Canadian Cyclist


February 27/10 18:08 pm - Omloop Het Nieuwsblad-Femmes Elite, Beveridge 30th

Posted by Editoress on 02/27/10

The Omloop Het Nieuwsblad opened the European racing season today. The one-day event in Ghent, Belgium was 125.7 kilometres, raced in difficult weather. Emma Johansson (Swe-Red Sun Cycling Team) won the race, Liesbet de Vocht (Bel-Nederland Bloeit) finished second and Grace Verbeke (Bel-Lotto Ladies) took third. Best result for Cervélo TestTeam was Regina Bruins (Ned) who was part of the break away that made it to the finish.

"The first and second climbs were not really that hard and the peloton took it easy," said Regina Bruins. "On the third climb my teammate told me to go and I tried to reach the group. On the fourth climb I did reach the group and than we started to ride. It was really hard and I did what I could do. At that point we had a good situation, because I was with Sarah who was also part of the five-rider group. But Sarah, who normally is the fastest sprinter of us all eventually had to let the group go and for me, who is not sprinter, it became much more difficult. I tried to attack but the girls stayed on my wheel and I was not able to. For today's race I can be satisfied, but I have to complete one more step in my training to be really good and I will work at it over the next few weeks."

"We had a really good plan for today so we could fully benefit from the strong riders we have," said Mirjam Melchers. "But it was very chaotic and a few of us got a bit behind on the climb where we should have started coming together. But everybody was a bit in the back and you know this can happen. Eventually we had two of our riders in the front group (Sarah and Regina) and I was behind them with our sprinter Kirsten Wild and Iris Slappendel. Then Kirsten crashed on the cobblestones and so we had to depend solely on the two in the front. They did a lot of work in that group and that was not easy with these bad conditions."

"Today's team result was nice, but it is only one place that counts," said Egon van Kessel, sports director. "It went a bit wrong today because we did have two riders in a break of five. I told them to do nothing and to wait for our sprinter Kirsten Wild who was behind with two more riders from our team (Mirjam and Iris). Then Kirsten crashed and Sarah was dropped out of the front group. So from a perfect situation it changed dramatically and we lost the race."

Cervélo TestTeam press release


125 km
1 Emma Johansson (Swe) Redsun Cycling Team 3:26:15
2 Liesbet De Vocht (Bel) Nederland Bloeit
3 Grace Verbeke (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team both s.t.
4 Regina Bruins (Ned) Cervelo Test Team 0:06
5 Sarah Düster (Ger) Cervelo Test Team 1:48
6 Martine Bras (Ned) Nederland Nationale Ploeg 2:45
7 Mirjam Van Poppel-Melchers (Ned) Cervelo Test Team s.t.
8 Loes Gunnewijk (Ned) Nederland Bloeit 2:52
9 Sophie Creux (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion 2:54
10 Iris Slappendel (Ned) Cervelo Test Team
11 Mascha Pijnenborg (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team
12 Petra Dijkman (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team
13 Kelly Druyts (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson all s.t.
14 Catherine Delfosse (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team 3:05
15 Sjoukje Dufoer (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson 4:19
16 Loes Markerink (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
17 Lucy Martin (GBr) Great Britain National Team
18 Janneke Kanis (Ned) Nederland Bloeit
19 Kim Schoonbaert (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
20 Monique Van De Ree (Ned)
21 Annelies Van Doorslaer (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
22 Jessie Daams (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson
23 Maria Grandt Petersen (Den) Hitec Products Uck
24 Annie Last (GBr) Great Britain National Team
25 Chantal Blaak (Ned)
26 Veronica Andreasson (Swe) Lotto Ladies Team
27 Ludivine Henrion (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
28 Andrea Bosman (Ned) all s.t.
29 Lieselot Decroix (Bel) Cervelo Test Team 5:19
30 Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne Futuroscope 5:45
31 Valentina Carretta (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo -Ghezzi 6:02
32 Roxane Kneteman (Ned) Merida Cycling Team 6:54
33 Laure Werner (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
34 Emma Silversides (GBr) Redsun Cycling Team
35 Pascale Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
36 Jolien D`Hoore (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson
37 Ine Beyen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson all s.t.
38 Inge Klep (Ned) Redsun Cycling Team 9:31
39 Michelle Geoghegan (Irl) Movingladies 9:37
40 Karin Aune (Swe) V.Z.W. Royal Antwerp Bicycle Club 9:46
41 Lucinda Brand (Ned) 10:28
42 Hannah Mayho (GBr) Great Britain National Team 10:39
43 Anne Eversdijk (Ned) Merida Cycling Team 11:18
44 Marijn De Vries (Ned)
45 Gabriela Slamova (Cze) Vienne Futuroscope
46 Sonja Boogaard (Ned) Mixed Team Rabo Lady Force/SRAM Eemland
47 Nathalie Jeuland (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
48 Lien Lanssens (Bel) Lotto Ladies Team
49 Baukje Doedee (Ned) Mixed Team Rabo Lady Force/SRAM Eemland
50 Elena Berlato (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo -Ghezzi
51 Gloria Presti (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo -Ghezzi
52 Aurore Verhoeven (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion
53 Kaat Hannes (Bel) Benelux Team
54 Anne De Wildt (Ned)
55 Debby van den Berg (Ned) Dolmans Landscaping
56 Patricia Schwager (Sui) Cervelo Test Team
57 Anne Arnouts (Bel) Redsun Cycling Team
58 Silvia Valsecchi (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo -Ghezzi
59 Sigrid Corneo (Slo) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo -Ghezzi
60 Noortje Tabak (Ned) Nederland Bloeit all s.t.
61 Kirsten Wild (Ned) Cervelo Test Team 12:11
62 Mélanie Bravard (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion
63 Laura Trott (GBr) Great Britain National Team
64 Jenifer Letue (Fra) Vienne Futuroscope
65 Béatrice Thomas (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion
66 Elodie Hegoburu (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion
67 Hannah Welter (Ned) Merida Cycling Team
68 Suzanne Van Veen (Ned) Dura Vermeer Cycling Team
69 Fröydis Waerstad (Nor) Hitec Products Uck
70 Eefje Tabak (Ned) Het Snelle Wiel
71 Else Belmans (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen -Thompson
72 Josien van den Heerik (Ned)
73 Roxane Fournier (Fra) ESGL 93 -GSD Gestion
74 Sofie Van Horik (Ned) Swabo Cycling Team all s.t.
90 DNF


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2019 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.