Canadian Cyclist Tremblant March 3 24/7-2
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Specialized Spring Into Summer CC2 May 5

Daily News


September 21/11 14:06 pm - UCI Announces Event Locations & Elections

Posted by Editoress on 09/21/11

The International Cycling Union’s Management Committee met today [Wednesday, September 21st] in Copenhagen, Denmark on the occasion of the 2011 UCI Road World Championships.  During its third annual meeting, the UCI Management Committee awarded the 2015 UCI Road World Championships to Richmond, Virginia (USA).
The UCI President, Mr. Pat McQuaid, welcomed the decision "which is part of the globalisation process in cycling and which will allow the American continent, where our sport is enjoying an impressive development, to once again host the most important event of the UCI calendar, twelve years after the Canadian edition in the town of Hamilton."

The UCI Road World Championships had been held previously in the United States in 1986 in Colorado Springs.

The UCI Management Committee also awarded the following events:

2012 World Championships "UCI World Cycling Tour Final":  Pietermaritzburg (RSA)

2014 UCI Juniors Track Cycling World Championships:  Seoul (KOR)

2014 UCI Road World Championships:  Ponferrada (ESP)

The UCI Management Committee also ratified the 2012 calendars for MTB,  BMX Supercross UCI, Trials, Indoor Cycling, Paracycling and UWCT which will be available on-line tomorrow on

Further the UCI Management Committee acknowledged the 2012 UCI WorldTour calendar, as approved by the Professional Cycling Council the previous day. As 2012 is an Olympic year the following changes have exceptionally been made, further to the requests of the respective organizers:

Tour de Pologne : July 10 - 16
Clasica San Sebastian : August 14

Further, the Tour of Beijing will be raced on the October 10 - 14, and the Giro di Lombardia on October 20.

The UCI Management Committee endorsed the composition of the Athletes' Commission, further to a decision taken in 2010 to create this body. The Members have been either elected by a voting process organized within the ranks of racers from different disciplines or appointed by the UCI, as follows:

Florian Rousseau (FRA/appointed) - President

Representing Road:
Dario Cioni (ITA/appointed)
Cadel Evans (AUS/elected)
Philippe Gilbert (BEL/elected)

Representing Women Road:
Judith Arndt (GER/ elected)
Marianne Vos (NED/ elected)

Representing Track:
Anna Meares (AUS/ elected)
Teun Mulder (NED/ elected)

Representing MTB:
Georgia Gould (USA/ elected)
Greg Minnaar (RSA/appointed)

Representing BMX:
Vilma Rimsaite (LTU/appointed)
Roger Rinderknecht (SUI/appointed)

Representing Cyclo-cross:
Sven Nys (BEL/appointed)

Representing Paracycling:
Jiri Jezek (CZE/ elected)
Lukas Weber (SUI/appointed)

Finally, the UCI Management Committee has named two new Commission Presidents: Mr  Brian Cookson (GBR), who was until now President of the UCI Cyclo-cross Commission, has been elected to preside the UCI Road Commission. Mr  Marian Stetina (CZE) replaces him as UCI Cyclo-cross Commission President.


Courtesy UCI


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP
CC Advertise April 14

Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login