Canadian Cyclist


October 23/01 12:09 pm - Forums Update, Karen Strong, BMX, 'Cross

Posted by Editor on 10/23/01

The Forums

If you are a reader of our discussion forums, you will have noticed that we closed the Open Forum one week ago, to give the new Member Forum a chance to establish itself. The number of postings is down, but this is partially a function of the time of year.

The Member Forum was introduced because there was a call for a discussion area that required a sign-in system to post. While the Open Forum has generated interesting and useful debate, it has also been abused by a few individuals, who used it to launch personal attacks on others.

We have decided to maintain the current situation (ie, Member Forum active and Open Forum closed) until the end of the month. At that time we will make a decision on whether to continue in this present setup, or whether we should re-activate the Open Forum and/or close the Member Forum.

We welcome your feedback on the alternatives.

Karen Strong Honoured
Courtesy Denise Kelly

Karen Strong is being inducted into the St. Catherine's Sports Hall of Fame at a ceremony to be held in St. Catherine's on Wed. Oct. 24th. Unfortunately, she will be unable to attend the ceremonies but Denise Kelly (former National Team Member who Karen coached) and Tim Lefebvre (President of the St. Catherines Cycling Club) will be accepting the award on her behalf.

Team Canada (BMX) places third in New Zealand
Courtesy Kevin O'Brien,

Team Canada took on 3 other World Teams at the North Island Titles in New Zealand and placed THIRD. The event was won by a strong Australian Team led by Darren Hawkins while the New Zealand Team finished second just ahead of the Canadians. Team USA ended up fourth.

In the Superclass event which was run in addition to the challenge, Tyson McCrea was the lone Canadian to make the main placing 6th. Jason Wesson, who currently calls New Zealand home, and Cory Banks raced well but didn't make it to the final.

The team heads to the South Island to race the South Island Titles and do some sightseeing.

Brampton Cyclo-cross
Courtesy Peter McCaffery

October 21, 2001

Results: Courtesy of Midweek Club Event Services / Trillium Foundation

EVENT 1: MASTER B/C/D, WOMEN, CADETS - 50 minutes + lap
WEATHER: ideal conditions ˆ cool, cloudy, dry, fast going

1Brad EadesRocky Mtn.Cadet56:40
2Rob CheskeyHamilton C.C.Master B1:00:12
3Gord ClarkeNewmarket EaglesMaster C1:02:57
4Pierre PerrinBrampton C.C.Master BAt 1 lap
5Gord AvannCaledon C.C.Master BAt 1 lap
6Ann TurrinInd WomenAt 1 lap
7Anita LaglerBrampton C.C.WomenAt 1 lap
8Elmore BentonMaster CAt 1 lap
9Jeff EadesRocky Mtn.CadetAt 1 lap
10Doug AvannCalwedon C.C.Master BAt 1 lap
11Donald PerryNewmarket EaglesMaster BAt 1 lap
12Peter NewmanBrampton C.C.Master BAt 2 laps
13Barbara BrszeckiInd.?WomenAt 2 laps
14Ingrid ConeyNewmarket EaglesWomenAt 2 laps
Lisa ShappeInd.WomenDNF
Frank MorrowHamilton C.C.Master CDNF

WEATHER: started out as above. During 3rd. lap started to rain and going became heavy, resulting in slower lap times

1Andrew CroutchInd.Senior1:12:24
2Josh HallTrue NorthSenior1:14:23
3Dave DermontTrue NorthSenior1:15:04
4Jeff WeberGears RacingSenior1:16:20
5Peter MorseGOSenior1:16:54
6Andrew HickmanGearsSenior1:18:11
7Neil DignamZiggy'sSenior1:19:01
8Brian PedersonWaterloo Flying DogsMaster AAt 1 lap
9John KalinowskiChain ReactionMaster AAt 1 lap
10Chris PatonGearsSeniorAt 1 lap
11Rodney MerchantKHSMaster AAt 1 lap
12Lorne AndersonSRInd.At 1 lap
13Dave CoughlinInd.SeniorAt 1 lap
14Ian StarkeInd.Master AAt 1 lap
15Chris KiziakHRTMaster AAt 2 laps
16Greg CavanaghOakville CyclepathMaster AAt 2 laps
17Scott DoelKHSMaster AAt 2 laps
18Daniel RaffiqueCentury Road Club (USA)SeniorAt 2 laps
19Jeff HansenItal PastaSeniorAt 3 laps
20Alex SanaWaterloo Flying DogsMaster AAt 3 laps
Denis MichaelGearsSeniorDNF
Don McPhailFestival C.C.Master ADNF
Hugh BlackTrue NorthMaster ADNF

Course designed by Scott Buschlen and Pierre Perrin.

Bicicross Grand Prix - Alberta
Courtesy Sean Huggins-Chan

October 21, 2001 - Strathcona Tweedsmuir School

Open 'Cross
1Mark WebsterDeadgoat Racing57:18
2Sean BarrVelocity58:49
3Stuart HughesBow Cycle59:02
4Nick JendzjowskyJuventus59:47
5Greg AchtemBow Cycle1:00:01
6Dave EllisPedalhead1:01:15
7Mike LawfordPedalhead1:02:08
8Geoff JohnsGS Campione1:02:16
9Craig GoodBow Cycle1:02:49
10Guri RandhawaPedalhead1:03:05
11Jeff SmithBow Cycle1:03:22
12Chris RubuliakJuventus1:04:19
13Ryan RobinsonBow Cycle1:04:44
14Spencer RoydsBow Cycle1:05:09
15Kevin TearlePedalhead1:09:07
16Jared GervaisBike Shop-1 lap
17Jonathan KeatsPedalhead-1 lap
DNFPhil McDonaldERTC
Women 'Cross
1Marg FedynaTrek / Bow Cycle44:20
2Annie SchroederPedalhead45:50
3Lisa LicisSport Shack47:11
4Martha HandfordTeam IF49:40
5Leslie SchlebachBike Shop49:48
6Jennifer ReimerEurotech50:26
7Annette SvederusUnited Cycle51:14
8Louise PenkmanEurotech52:12
9Lenke HegedusCABC-1 lap
10Kim ChurchillPedalhead-1 lap
Junior 'Cross
1Jay AchesonSport Shack53:17
2Nathan KossRBW Ramblers58:29
3Steve CochraneRidley's58:29
4Damian StachuraSport Shack-1 lap
5Matt PaulyRMNB-2 laps
6Wrily BellCABC-2 laps
Master 'Cross
1Greg AchtemBow Cycle48:22
2Clayton ParadisPedalhead49:12
3Colin WalshEurotech49:27
4Rick ThiessenBicisport49:39
5Troy DelfsEurotech51:56
6Brent HambletonBicisport52:26
7Scott OsinchukPedalhead52:34
8Brian LicisPedalhead53:42
9Andrew HarichEurotech55:11
10Derrill ShuttleworthVelocity55:30
11Ian HoffmanHardcore56:36
12Chris CheckPedalhead57:25
13Sean CarterOGC-RNH58:27
14Peter ChurchillPedalhead-1 lap
DNFDan BierdBicisport
DNSBrian KullmanEurotech


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.