Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-2 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Sale Sale Sale Oct24
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC2 Sept 13

Daily News


December 21/12 8:57 am - Smartstop p/b Mountain Khakis Announces 2013 Roster

Posted by Editoress on 12/21/12

We previously announced that Canadian Criterium champion Ben Chaddock is joining Team Smartstop powered by Mountain Khakis for 2013 (see Daily News - Ben Chaddock Signs...). Here is the full team announcement:

Team Smartstop presented by Mountain Khakis is entering 2013 with its strongest ever roster of riders, hot on the heels of a standout 2012 season that saw the Winston-Salem, NC based team take both the individual and team overall honors in the USA Crits series, and finish a close runner-up in the NCC series to the top ranked powerhouse United Healthcare team. The team is poised to re-assert its presence on the USA Crits and National Criterium (NCC) calendars, while stepping up its presence in NRC stage races and one-day UCI events.

In support of these goals, Team Smartstop has bolstered its roster with an impressive list of new hires, including 2-time Olympian, Bobby Lea, current Canadian national criterium champion, Ben Chaddock, sprint ace Frank Travieso, 2ND year pro, Curtis Winsor, and two alumni of the Mountain Khakis team legacy, Isaac Howe, who returns to the team after a 2 year stint with Kenda Pro Cycling, and Jackie Simes, coming back from Jamis.

In keeping with the team’s long-standing philosophy of pairing younger or lesser known riders with proven veterans, and giving a shot to talented dark horses other teams haven’t noticed ye, Team Smartstop has signed neo-pro Chris Uberti, who has shown incredible strength and tactical savvy while racing as an amateur around the NRC and USA crits circuit, and unknown (to Americans) Daniel Patten.

Patten has spent the last three seasons racing and winning on the cutthroat Kermesse scene in Belgium, and has chosen to pass on various professional offers, both in his native UK and on The Continent, in favor of getting a feel for the American racing scene. On the experienced side, team stalwarts Adam Myerson and Jon Hamblen will share their considerable experience and tactical savvy with the younger riders, and serve as road captains. Other returning riders include Travis Livermon, Shane Kline, Clay Murfet, and Chris Monteleone.

Smartstop Self Storage CEO, Michael Schwartz, expressed his enthusiasm for his company’s step up to title sponsorship for 2013: “SmartStop Self Storage prides itself on being a responsible and ethical corporate steward. We are proud to be the new title sponsor for Team SmartStop p/b Mountain Khakis, as we feel the team represents our philanthropic desire to keep our communities healthy and promote an active lifestyle. Cycling also demonstrates teamwork, which incorporates skill and camaraderie similar to the business principles that are practiced everyday by our own corporate team. We are also excited about the live streaming coverage of the 2013 USA Crits Series that we will be featuring on our website, and we’re sure this will be a great way to expose potential new enthusiasts to cycling.”

2013 Roster

Thomas Brown - 4th year with the team. Winner 2011 Labor Day Omnium Criterium (NRC).

Ben Chaddock - Current Canadian National Criterium Champion. Formerly Team Exergy.

Jon Hamblen - 6th year with the team. Professional since 1998.

Isaac Howe - Winner 2012 USA Crits Old Pueblo Gran Prix, winner 2012 Sunny King Criterium (NCC)

Shane Kline - 2nd year with the team, winner 2012 Ladera Ranch Grand Prix.

Travis Livermon - 2nd place 2012 Chris Thater Memorial Crit (NCC). 3rd season with the team.

Bobby Lea - 2-time Olympian.

Chris Monteleone - 2nd year with the team.

Clay Murfet - 2nd year with the team. Winner 2011 USA Crits Giro D’Grafton.

Adam Myerson - 6th year with the team, professional since 2001.

Daniel Patten - Formerly of Soenens - Construktglas Cycling Team (Belgium), winner 2012 Wambeek-Ternat (Belgium).

Jackie Simes - Formerly Jamis Pro Cycling, winner 2012 Glencoe Grand Prix (NCC).

Frank Travieso - 2012 Winner Beaufort Memorial Classic.

Chris Uberti - 4th Place 2012 Stillwater Criterium, Nature Valley Grand Prix (NRC).

Curtis Winsor - Formerly of Kenda Pro Cycling.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login