Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-1 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC1 Sept 13

Daily News


December 13/11 10:13 am - USA Cycling Announces Domestic Teams for 2012 with UCI Status - Less Canadians

Posted by Editoress on 12/13/11

USA Cycling announced yesterday the 12 teams registered as UCI Continental Teams in the United States, as well as the two U.S.-based squads registered as UCI Women’s Teams for the 2012 racing season. The number of Canadians on these teams has dropped substantially, as the U.S. institutes rules to increase American content, such as the 50% under 28 years of age and 60% American riders regulations for men's Continental teams. Canadians have also been affected by the drop in the number of teams and amalgamation of teams due to the economy and lack of sponsors.

The 12 Continental Teams are in addition to the two U.S.-based UCI ProTeams (BMC Racing, and Garmin-Cervelo) and the two Professional Continental Teams (Team Type 1-Sanof and UnitedHealthCare Pro Cycling Team) previously announced by the UCI. This means that all together, the United States houses 16 professional men’s cycling teams recognized by the UCI.

U.S.-based UCI Continental Teams for 2012 include: Bissell Cycling, BMC Hincapie Sportswear Development Team, Bontrager Livestrong Team, Chipotle Development Team, Competitive Cyclist Racing Team, Jamis/Sutter Home, Jelly Belly Cycling Team, Kenda/5-Hour Energy Cycling Team, Team Exergy, Team Mountain Khakis/Smartstop, Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies, and Wonderful Pistachios Cycling

In addition, two U.S.-based women’s squads are registered with the UCI in 2012: Exergy TWENTY 12 and Team TIBCO/To the Top.

Each team’s roster is as follows - Canadians highlighted:

