Canadian Cyclist


March 7/13 21:11 pm - Tirreno - Adriatico: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 03/7/13

Before a brilliant assembly of sprinters, Matt Goss (Orica - GreenEdge) powered through the rain to win Stage 2 of the Tirreno-Adriatico today, ahead of the Italian Manuel Belletti (AG2R-La Mondiale) and Germany’s Gerald Ciolek (MTN-Qhubeka).



Photo: LaPresse

Mark Cavendish (Omega Pharma - Quick-Step), 5th today, retains race lead overall. After the race, he spoke to the press:
The sprint: “I was 30 riders back in the final kilometer and I had a lot of work to do. With 200m to go the peloton went right and I had to slam the brakes on, and that was when I lost.”
The leadout: “We worked as a team but we weren’t in a good position in the final kilometre. I’m disappointed with my lead out. I know they’re better than that. We’ll have words tonight.”
Stage winner Matt Goss also spoke to the press:
The sprint: “In the sprint, Sagan came from behind. He’d come from a long way back but I knew he’d go anyway, and I kind of timed my sprint on his.” [Note: Sagan finished 9th]
A good start to the season: “This is my first road race in Europe this season and I’ve won, so I’m looking forward to the rest of the season now. I know if I’m in good shape I can do a good Milan-Sanremo next week. It’s definitely a goal for me.”
Beating Cavendish and Greipel: “It’s always nice to win. It doesn’t really matter who’s second or third. Cavendish [5th] and Greipel [7th] are two guys I’ve sprinted against, and been in the same team as. Last year I couldn’t get the upper hand. Hopefully I can turn a lot of last year’s 2nd places into wins.” [Note: Goss finished 2nd eight times in 2012).

RCS Sport press release


Results from Stage 2 in Italy

Stage 2: San Vincenzo to Indicatore, 232km
1 Matthew Harley Goss (Aus) Orica GreenEDGE 5:48:41
2 Manuel Belletti (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
3 Gerald Ciolek (Ger) MTN-Qhubeka
4 Roberto Ferrari (Ita) Lampre-Merida
5 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
6 Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ
7 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Belisol
8 Kristian Sbaragli (Ita) MTN-Qhubeka
9 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale Pro Cycling
10 Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
135 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE all s.t.
1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 6:08:02
2 Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma-Quick Step at 0:02
3 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:03
4 Tony Martin (Ger) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
5 Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
6 Giovanni Visconti (Ita) Movistar Team 0:14
7 Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team
8 Juan Jose Cobo Acebo (Esp) Movistar Team
9 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Esp) Movistar Team
10 Eros Capecchi (Ita) Movistar Team all s.t.
32 Svein Tuft (Can) Orica GreenEDGE 0:27


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.