Canadian Cyclist


February 15/12 8:14 am - Tour of Oman: Stage 1

Posted by Editoress on 02/15/12

Stage 1 of the Tour of Oman ended in a bunch sprint. Germany’s André Greipel, a newcomer to the event, flew to victory beating Galimzyanov and Farrar to the line. Another big name of cycling is added to the list of prestigious stage winners in Oman. Greipel also captured the Red Jersey of teh overall leader.

Beautiful weather conditions welcomed the 127 riders of the 3rd edition of the Tour of Oman. The peloton gathered by the Al Alam Palace for the start of the first of six stages: a 156km ride all the way to Wadi Al Huwqayn on a fairly flat course.

Shortly after the first kilometre of riding, four men managed to break away from the pack: Ignatyev (KAT), Wyss (BMC), Jiao (CSS) and Lemair (BGT). The gap rapidly grew from 45" at km 1.5 to a maximum 5’ after 19kms. That was when the sprinters’ teams (SKY, Garmin and Lotto-Belisol) decided to take the chase in hand and the pace went up (45.3kms covered during the first hour). Indeed the gap started dropping down. At the first bonus sprint at Barka (km 74.5), won by Lemair ahead of Wyss and Ignatyev, the gap had dropped down to 3’15.

The escapees managed to hang on together in the lead until the second intermediate sprint (km 128.5) claimed by Ignatyev ahead of Lemair and Wyss, while the pack remained 1’ adrift.. Just after that sprint, Wyss, Lemair and Jiao stopped their efforts and Ignatyev continued on his own. With 20kms to go, the Russian could still enjoy a 1’ advantage. Ignatyev was finally caught by the chasing pack with just under five kilometre to go.

Time had come for a bunched sprint. On the slightly uphill final straight, André Greipel (LT) prooved to be the fastest capturing this first stage of the Tour of Oman. The German beat Galimzyanov (KAT) and Farrar (GRM) and therefore captures the first overall leader’s red jersey of the race. The white jersey for the best young rider goes to Gamimzyanov while Lemair captures the green-red-white fighting spirit jersey.

