Canadian Cyclist


December 14/09 10:29 am - Louis Garneau to Sponsor Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling Team

Posted by Editoress on 12/14/09

Louis Garneau  is proud to announce the sponsorship of the Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling Team. The Bahati Foundation, founded by Rahsaan Bahati, is a non-profit organization that inspires and empowers underprivileged youth to rise above their circumstances. Their stated goal is to work with our partners in helping today’s underprivileged youth overcome poverty. They provide the resources, support and inspiration to help young people succeed in life. Louis Garneau will provide the team with the most technological custom apparel and helmets on the market. "We are excited to work with a top-notch group of athletes that are driven by a social mission," says Marketing Director, Pierre Perron . The team roster includes such superstars as: Hilton Clarke, 2006 USPRO Criterium Champion; Jason Donald, 2nd prologue Amgen Tour of California, Nathan O'Neill, 8-time Australian National Time Trial Champion; Cesar Grajales, 1st Stage #6 Tour of Georgia , and several amazing upcoming young riders. "The Louis Garneau brand surpasses the competition and is committed to providing the best cycling gear for all levels of athletes. The Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling Team and Louis Garneau are a natural fit due to the same level of commitment to excellence, integrity and serving the community," remarks Rahsaan Bahati, Pro Cyclist and Founder. Bahati placed 1st in 2008 at the United States National Criterium Championships.

The partnership with Bahati Foundation Pro Cycling Team also includes a strong affiliation with Colorado Premier Training. Steve Owens, the Team Manager, is also Aerodynamics Specialist and Chief Executive Officer of Colorado Premier Training, a coaching and windtunnel testing facility located in Fort Collins, Colorado. "We’re excited to work with Louis Garneau because they are committed to making the most competitive products in the industry and have an already proven product line. The coming year we will be working together with respect to aerodynamics and other technological aspects to create improved technologies and advantages," mentions Owens.

The team will be riding some of best custom apparel and helmets available including:

Equipe Jersey: The fibers in this jersey positively impact muscular performance by reducing body temperature, promoting perspiration, evaporating moisture, lowering the respiratory rate, and reducing lactic acid concentration. Low profile stitching reduces chafing common with traditional seams. Non-abrasive seams lie flat and offer a smooth transition between panels. Internal mp3 pocket hidden inside rear pockets is both handy and secure for media player. Small internal flyout hole allows you to run your headphone wires inside the jersey.

Power Bibs: The compressive fit of Power Lycra optimizes muscle performance and increases blood circulation which results in less muscle fatigue. Conventional gripper is replaced by a compressive Powerband that reduces lower leg pressure and provides muscle support that does not restrict circulation. The Airgel Chamois has perforated gel inserts that allow for ventilation. Outer crabyon fabric accelerates wound healing and helps reduce saddle sores. This chamois is antibacterial for life.

Diamond Helmet: The Diamond represents our greatest achievement in helmets. At 285 grams and over 40 vents, we have designed a helmet to outperform the competition. Through patented technology, we have unleashed an absurd amount of ventilation while still meeting safety standards.

2010 Team Roster

Rahsaan Bahati
Ryan Baumann
Ian Burnett
Peter Carey
Hilton Clarke
Corey Collier
Jason Donald
Cesar Grajales
Alex Hagman
Evan Hyde
Bobby Lea
Phil Mann
Nathan O'Neill
Matt Rice
Lanell Rockmore

Steve Owens (Team Manager)
Rick Crawford (Director Sportif)
Humberto Baca (Assistant Director Sportif)
Brad Eastham (Team Liaison)
Ryan Miller (Marketing Director)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.