Canadian Cyclist ARG Tufo Flexus 24/7 Oct 27
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB End of Summer Sale August 21
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
The 11 Email - October 6

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

ARG Zydeco CC Feb 4

Daily News


March 26/14 12:40 pm - Dwars door Vlaanderen (Tour of Flanders) results

Posted by Editoress on 03/26/14

Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) took an impressive win at today's Dwars door Vlaanderen . With less than 30 kilometres to go, he attacked and left the peloton behind. Tyler Farrar (Garmin-Sharp) won the group sprint over Borut Bozic (Astana) .

The riders had a tailwind at the start and set a furious pace. The first hour  average speed was 51 kmph. Eventually there was a breakaway of 23 riders: Longo, Sutton, Cummings, Millar, Alafaci, Wild, Maes, Moeravjov, Smukulis, McCarthy, Bagdonas, Van Emden, Boeckmans, Saramotins, Vanlandschoot, Veuchelen, Vanbilsen, Van Asbroeck, Zingle, Songezo, Jarc, Scorn and Murphy.. Millar and Moeravjov spent a lot of time at the  front setting the pace .

Orica -GreenEDGE and Movistar had no riders in the leading group and kept the gap in control, the maximum would reach 3 minutes .

With 38 km to go the lead bunch was down to 6 and the peloton was bearing down and the gap hovered ~ 30 sec. .

Cannondale, BMC, and Omega Pharma-Quick Step lead by Tom Boonen worked hard and the breakaway was close to being caught on Paterberg with 30 kilometres to go when  Niki Terpstra, the winner in 2012, jumped away from the chase group and right past the remainder of the break.

Valverde , Devolder , Sorensen and Steegmans took up the chase of Terpstra but the peloton would sweep them up with less than 2 km to go. Terpstra took the win in Waregem by 17 seconds.


Brief results from today's Dwars door Vlaanderen


Roeselare to Waregem, 200.8 km
1 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step     4:31:02
2 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin-Sharp                              0:17
3 Borut Bozic (Slo) Astana
4 Jempy Drucker (Lux) Wanty-Groupe Gobert
5 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) IAM Cycling
6 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Belisol
7 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
8 Oscar Gatto (Ita) Cannondale
9 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica-GreenEDGE
10 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) AG2R La Mondiale              all s.t.

93 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R la Mondiale                   8:15

DNF Svein Tuft (Can) Orica-GreenEDGE


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
D'Ornellas Black Friday Nov 24
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
TaG Nov 24
CC Advertise April 14


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2015 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login