Report, Tour of Oman


Stage 1 (February 14th): Al Alam Royal Palace to Wadi Al Hoqay, 159km
1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto-Belisol Team 3:26:09
2 Denis Galimzyanov (Rus) Katusha Team
3 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin - Barracuda
4 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Project 1T4I
5 Peter Sagan (Svk) Liquigas-Cannondale
6 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
7 Daniel Oss (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
8 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
9 Tony Gallopin (Fra) RadioShack-Nissan
10 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team
11 Graeme Brown (Aus) Rabobank Cycling Team
12 Christopher Sutton (Aus) Sky Procycling
13 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
14 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Champion System all s.t.
15 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:03
16 Matthias Friedemann (Ger) Champion System
17 Yaroslav Popovych (Ukr) RadioShack-Nissan
18 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team
19 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) RadioShack-Nissan
20 Vladimir Gusev (Rus) Katusha Team
21 Thomas Bonnin (Fra) Project 1T4I
22 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) RadioShack-Nissan
23 Koen De Kort (Ned) Project 1T4I
24 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
25 Johan Vansummeren (Bel) Garmin - Barracuda
26 Miyataka Shimizu (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
27 Arnold Jeannesson (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
28 Kevin Hulsmans (Bel) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
29 Hayato Yoshida (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
30 Matthieu Ladagnous (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
31 Joost Posthuma (Ned) RadioShack-Nissan
32 Kazuo Inoue (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
33 Maarten Tjallingii (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
34 Tom Jelte Slagter (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
35 Alessandro Ballan (Ita) BMC Racing Team
36 Andy Schleck (Lux) RadioShack-Nissan
37 Gregory Henderson (NZl) Lotto-Belisol Team
38 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
39 David McCann (Irl) RTS Racing Team
40 Robert Hunter (RSA) Garmin - Barracuda
41 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Esp) Katusha Team
42 Gregory Rast (Sui) RadioShack-Nissan
43 Thomas Lebas (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor
44 David Boucher (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
45 Murilo Antoniobil Fischer (Bra) Garmin - Barracuda
46 Vladimir Isaichev (Rus) Katusha Team
47 Klaas Sys (Bel) Bridgestone Anchor
48 Gabriel Rasch (Nor) FDJ-Big Mat
49 Ramon Sinkeldam (Ned) Project 1T4I
50 Martin Kohler (Sui) BMC Racing Team
51 Dennis van Winden (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
52 Danilo Wyss (Sui) BMC Racing Team
53 Christopher Butler (USA) Champion System
54 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
55 Peter Velits (Svk) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
56 Robert Wagner (Ger) RadioShack-Nissan
57 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Sky Procycling
58 Christian Vande Velde (USA) Garmin - Barracuda
59 Sandy Casar (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
60 David Millar (GBr) Garmin - Barracuda
61 Mauro Da Dalto (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
62 Chin-Lung Huang (Tpe) RTS Racing Team
63 Mart Ojavee (Est) Champion System
64 Pier Paolo De Negri (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
65 Marco Pinotti (Ita) BMC Racing Team
66 Dominique Rollin (Can) FDJ-Big Mat
67 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Sky Procycling
68 Maarten Wynants (Bel) Rabobank Cycling Team
69 Adam Blythe (GBr) BMC Racing Team
70 Wei Kei Chang (Tpe) RTS Racing Team
71 Aliaksandr Kuchynski (Blr) Katusha Team
72 Jai Crawford (Aus) RTS Racing Team
73 Gang Xu (Chn) Champion System
74 Guillaume van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
75 Roy Curvers (Ned) Project 1T4I
76 Lee Rodgers (GBr) RTS Racing Team
77 Luca Ascani (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
78 Alexandre Lemair (Fra) Bridgestone Anchor
79 William Bonnet (Fra) FDJ-Big Mat
80 Frederik Willems (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Team
81 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Liquigas-Cannondale
82 Christian Benenati (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
83 Lars Bak (Den) Lotto-Belisol Team
84 Michael Schär (Sui) BMC Racing Team
85 Mikhail Ignatyev (Rus) Katusha Team
86 Frantisek Rabon (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
87 Klaas Lodewijck (Bel) BMC Racing Team
88 Alex Coutts (GBr) RTS Racing Team
89 Bert Grabsch (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
90 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha Team
91 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Katusha Team
92 Ryota Nishizono (Jpn) Bridgestone Anchor
93 Albert Timmer (Ned) Project 1T4I
94 Alessandro Vanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale
95 Thomas Bertolini (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
96 Thomas Leezer (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team
97 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) Project 1T4I
98 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
99 Allan Davis (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team
100 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Garmin - Barracuda
101 Wang Chung Huang (Tpe) RTS Racing Team
102 Davide Appollonio (Ita) Sky Procycling
103 Alex Rasmussen (Den) Garmin - Barracuda
104 Luke Rowe (GBr) Sky Procycling
105 Baden Cooke (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team
106 Svein Tuft (Can) GreenEdge Cycling Team
107 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) GreenEdge Cycling Team
108 Clinton Avery (NZl) Champion System
109 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) GreenEdge Cycling Team
110 Diego Caccia (Ita) Farnese Vini-Selle Italia
111 Jérémy Hunt (GBr) Sky Procycling
112 Ian Stannard (GBr) Sky Procycling
113 Alan Marangoni (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale all s.t.
114 Pengda Jiao (Chn) Champion System 0:03
115 Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto-Belisol Team 0:27
116 Fabio Sabatini (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 0:29
117 Bernhard Eisel (Aut) Sky Procycling 0:32
118 Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto-Belisol Team 0:40
119 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Team s.t.
120 Stijn Vandenbergh (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:46
121 Jens Mouris (Ned) GreenEdge Cycling Team 0:56
122 Dominic Klemme (Ger) Project 1T4I 1:31
123 Jonas van Genechten (Bel) Lotto-Belisol Team 2:16
124 William Clarke (Aus) Champion System s.t.
125 Sergey Kudentsov (Rus) RTS Racing Team 9:37
126 Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 10:37
127 Sebastian Langeveld (Ned) GreenEdge Cycling Team s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.