Canadian Cyclist


February 4/10 9:30 am - Etoile de Besseges: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 02/4/10

The first stage (146 km) of the Etoile de Bessèges (February 3rd) from Aigues-Mortes to Le Grau-du-Ro ended in a bunch sprint. Cervélo Test Team's Dominique Rollin tried for a result in the sprint but, due to a crash by teammate Daniel Lloyd in the last kilometre, he did not succeed. Rollin finished ninth in the stage.

"The initial attack came within the first 15 kilometres of today's stage from Julien Loubet (AG2R-La Mondiale) and Floris Goesinnen (Skil-Shimano)," said Alex Sans Vega, Sports Director.

"They stayed ahead for a long time but the sprinters in the Vacansoleil and Française des Jeux teams controlled the race and brought the breakaway back in the final kilometre. It was Borut Bozic from Vacansoleil who won the bunch sprint ahead of Nico Eeckhout (An Post-Sean Kelly) and Arnaud Molmy (Team Roubaix-Lille Métropole)."

"We tried to do something in the final for Dominique Rollin but Daniel Lloyd, who was his last man, crashed in the final kilometre and then our chances were gone. Daniel is now at the hospital for observation. Vacansoleil will try to control the race again tomorrow in order to hold onto the yellow jersey, however, we will certainly try something when we find the opportunity."

Report courtesy Cervélo Test Team

Stage 1 (February 3rd): Aigues-Mortes to Le-Grau-du- Roi, 146.2 km
1 Borut Bozic (Slo) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 3:42:49
2 Niko Eeckhout (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly
3 Arnaud Molmy (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
4 Sébastien Chavanel (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
5 Gregory Joseph (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
6 Fabien Bacquet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
7 Tom Veelers (Ned) Skil - Shimano
8 Johan Monbaerts (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
9 Dominique Rollin (Can) Cervelo Test Team
10 Stefan Van Dijk (Ned) Verandas Willems
11 Jean-Luc Delpech (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
12 Steven Caethoven (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
13 Florian Vachon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
14 Nadir Haddou (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
15 Enrico Gasparotto (Ita) Astana
16 Jure Kocjan (Slo) Carmiooro NGC
17 Yannick Talabardon (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
18 Paride Grillo (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
19 Benoit Daeninck (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
20 Guillaume Blot (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
21 Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) Verandas Willems
22 Romain Lemarchand (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
23 Nicolas Roche (Irl) AG2R La Mondiale
24 Yoann Offredo (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
25 Jocelyn Bar (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
26 Jonathan Thire (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
27 Renaud Dion (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
28 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
29 Cedric Pineau (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
30 Yuriy Krivtsov (Ukr) AG2R La Mondiale
31 Valery Dmitriyev (Kaz) Astana
32 Kenny Lisabeth (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly
33 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
34 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana
35 Albert Timmer (Ned) Skil - Shimano
36 Stefan Denifl (Aut) Cervelo Test Team
37 Sébastien Minard (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
38 Scott Davis (Aus) Astana
39 Roy Curvers (Ned) Skil - Shimano
40 Rene Mandri (Est) AG2R La Mondiale
41 Pieter Jacobs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
42 Guillaume Bonnafond (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
43 Koen De Kort (Ned) Skil - Shimano
44 Valentin Iglinsky (Kaz) Astana
45 Samuel Dumoulin (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
46 Eric Berthou (Fra) Carmiooro NGC
47 Bolat Raimbekov (Kaz) Astana
48 Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
49 Cyril Gautier (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
50 Mathieu Halleguen (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
51 Sven Van Den Houte (Bel) Verandas Willems
52 Koen Barbe (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
53 James Vanlandschoot (Bel) Verandas Willems
54 Nicolas Portal (Fra)  Team Sky
55 Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
56 Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
57 Oscar Pereiro Sio (Esp) Astana
58 Laurent Beuret (Sui) Carmiooro NGC
59 Stijn Minne (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly
60 Jonathan Hivert (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
61 Freddy Bichot (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
62 Arnaud Gerard (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
63 Jean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
64 Marco Marcato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
65 Hans Dekkers (Ned) Landbouwkrediet
66 Julien Loubet (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
67 Johan Le Bon (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
68 Blel Kadri (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
69 Joost Van Leyen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
70 Guillaume Levarlet (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
71 John-Lee Augustyn (RSA) Cyclisme Prof.Sky Team
72 Michael Barry (Can)  Team Sky
73 Johan Coenen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
74 Preben Van Hecke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
75 Jérôme Coppel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
76 Morris Possoni (Ita) Cyclisme Prof.Sky Team
77 Jean Marc Marino (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
78 Grégory Habeaux (Bel) Verandas Willems
79 Johnny Hoogerland (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
80 Bjorn Leukemans (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
81 Steven Tronet (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
82 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
83 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
84 Yury Trofimov (Rus) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
85 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
86 Rémy Pauriol (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
87 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
88 Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly
89 Edward King (USA) Cervelo Test Team
90 Peter Kennaugh (GBr) Cyclisme Prof.Sky Team
91 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
92 Thierry Hupond (Fra) Skil - Shimano
93 Enrico Peruffo (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
94 Yann Huguet (Fra) Skil - Shimano
95 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
96 Andy Cappelle (Bel) Verandas Willems
97 Sven Renders (Bel) Verandas Willems
98 Connor Mc Convey (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly
99 Guillaume Faucon (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
100 Steve Houanard (Fra) Skil - Shimano
101 Bert Scheirlinckx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
102 Frédéric Amorison (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
103 David Le Lay (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
104 Paidi O'Brien (Irl) An Post - Sean Kelly
105 Damien Monier (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
106 Marc Mc Nally (GBr) An Post - Sean Kelly
107 Rémi Cusin (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
108 Jérôme Baugnies (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
109 Sander Armee (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
110 Sylvain Calzati (Fra) Cyclisme Prof.Sky Team
111 Frédéric Veuchelen (Bel) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
112 Maxim Gourov (Kaz) Astana
113 Julien Mazet (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
114 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
115 Mickaël Buffaz (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne
116 Sandy Casar (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux
117 Laurent Lefevre (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
118 Maxime Mederel (Fra) Big Mat - Auber 93
119 Oscar Pujol Munoz (Esp) Cervelo Test Team
120 Sébastien Fournet Fayard (Fra) Carmiooro NGC
121 Bart Dockx (Bel) Landbouwkrediet
122 Fabrice Jeandesboz (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
123 Floris Goesinnen (Ned) Skil - Shimano
124 Joao Correia (Por) Cervelo Test Team
125 Lilian Jegou (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
126 Fabio Polazzi (Bel) Verandas Willems
127 Cyril Bessy (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
128 Thomas Voeckler (Fra) Bbox Bouygues Telecom
129 Steven Cummings (GBr) Cyclisme Prof.Sky Team
130 Marcel Wyss (Sui) Cervelo Test Team
131 Nicolas Jouanno (Fra) Bretagne - Schuller
132 Mickael Larpe (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
133 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Francaise Des Jeux all s.t.
134 Christophe Kern (Fra) Cofidis Le Credit En Ligne 0:33
135 Alberto Ongarato (Ita) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team 0:51
136 Maxim De Busschere (Bel) An Post - Sean Kelly
137 Alessandro Raisoni (Ita) Carmiooro NGC
138 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Cervelo Test Team
139 Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen-Mercator
140 Diego Tamayo Martinez (Col) Carmiooro NGC all s.t.
141 David Boucher (Fra) Landbouwkrediet 8:10
142 Daniel Lloyd (GBr) Cervelo Test Team
DNS Morgan Kneisky (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.