Canadian Cyclist


February 14/10 15:21 pm - Tour of Oman: Stage 1, Rollin 12th

Posted by Editoress on 02/14/10

Jimmy Casper entered history as he became the first stage winner on the first edition of the Tour of Oman. In a fabulous evening atmosphere and in front of thousands of spectators on the Muscat Corniche, the Frenchman outsprinted his rivals in a bunch sprint. Casper beat Boasson Hagen and De Haes, claiming the first overall leader’s red jersey.


Thousands of spectators had gathered to the Muscat Corniche to welcome the 126 riders of the first edition of the Tour of Oman. After a very festive opening ceremony, the pack took off in night conditions for 16 laps of 4 kilometres on the Corniche. After a neutralised first lap, three riders broke away from the pack: Cretskens (OLO), Novoa Menedez (CTT) and Coutouly (SAU). Three laps later they were joined by Reimer (CTT), Wrolich (MRM) and Ballan (BMC).


The first intermediate sprint at the 6th passage on the line (km 23) was claimed by Ballan ahead of Wrolich and Reimer while the pack remained 40” adrift. The leading six were finally caught during the 9th lap. A few kilometres later, four riders took off: Pinotti (THR), Hunter (GRM), Eskov (KAT) and Westra (VAC).


They reached the second intermediate sprint (11th passage, km 42) won by Pinotti ahead of Westra and Eskov with a 20” lead over the pack. The leaders were eventually caught with just over two laps to go. The pack then remained together all the way to the finish line, led by the sprinters’ teams. Positioned on the left hand side of the road, Jimmy Casper flew to the line, claiming the first stage of the event. The Frenchman beat Boasson Hagen (SKY) and De Haes (OLO) to the line. Casper therefore becomes the first overall leader of the race and will be carrying the red jersey on his shoulders for tomorrow’s stage 2. The green jersey for the points classification also goes to Casper while the white jersey for the best young riders is claimed by Boasson Hagen.

Tour of Oman

1 Jimmy Casper (Fra) Saur - Sojasun 1:22:22
2 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Team Sky
3 Kenny De Haes (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
4 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Transitions
5 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
6 Michael Van Stayen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
7 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Katusha Team
8 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Team HTC - Columbia
9 Andreas Stauff (Ger) Quick Step Cycling Team
10 Lucas Sebastien Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank
11 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Team Sky
12 Dominique Rollin (Can) Cervélo Test Team
13 Roger Kluge (Ger) Team Milram
14 John Murphy (USA) BMC Racing Team
15 Pieter Vanspeybrouck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
16 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) Cervélo Test Team
17 Sebastian Lang (Ger) Omega Pharma - Lotto
18 Rony Martias (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
19 Klaas Lodewyck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
20 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) BMC Racing Team
21 Nikolay Trusov (Rus) Katusha Team
22 Julien Bérard (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
23 Gatis Smukulis (Lat) AG2R La Mondiale
24 Martin Velits (Svk) Team HTC - Columbia
25 Nikita Eskov (Rus) Katusha Team
26 Jesse Sergent (NZl) Trek Livestrong U23
27 Alex Dowsett (GBr) Trek Livestrong U23
28 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Team Milram
29 Geert Steurs (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
30 Kevin De Weert (Bel) Quick Step Cycling Team
31 Matti Breschel (Den) Team Saxo Bank
32 Jackson Stewart (USA) BMC Racing Team
33 Michael Schär (Sui) BMC Racing Team
34 Marco Velo (Ita) Quick Step Cycling Team
35 Frank Hoj (Den) Team Saxo Bank
36 Romain Matheou (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
37 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
38 Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
39 Patrick Gretsch (Ger) Team HTC - Columbia
40 Justin Williams (USA) Trek Livestrong U23
41 Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC Racing Team
42 Daniel Lloyd (GBr) Cervélo Test Team
43 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky
44 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
45 Benjamin King (USA) Trek Livestrong U23
46 Martin Reimer (Ger) Cervélo Test Team
47 Jurgen Van De Walle (Bel) Quick Step Cycling Team
48 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
49 Wilfried Cretskens (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
50 Ben Gastauer (Lux) AG2R La Mondiale
51 Benjamin King (Aus) Trek Livestrong U23
52 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick Step Cycling Team
53 Gert Dockx (Bel) Team HTC - Columbia
54 Domenik Klemme (Ger) Team Saxo Bank
55 Wouter Mol (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
56 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
57 Wim De Vocht (Bel) Team Milram
58 Michiel Elijzen (Ned) Omega Pharma - Lotto
59 Johan Van Summeren (Bel) Garmin - Transitions
60 Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
61 Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
62 Kristof Goddaert (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale
63 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
64 Nicolas Rousseau (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
65 Joaquin Novoa (Esp) Cervélo Test Team
66 Christophe Riblon (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
67 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team HTC - Columbia
68 Kristof Vandewalle (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
69 Servais Knaven (Ned) Team Milram
70 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
71 Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Quick Step Cycling Team
72 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
73 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team
74 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Team Milram
75 Kenny De Ketele (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
76 Marco Bandiera (Ita) Katusha Team
77 Cameron Meyer (Aus) Garmin - Transitions
78 Roger Hammond (GBr) Cervélo Test Team
79 Simon Zahner (Sui) BMC Racing Team
80 Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Katusha Team
81 Julian Kyer (USA) Trek Livestrong U23
82 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Katusha Team
83 Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus) Katusha Team
84 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team HTC - Columbia
85 Cyril Lemoine (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
86 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin - Transitions
87 Davide Vigano (Ita) Team Sky
88 Thimothy Roe (Aus) Trek Livestrong U23
89 Roy Sentjens (Bel) Team Milram
90 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Quick Step Cycling Team
91 Andreas Klier (Ger) Cervélo Test Team
92 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Team Sky
93 Cody Campbell (Can) Trek Livestrong U23
94 Baden Cooke (Aus) Team Saxo Bank
95 Maarten Wynants (Bel) Quick Step Cycling Team
96 Artem Ovechkin (Rus) Katusha Team
97 Xavier Florencio (Esp) Cervélo Test Team
98 Martijn Maaskant (Ned) Garmin - Transitions
99 Svein Tuft (Can) Garmin - Transitions
100 Steven Van Vooren (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen - Mercator
101 Frederik Willems (Bel) Liquigas-Doimo
102 Leif Hoste (Bel) Omega Pharma - Lotto
103 Cedric Coutouly (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
104 Jens Mouris (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
105 Björn Schröder (Ger) Team Milram
106 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
107 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
108 Marcus Burghardt (Ger) BMC Racing Team
109 Murilo Fischer (Bra) Garmin - Transitions
110 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale
111 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Team Saxo Bank
112 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Team Saxo Bank
113 Stéphane Poulhies (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
114 Bobbie Traksel (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
115 Danny Pate (USA) Garmin - Transitions
116 Laurent Mangel (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
117 Juan José Haedo (Arg) Team Saxo Bank
118 Jimmy Engoulvent (Fra) Saur - Sojasun
119 Arnoud Van Groen (Ned) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
120 Leigh Howard (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia
121 Adam Hansen (Aus) Team HTC - Columbia
122 Juan Antonio Flecha (Esp) Team Sky
123 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
124 Ian Stannard (GBr) Team Sky
125 Romain Feillu (Fra) Vacansoleil Pro Cycling Team
126 Lars-Peter Nordhaug (Nor) Team Sky all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.