Canadian Cyclist Leukemia 24/7-2 April5
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Specialized Spring Into Summer CC1 May 5

Daily News


August 26/09 11:29 am - Track Nationals Day 2

Posted by Editoress on 08/26/09

The Master B Men were the exciting group on the track today at the 2009 Canadian Track National Championships.  After the first two events, the individual pursuit and scratch race, Rob Mulder and John Perkins were tied going in to the final event, the points race.  At one point the two riders almost lapped the rest of the field, but Mulder was conserving energy by refusing to take the lead and the two men lost their advantage on the pack as they played cat and mouse.  Heading in to the final sprint they were tied on points, so whoever crossed the finish line first would win.  The racers flew around the last 2 laps of the race and with all cylinders firing Mulder crossed the finish line first, with Perkins following by a tire width to finish second.  Kevin Rokosh completed the podium to finish third.

Andy George, who's coming off a successful week of racing at the World Police and Fireman Games, won all three of the Master C Men events to take home the gold medal and championship jersey in the omnium.  In the Master  A race, yesterday's sprint omnium champion Bruce Denis won today's endurance omnium.

The U17 Women lit up the track again with some impressive riding, especially during the points race.  Audrey Bernard and Audrey Labrie were close in overall points from yesterday's sprint events, the morning pursuit, and scratch race.  The race, which averaged around 36km/hr,  was full of attacks and individual tactics.  In the end, it was Bernard who took home the gold, Labrie the silver, and Laurence Paquette the bronze.

The largest pack of the day was the U17 men and again, the top of the leader board was close going in to the final points race.  The race was high paced and aggressive, with Justin Zottl winning gold, Marc-Antoine Noel the silver, and Alexandre Pinard the bronze.

The Junior and Elite Championships are scheduled to start on Thursday, August 27th.

Masters Endurance Omnium

Masters C
1. Andy George, Pucci
2. Stuart Lynne, Escape Velocity
3. Lorne Falkenstein, Kamikaze FCV

Masters B
1. Rob Mulder, Steed Cycles
2. John Perkins, Glotman Simpson
3. Kevin Rokosh, ERTC

Masters A
1. Bruce Denis
2. Julian Base, Westwood Cycles
3. James Purdy, Bicisport

U-17 5 event Omnium

U-17 Men
1. Justin Zottl, Ontario
2. Marc-Antoine Noel, Quebec
3. Alexandre Pinard, Quebec

U-17 Women
1. Audrey Bernard, Quebec
2. Audrey Labrie, Quebec
3. Laurence Paquette, Quebec

U-17 Motor Pace Challenge winner and U-17 Elimination to Scratch race winner, Alexandre Pinard

Courtesy CCA


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP
CC Advertise April 14

Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login