Canadian Cyclist


May 8/01 11:43 am - BMX News, Walters, Romandie, Dunkirk

Posted by Editor on 05/8/01

BMX News
Courtesy Kevin O'Brien

WHO'S GONNA WIN THE CAR? The CBA's RACE FOR THE ROD BMX Pro Series is getting intense. The upcoming GT ICE BREAKER NATIONALS (Airdrie, Alberta) could be a turning point for several riders who desperately need points to stay in the race. Cory Banks, last year's #1 Pro, is out with a broken wrist.

Current Standings:

1 TYSON MCCREA, Yess Products 144 points
2 ZACH SECREST, Diamond Back USA 107
6 GREG CALETTE, Profile 70

For information on the Ice Breaker Nationals - or call (403) 912-2012

Giro d'Abruzzo - Italy

Navigators Report

The Navigators Cycling Team continued it's strong showing in Europe this week as they began the 30th annual Giro d'Abruzzo in Pescara (Central Adriatic Coast). The 6-stage, 6-day event got off to a fast start on the 147Km road stage that began in Pescara on the coastal roadway. For much of the way, the fast pace (average 43Km/Hr) kept the peloton together. However, at the 80Km point a 40-man break moved to a 15-second advantage.

The Navigators team placed Burke Swindlehurst in the move to ensure representation. The biggest force in the break was the French BigMat team which had 3 riders in the move, including their sprinter Jay Sweet. The break gained a 1:20 advantage as they hit the final 5 finishing circuits of 12Km. With 3 laps remaining, a series of attacks broke the group into 2 with 12 riders moving clear. With no representation in the front group and the gap between the break, the chasers and the main field remaining static, the Navigators took matters into their hands and began the chase from the field. With the gap coming down, the Navigators brought back the chasers back and closed in on the leaders to within 40-seconds. Meanwhile, Gianni Faresin and another rider had attacked the chase group and had bridged up to the leaders, now numbering 14. The men in blue continued their effort with the Colpack team inside the final 2 laps. The Navigators, expecting more help from the other large teams that had missed the final split, shied away and the gap climbed to 53-seconds.

In the fan-packed final uphill climb to the finish, it was Roberto Petito (Fassa Bortollo) in first on the line. Navigators' Vassili Davidenko led the remaining riders to the finish but received the honor of placing second in the 2nd group, which placed him in 16th on Overall GC, just :58-seconds in arrears with most of the peloton.

In other Team news, the Belgian contingent had a fairly aggressive day of racing on Sunday in Belgium's GP Stad Valvoorde Road Race. Chris Baldwin with the help of Mark Walters took home the honors in the Climbers Competition (KOM). These efforts cost the 2 riders the energy required to stay with the lead group, and Mark eventually dropped back to the main peloton.

Tour de Romandie - Switzerland

1 Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe 9:00.63
2 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo at 0:00.83
3 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux 0:01.15
4 Felix Garcia Casas (Spa) Festina 0:05.74
5 Andrei Teteriouk (Kaz) Mercury-Viatel 0:09.18
6 David Plaza Romero (Spa) Festina 0:11.30
7 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 0:11.56
8 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone 0:12.28
9 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0:15.35
10 Yoann Le Boulanger (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit Par Telephone 0:15.96

17 William Chann McRae (USA) Mercury-Viatel 0:22.70
23 Pavel Tonkov (Rus) Mercury-Viatel 0:25.13
40 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel 0:32.40
57 Jan Ullrich (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 0:36.77
67 Christopher Wherry (USA) Mercury-Viatel 0:41.79
73 Christopher Horner (USA) Mercury-Viatel 0:42.11
84 Kevin Livingston (USA) Team Deutsche Telekom 0:46.71
87 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe 0:47.84
121 Laurent Chotard (Fra) Mercury-Viatel 1:18.66

Four Days of Dunkirk - France

1 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance 3:46:00
2 Baden Cooke (Aus) Mercury-Viatel
3 Christophe Capelle (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
4 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) CSC-World Online
5 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
6 Paolo Valoti (Ita) Colpack
7 Bert Hiemstra (Ned) BankGiroLoterij
8 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour
9 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis
10 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.