Canadian Cyclist


March 14/17 14:22 pm - Tirreno-Adriatico: Stage 7 and Final GC

Posted by Editoress on 03/14/17

Nairo Quintana claimed his second overall victory at Tirreno-Adriatico with a final advantage of 25 seconds over Rohan Dennis. The Australian national champion won the final stage, an individual time trial in San Benedetto del Tronto, by three seconds over Dutch specialist Jos van Emden and Dennis’ compatriot Michael Hepburn.

The only Canadian Hugo Houle (AG2R La Mondiale) finished 44th on the final stage at 40 seconds back and 57th overall at 30:25 back.

Overall winner Nairo Quintana said in the press conference: “It was more difficult to win Tirreno-Adriatico two years ago when I had more rivals who were more experienced than I was. Now I’m stronger and smarter, and I had a better team this time around. I won more with my head than with my legs. I expected to finish the week of racing in a better shape than I had at the start and that’s the case. I can pursue my preparation for my goals – the Giro d’Italia and the Tour de France – as I’m happy with my condition. I also have another Tirreno-Adriatico victory under my belt. This is a race I like a lot. It’s impossible to establish a hierarchy of the favourites for the Giro now. Some riders have been in the shadows this week but they’ll be shining in May. The level will be very high so I’ll have to be at 100% for winning.”

Stage winner Rohan Dennis: “This is an important victory for me. I was in the bus when Jos van Emden set the best time. I knew from the Eneco Tour last year that it would be a time of reference. He’s very competitive. He’s always a threat. I know from my performance at the Terminillo that I need to lose two or three kilos to close that minute gap I miss compared to the climbers. I’m probably not going to do that for the coming Giro d’Italia. It’s safer to take a slower step. I give myself four years for winning a Grand Tour.”



Stage 7: San Benedetto del Tronto ITT, 10km Time Gap
1 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team 0:11:18.26 0:00
2 Jos Van Emden (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:11:21.17 0:03
3 Michael Hepburn (Aus) Orica-Scott 0:11:21.31 0:03
4 Stephen Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data 0:11:26.50 0:08
5 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:11:29.43 0:11
6 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Bora-Hansgrohe 0:11:33.34 0:15
7 Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data 0:11:33.87 0:16
8 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:11:34.45 0:16
9 Ryan Mullen (Irl) Cannondale-Drapac 0:11:35.40 0:17
10 Alex Dowsett (GBr) Movistar Team 0:11:35.86 0:18
11 Matthias Brändle (Aut) Trek-Segafredo 0:11:39.13 0:21
12 Tobias Ludvigsson (Swe) FDJ 0:11:39.51 0:21
13 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 0:11:41.39 0:23
14 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 0:11:42.75 0:24
15 Jasha Sütterlin (Ger) Movistar Team 0:11:44.16 0:26
16 Gediminas Bagdonas (Ltu) AG2R La Mondiale 0:11:45.24 0:27
17 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:11:45.29 0:27
18 Jonathan Castroviejo (Esp) Movistar Team 0:11:45.39 0:27
19 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team 0:11:46.89 0:29
20 Lars Boom (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:11:47.55 0:29
44 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale 0:11:58.41 0:40
Final GC
1 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 25:56:27
2 Rohan Dennis (Aus) BMC Racing Team at 0:25
3 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:36
4 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:45
5 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:58
6 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 1:01
7 Jonathan Castroviejo (Esp) Movistar Team 1:18
8 Rigoberto Uran (Col) Cannondale-Drapac 1:36
9 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 1:38
10 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 1:59
11 Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin 2:04
12 Damiano Caruso (Ita) BMC Racing Team 2:10
13 Daniel Moreno (Esp) Movistar Team 2:43
14 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 2:53
15 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team 3:07
16 Egan Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli 3:20
17 Sébastien Reichenbach (Sui) FDJ 3:23
18 Rui Costa (Por) UAE Team Emirates 3:28
19 Robert Gesink (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 3:31
20 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 3:35
57 Hugo Houle (Can) AG2R La Mondiale 30:25


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.