger) Team Columbia HTC
27 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick Step
28 Petr Lechner (Cze) KTM Junkers
29 Guennady Mikhaylov (Rus) Team Katusha
30 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Quick Step
31 Alexander Serov (Rus) Team Katusha
32 Rafael Serrano Fernandez (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
33 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Silence-Lotto
34 Dominik Roels (Ger) Team Milram
35 Pieter Weening (Ned) Rabobank
36 William Frischkorn (USA) Garmin-Slipstream
37 Kevin Seeldraeyers (Bel) Quick Step
38 Josef Kugler (Aut) KTM Junkers
39 Jeremy Hunt (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
40 Fredrik Kessiakoff (Swe) Fuji-Servetto
41 Cristiano Fumagalli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
42 Bram Tankink (Ned) Rabobank
43 Reto Hollenstein (Sui) Voralberg Corratec
44 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Esp) Cervelo Test Team
45 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Serramenti PVC
46 Peter Pichler (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
47 Markus Eichler (Ger) Team Milram
48 Thomas Vedel Kvist (Den) Quick Step
49 Timothy Duggan (USA) Garmin-Slipstream
50 Michael Knopf (Aut) KTM Junkers
51 Martin Velits (Svk) Team Milram
52 Jan Barta (Cze) KTM Junkers
53 Pedro Jose Vera Alcaraz (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
54 Rene Haselbacher (Aut) Voralberg Corratec
55 Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Team Columbia HTC
56 Stefan Rucker (Aut) ELK Haus
57 Gianpaolo Caruso (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
58 Markus Eibegger (Aut) ELK Haus
59 Paolo Bailetti (Ita) Fuji-Servetto
60 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Esp) Fuji-Servetto
61 Artur Gajek (Ger) Team Milram
62 Hubert Schwab (Sui) Quick Step
63 Thomas Peterson (USA) Garmin-Slipstream
64 Koos Moerenhout (Ned) Rabobank
65 Christoph Sokoll (Aut) Voralberg Corratec
66 Michael Pichler (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
67 Bram De Groot (Ned) Rabobank
68 Stefan Denifl (Aut) ELK Haus
69 Elias Schmaeh (Sui) Voralberg Corratec
70 David Schöggl (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
71 Hannes Gründlinger (Aut) KTM Junkers
72 Ruben Reig Conejero (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
73 Oscar Garcia-Casarrubios (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
74 Ermanno Capelli (Ita) Fuji-Servetto
75 Sergio Dominguez Munoz (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
76 Gert Dockx (Bel) Team Columbia HTC
77 Christian Kux (Ger) Team Milram
78 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Esp) Fuji-Servetto
79 Martin Riska (Svk) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
80 Cameron Wurf (Aus) Fuji-Servetto
81 Edward King (USA) Cervelo Test Team
82 Huub Duyn (Ned) Garmin-Slipstream
83 Matthias Russ (Ger) Team Milram
84 Javier Echarri Marin (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
85 Adriano Angeloni (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
86 Maxim Belkov (Rus) ISD-Neri
87 Björn Thurau (Ger) ELK Haus
88 Ruslan Pidgornyy (Ukr) ISD-Neri
89 Matthias Brändle (Aut) ELK Haus
90 Olivier Kaisen (Bel) Silence-Lotto
91 Rick Flens (Ned) Rabobank
92 Stefan Pöll (Aut) KTM Junkers
93 Stefan Probst (Aut) KTM Junkers
94 Massimiliano Gentili (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
95 Michael Albasini (Sui) Team Columbia HTC
96 Alessandro Proni (Ita) ISD-Neri
97 Rupert Probst (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
98 Luca Solari (Ita) Serramenti PVC
99 Claudio Jose Casas Gallego (Esp) Contentpolis-Ampo
100 Jan Valach (Svk) ELK Haus
101 Harald Morscher (Aut) Voralberg Corratec
102 Morris Possoni (Ita) Team Columbia HTC
103 Bart Dockx (Bel) Silence-Lotto
104 Luis Angel Mate Mardones (Esp) Serramenti PVC
105 Kilian Patour (Fra) Garmin-Slipstream
106 Joaquin Novoa Menedez (Esp) Cervelo Test Team
107 Stanislau Samoilav (Blr) Quick Step
108 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Cervelo Test Team
109 Serguei Klimov (Rus) Team Katusha
110 Francesco Ginanni (Ita) Serramenti PVC
111 Luigi Sestilli (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
112 Philipp Ludescher (Aut) Voralberg Corratec
113 Wim Van Huffel (Bel) Voralberg Corratec
114 Dominik Hrinkow (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet
115 Ivan Rovny (Rus) Team Katusha
116 Oscar Pujol Munoz (Esp) Cervelo Test Team
117 Davide Ricci Bitti (Ita) ISD-Neri
118 G. Luca Mirenda (Ita) ISD-Neri
119 Kai Reus (Ned) Rabobank
120 Dainius Kairelis (Ltu) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
121 Filippo Simeoni (Ita) Ceramica Flaminia-Bossini
122 Laszlo Bodrogi (Fra) Team Katusha
123 Daniel Fleeman (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
124 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin-Slipstream
125 Robert Gaszmayr (Aut) KTM Junkers
126 Javier Megias Leal (Esp) Fuji-Servetto
127 Luca Celli (Ita) Serramenti PVC
128 Alessandro Bertolini (Ita) Serramenti PVC
129 Leonardo Moser (Ita) Serramenti PVC all s.t.
130 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Silence-Lotto 0:31
131 Riccardo Zoidl (Aut) RC ARBÖ Wels Gourmet 0:46
132 Adam Hansen (Aus) Team Columbia HTC 3:28


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.