Canadian Cyclist


July 11/09 9:09 am - MTB Nationals: Junior Women and Men UPDATES

Posted by Editoress on 07/11/09

Yesterday it was hot (28C) and sunny,  but it rained overnight and so the ground is wet this morning but the air is cooler (18C). 


The Junior Men and Women are on course for 3 laps (Junior Women) and 4 laps (Junior Expert Men). The course for the Junior and Cadet cats is 6.2 km in length.


Lap 1

At the start for the first time up the climb Jérémy Martin (QC), Patrick Chartrand  (QC) had the lead for the Junior Men.  Defending champion Evan Guthrie    (BC) was sitting ~ 4th


Laura Bietola  (ON), Kristina Laforge (QC) and Cayley Brooks  (ON) were together as the Junior women hit the climb for the first time.


Late in Lap 1:  Guthrie has gone to the front and has a small gap on a group of ~ 9. Mitch Bailey (ON), Andrew L'Espérance (NS) and Patrick Chartrand (QC) Tyler Allison (BC) are at the front of them


Junior Women: Laura Bietola (ON) has a solid lead (over 3 min) on Samantha Grover (AB) in 2nd and Cayley Brooks (ON) is another 15 seconds back in 3rd.


The Cadets are also on course: 

Men's leaders are:   Mo Lawrence (BC) and Bretton Matthews (ON)     CORRECTION:  (The number plates are muddy and bent over)  Nicolas Gagné (QC)

Women's leaders are: Andréane Lanthier-Nadeau (QC) and Lauren Rosser (BC) and they have over 2 min on 3rd place  Malia Poulin (QC)


Lap 2:

Junior Men

Late in the 2nd lap it is Mitch Bailey (ON) at the front along with Evan Guthrie (BC).  At 12 seconds it is Tyler Allison (BC).  At another 15 seconds is a group being led by Antoine Caron (QC), Steven Noble (ON), Patrick Chartrand (QC) and Andrew L'Espérance (NS), but they are steadily losing ground.


Junior Women

Laura Bietola (ON) has slowed a bit and is cruising along.  Her gap to Samantha Grover (AB) and Cayley Brooks (ON) has narrowed to ~ 2 min 30.  4th is Natasha Oldcorn (ON) followed by Anna Schappert (QC), but they are over 4 min back



Cadet Women (Final)

1 Lauren Rosser (BC)

2 Andréane Lanthier-Nadeau (QC)

3 Emily Fisher (ON)  


Cadet Men (Final)

1 Mo Lawrence (BC)

2 Nicolas Gagné (QC)



Lap 3:


The Junior men are just finishing their 3rd lap and Guthrie has attacked.  Tyler Allison (BC) has managed to stay with him and they have a 35 second lead on Mitch Bailey (ON).  Next rider is over 2 min back


Final (Unofficial)


Junior Women

1 Laura Bietola (ON)

2 Samantha Grover (AB)

3 Cayley Brooks (ON)

4 Anna Schappert (QC)


Junior Expert Men

1 Evan Guthrie (BC)
2 Tyler Allison (BC)

3 Mitch Bailey (ON)

4 Patrick Chartrand (QC)

5 Andrew L'Espérance (NS)






Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.