Canadian Cyclist


October 4/14 19:42 pm - BMX Nationals: Nyhaug & Walsh Defend Titles

Posted by Editoress on 10/4/14

Tory Nyhaug of Coquitlam, BC (Cycling BC) won his eighth Canadian BMX title since turning Elite, while Amelia Walsh of Ayr, ON (Yess BMX TroyLee Designs) successfully defended her elite women's Canadian title. Both BMXers completed a perfect weekend after winning the time trial titles Friday on the brand new 400-metre BMX track in Drummondville.

Nyhaug rode a clean race in the main event, staying outside of trouble from the start to finish. With the victory, the international BMX star now shows a perfect record of eight Canadian titles in as many races, since joining the elite rank four years ago.

"The level of BMX is always rising in Canada. With Ken [Cools, Head Coach of Canadian BMX team] coming in the last couple of years, the guys have improved a lot. The state of BMX is fantastic, and to see the other guys having success at the World Cup level only motivates them and myself even more. It creates a good atmosphere amongst the team. It's turning into a real high performance culture, which is great for the future of BMX in this country," said Nyhaug, who finished a remarkable second at the 2014 UCI BMX World Championships, allowing him to run the W2 plate.

James Palmer of North Vancouver, BC (Cycling BC) crossed the line in second place, while James Brown of Airdrie, AB (Airdrie BMX) took third.

Both Nyhaug and Palmer won all three qualifying motos to qualify for the finals, setting the stage for a showdown between the two riders. Ultimately, Nyhaug was the fastest of the two, winning all of his races on the day.

On Friday, Nyhaug won the time trial races, winning the race on the long track by a mere 0.3 second over Palmer. Brandon Reid of Victoria, BC (Cycling BC) took third place of the time trial.

In the women's final, Walsh beat  Drew Mechielsen (Cycling BC) to take the title, with Eliane Mcadam (Calgary BMX) third.

Walsh won the women's time trial, with Calgary's Eliane McAdam (Calgary BMX) finishing second and Chelsea Kingston (Medicine Hat BMX) third.


Time Trial results


Elite/Jr Women
1 Amelia Walsh (Yess BMX Troylee Des)
2 Drew Mechielsen* (Cycling BC)
3 Eliane Mcadam (Calgary BMX)
4 Chelsea Kingston (Medicine Hat BMX)
5 Michelle Berti (Indépendant-BMX)
6 Erin Kinnie * (Cycling BC)
Elite Men
1 Tory Nyhaug (Cycling BC)
2 James Palmer (Cycling BC)
3 James Brown (Airdrie BMX)
4 Brandon Reid (Cycling BC)
5 Corey Walsh (Abbotsford BMX)
6 Calvin Mcrae (St.Albert BMX)
7 Justin Tuchscherer (Calgary BMX)
Mischa Partridge (Cycling BC)
Hedi Bassoussi (Club QSA)
Nicolas Londono (bromont)
Frédéric Lévesque (Indépendant)
Junior Men
1 Tanner Vandenhoven (Alberta Bicycle)
2 Christopher White (BMX La Tuque)
3 Gaby Malenfant (Indépendant-BMX)
4 Alexandre Roy (BMX Pointe du Lac)
5 Jared Ennis (Cycling BC)
6 Hayden Mechielsen (Cycling BC)
Braden Wood (Kbmx)
Alex Wright (Team Ontario)
Kiran Kawa (Alberta Bicycle)/td>

Full detailed results


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.