Women’s UCI-Sanctioned Teams
Exergy TWENTY 12
Kaitlin Antonneau (USA)
Kristin Armstrong (USA)
Rhae Christie-Shaw (Can)
Theresa Cliff-Ryan (USA)
Jacquelyn Crowell (USA)
Andrea Dvorak (USA)
Kristin McGrath (USA)
Greta Neimanas (USA)
Coryn Rivera (USA)
Alison Tetrick (USA)
Taylor Wiles (USA)
Team TIBCO/To the Top
Megan Guarnier (USA)
Lauren Hall (USA)
Lauren Hecht (USA)
Joanne Kiesanowski (NZl)
Amanda Miller (USA)
Lindsay Myers (USA)
Jennifer Purcell (USA)
Kendall Ryan (USA)
Samantha Schneider (USA)
Jennifer Wheeler (USA)
Tara Whitten (Can)
Erinne Willock (Can)
Men's UCI-Sanctioned Teams
Bissell Cycling
Andy Baker (USA)
Chris Baldwin (USA)
Chris Barton (USA)
Patrick Bevin (NZl)
Andrew Dahleheim (USA)
Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (USA)
Carter Jones (USA)
Chase Pinkham (USA)
Kevin Pipp (USA)
Jeremy Vennell (NZl)
Eric Young (USA)
BMC Hincapie Sportswear Development Team
Isaac Enderline (USA)
Tyler Karnes (USA)
Parker Kyzer (USA)
Ty Magner (USA)
Alder Philip Martez (USA)
Andrew Joseph Meyer (USA)
Tanner Putt (USA)
Mike Stone (USA)
Edison Blair Turner (USA)
Alesksa Velickovic (Srb)
Jovan Zekaica (Srb)
Bontrager Livestrong Team
Josh Atkins (NZl)
Ian Boswell (USA)
Nathan Brown (USA)
Lawson Craddock (USA)
Jasper de Buyst (Bel)
Joe Dombrowski (USA)
Ryan Eastman (USA)
Gavin Mannion (USA)
Dale Parker (USA)
Jasper Stuyven (Bel)
Chipotle Development Team
Joshua Berry (USA)
Robert Bush (USA)
Robin Carpenter (USA)
Andzs Flaksis (Lat)
Evan Hyde (USA)
Andrei Krasilikau (Blr)
Adam Leibovitz (USA)
Michael Midlarsky (USA)
Lachlan Morton (Aus)
Anders Newbury (USA)
Alister Ratcliff (USA)
Thomas Scully (NZl)
Robert Squire (USA)
Daniel Summerhill (USA)
Steele Van Hoff (Aus)
Competitive Cyclist Racing Team
Chad Beyer (USA)
Ian Burnett (USA)
Cesar Grajales (Col)
Phil Grenfell AUS)
Cole House (USA)
Max Jenkins (USA)
Nate King (USA)
Francisco Mancebo (Esp)
Tommy Nankervis (Aus)
Mike Olheiser (USA)
Thomas Rabou (Ned)
Taylor Sheldon (USA)
David Williams (USA)
Jamis/Sutter Home
Fernando Antogna (Arg)
Alejandro Borrajo (Arg)
Anibal Borrajo (Arg)
James Driscoll (USA)
Bradley Gehrig (USA)
Carson Miller (USA)
Philip Mooney (USA)
Luis Romero Amaran (Cub)
Eric Schildge (USA)
John Simes (USA)
Petrus Van Dijk (Ned)
Kyle Wamsley (USA)
Tyler Wren (USA)
Jelly Belly Cycling Team
Menso De Young (USA)
Luis Enrique Davila (Mex)
Alex Hagman (USA)
Nic Hamilton (Can)
Sergio Hernandez (USA)
Charles Huff (USA)
Sean Mazich (USA)
Semerson Oronte (USA)
Jeremy Powers (USA)
Scott Stewart (USA)
Ricardo Van Der Velde (Ned)
Kenda/5-Hour Energy Cycling Team
Gregg Brandt (USA)
Luca Damiani (ITA)
Nathanial English (USA)
Philip Caimon (USA)
Chad Harltey (USA)
Stephen Housely (USA)
Isaac Howe (USA)
Andrew Jacques-Maynes (USA)
Roman Kilun (USA)
Max Korus (USA)
Patrick Lemieux (USA)
Paul Mach (USA)
Shawn Milne (USA)
Jonathan Murphy (USA)
James Stemper (USA)
Robert Sweeting (USA)
Curtis Winsor (USA)
Team Exergy
Carlos Alzate Escobar (Col)
Andre Alzate Escobar (Col)
Kai Applequist (USA)
Benjamin Chaddock (Can)
Matt Cooke (USA)
Zachary Davies (USA)
Andrew Diaz Corales (Col)
Sam Johnson (USA)
Quinn Keogh (USA)
Logan Loader (USA)
Conor Mullervy (USA)
Kevin Mullervy (USA)
Fred Rodriguez (USA)
Morgan Schmitt (USA)
Serghei Tvetcov (MDA)
Team Mountain Khakis/Smartstop
Neil Bezdek (USA)
Thomas Brown (USA)
Jon Hamblen (USA)
Luke Keough (USA)
Shane Kline (USA)
Travis Livermon (USA)
Chris Monteleone (USA)
Clay Murfet (Aus)
Jerome Townsend (USA)
Benjamin Zawacki (USA)
Team Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies
Jesse Anthony (USA)
Andrew Bajadali (USA)
Colton Barrett (USA)
Alexander Candelario (USA)
Marsh Cooper (Can)
Michael Creed (USA)
Michael Friedman (USA)
Chad Haga (USA)
Kenneth Hanson (USA)
Cheyne Hoag (USA)
Ian Moir (USA)
Reid Mumford (USA)
Cody O’Reilly (USA)
Christopher Parrish (USA)
Sebastian Salas (Can)
Michael Sherer (USA)
Thomas Soladay (USA)
Thomas Zirbel (USA)
Scott Zwizanski (USA)
Wonderful Pistachios Cycling
Eric Bennett (USA)
Taylor Bertrand Barrett (USA)
Yosvany Falcon (USA)
Sterline Magnell (USA)
Victor Riquelme (USA)
Collin Samaan (USA)
Iggy Silva (USA)
Erik Slack (USA)
Brett Tack (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login