Canadian Cyclist


December 23/10 22:56 pm - UnitedHealthcare Picks Canadians for 2011 Debut

Posted by Editor on 12/23/10

The UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team announced today that it will send a strong six-man squad to Argentina to compete in the Fourth Annual Tour de San Luis. Scheduled to race for the Team in Argentina's largest stage race are returning veterans Rory Sutherland and Andrew Pinfold, who will be joined by new UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling teammates, Christian Meier, Charly Wegelius, Davide Frattini, and Scott Zwizanski.

Set to begin January 18th and culminate January 24th in San Luis, Argentina, organizers of the seven-day stage race have promised tougher stages and more climbing in this year's edition. And UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling Team General Manager and Team Director, Mike Tamayo, is excited about the opportunity The Tour de San Luis presents.

"Pro Tour teams historically have attended this race, and this year is no different," Tamayo said. "The organizers of the Tour de San Luis have put together a great event and we are eager to compete in it next month. Argentina also offers three of the key elements that make a race of this magnitude so great - great weather, great country and great racing."

Regarding expectations surrounding his team's performance in Argentina, Tamayo stated, "The way you start the season in January sets the tone for the year and this seven-day stage race will provide us with a good gauge of where we are at this point. San Luis has a great time trial that will test Scott Zwizanski's early season time trialing and the race overall will be a good test for all of our guys."

The UnitedHealthcare roster for the 2011 Tour de San Luis:

Rory Sutherland
Christian Meier
Charly Wegelius
Scott Zwizanski
Davide Frattini
Andrew Pinfold

Immediately following The Tour de San Luis, the Team will compete in the Tour of Langkawi before returning to the United States for training camp in Thousand Oaks, California, which begins February 4th.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.