Canadian Cyclist
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Pre Bike Show Sale Oct12
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Roubaix CC1 Sept 13

Daily News


September 27/13 12:13 pm - Brian Cookson elected UCI President

Posted by Editoress on 09/27/13

The President of British Cycling Brian Cookson has been elected UCI President at the cycling governing body’s annual Congress taking place alongside the Road World Championships in Florence, Italy.

Mr Cookson won with 24 votes out of a total of 42 voting delegates, versus 18 for Pat McQuaid, the outgoing UCI President.

Speaking after the result had been announced, Mr Cookson said: “I would like to thank-you for all of the trust that you have placed in me today. The real work starts now. I would call on the global cycling community to unite.”

Mr Cookson also paid tribute to Mr McQuaid, saying: “I would like to thank Pat sincerely for the contribution he has made both to cycling and to the UCI in his long career.”

Pat McQuaid, speaking after the vote, said: “I would like to extend my congratulations to Brian on his success in being elected UCI President. Being elected UCI President was one of the proudest moments in my life and I know that it is also a proud occasion for Brian, his family and his supporters.

“It has been a huge privilege to serve the sport that I love as UCI President for eight years and I enjoyed every day that I spent working with all of our federations to improve and develop cycling worldwide.

“Brian has set out what he intends to achieve over the next four years and I would encourage all cycling federations to support his efforts to work for the good of the sport.”

The Congress also elected members of the UCI Management Committee:
Belmahi Mohamed (MAR)
Plant Mike (USA)
Di Rocco Renato (ITA)
Lopes Artur (POR)
Makarov Igor (RUS)
Müftüoglu Emin (TUR)
Pedersen Peder (DEN)
Stetina Marian (CZE)
Van Damme Tom (BEL)

The five Continental Confederation Presidents:
Lappartient David (Europe)
Gaudrey Tracy (Oceania)
Cho Hee Wook (Asia)
Azzam Mohamed Wagih (Africa)
Pelaez Jose Manuel (America)

The Congress ended with the presentation of the UCI Merit Awards:
Sheikh Faisal Bin Humaid Al-Qassimi,
Sir Gerrit Does,
Mr Tadashi Inoue,
Mr George Esser

UCI Communications Services


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login