Canadian Cyclist Specialized Spring Into Summer 247-2 May 5
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
TAg Nov 24 (+225)
Flow Coaching December 18
Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Lap the Gats CC1 April 27

Daily News


September 13/01 11:47 am - Hardwood Raid, 'Cross Nationals, Dieppe Track

Posted by Editor on 09/13/01

Hardwood Hills Raid

After many requests the Hardwood Hills MTB RAID has been resurected for Oct. 21, 2001. We have made the event more user friendly this year by allowing both individual riders as well as teams. There will be no critical navigation as the course will be roughly marked, but still expect a physical, technical and somewhat of a route finding challenge. See our website for full details

Glenn Meeuwisse

2001 Cyclo-cross Nationals

Here is an update on the 2001 Cyclocross Nationals being held in Edmonton, Alberta.


The confirmed date for the event is now Nov 4, 2001.

Location: Goldbar Park, Edmonton, Alberta

The course is a 3k loop consisting of pavement, granular trails, and "Heartbreak Hill", a steep 50 metre run-up! Numerous 'cross races have been held on this course and it is very spectator friendly.


Senior Men
Senior Women
Masters Men
Masters Women
Junior Men
Junior Women


Pedalhead Bicycle Works and Pedalhead Road Works

Chris Check - Race Organizer

"We are working hard to ensure that this is the best National Event for Cyclocross ever held in Canada. Our venue is fantastic and it is only 15 minutes from downtown Edmonton. We are optimistic that we will double last year's race attendance of 75 competitors. We are expecting the top Pros in Canada to battle it out for the 2001 National Championship."

Chris Check
Race Organizer
Pedalhead Bicycle Works

Caisse Populaire Dieppe Vélodrome - Dieppe, New Brunswick

Two riders from the province of Nova Scotia took the first podium of the Caisse Populaire Dieppe Vélodrome. The St-Onge brothers (Amhurst, NS) impressed by dominating the individual pursuite of the 1st Caisse populaire Dieppe Wednesdays; the winner holding an average speed of 41,38km/h for the 3 kilometre distance.

A dozen participants (representing the three Maritime provinces) showed up for this first initiation event. Next week, high speed will be in place with the 200 metres sprints as well as the presence of Peter Wedge (Fredericton).

Ce sont les coureurs de la Nouvelle-Écosse qui signent le premier podium du Vélodrome Caisse populaire Dieppe. Les frères Nathan et Justin St-Onge (Amhurst, N.-É.) ont impressionné en dominant la poursuite individuelle des 1ers Mercredis Caisse populaire Dieppe; le gagnant tenant une vitesse moyenne de 41,38km/h sur la distance de 3km.

Une douzaine de participants (représentant les trois provinces maritimes) étaient présents à cette première épreuve d'initiation. La semaine prochaine, la vitesse sera à l'honeur avec les 200 mètres et possiblement la présence de Peter Wedge (Fredericton).

3km Individual Pursuite (Results) - Poursuite individuelle de 3km (Résultats)

1 Nathan St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 4:25
2 André Charlebois Radical Edge 4:28
3 Justin St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 4:34
4 Marc Maturin Darling Island Bike Shop 4:35
5 Pablo Vergara Mike's Bike Shop 4:39
6 Jeff Currie Radical Edge 4:44
7 Shawn Thibodeau Mike's Bike Shop 4:55
8 Philippe Thériault 5:00
9 Aaron Hershoff Miramichi 5:02
10 Denis LeBlanc 5:02
11 Roberto 5:15
12 Jody Smith Team PEI 5:23

1 Nathan St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 4:21 - 41.38km/h
2 Justin St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 4:36
3 Marc Maturin Darling Island Bike Shop 4:38
4 Jeff Currie Radical Edge 4:45
5 Shawn Thibodeau Mike's Bike Shop 4:51
6 Philippe Thériault 4:56
7 Aaron Hershoff Miramichi 4:59
8 Denis LeBlanc 5:05
9 Roberto 5:08
10 Jody Smith Team PEI 5:21
11 André Charlebois Radical Edge DNS
12 Pablo Vergara Mike's Bike Shop DNS

1 Nathan St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 100 points
2 Justin St-Onge Team Nova Scotia 90
3 Marc Maturin Darling Island Bike Shop 80
4 Jeff Currie Radical Edge 75
5 Shawn Thibodeau Mike's Bike Shop 70
6 Philippe Thériault 65
7 Aaron Hershoff Miramichi 60
8 Denis LeBlanc 55
9 Roberto 50
10 Jody Smith Team PEI 45
11 André Charlebois Radical Edge 40
12 Pablo Vergara Mike's Bike Shop 35


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
WoB Save Sale Jan29
DOrnellas Bike Sale April 1
The 11 Silber April 29
Jakroo Main Jan4 - GP
CC Advertise April 14

Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login