Canadian Cyclist


December 5/01 8:45 am - WOrld Cup Cancellation, Perras Signs, Gears 2002 Road Team, `Cross, Birthday

Posted by Editoress on 12/5/01

Leysin World Cup Cancelled

The Leysin (Switzerland) World Cup triple (XC, DH and 4-cross) scheduled for June 1-2 has been cancelled after a title sponsored pulled out, according to the UCI. The UCI is trying to arrange an alternate venue.

Perras Signs With

Dominique Perras has officially signed with the new IteamNova, headed by former Linda McCartney rider David McKenzie. The team will start as a Divison III squad, but hopes to move up within a year.

Team Roster:

David McKenzie (Australia)
Dominique Perras (Canada)
Jamie Drew (Australia)
Scott Guyton (New Zealand)
Russell Downing (Great Britain)
Alan Iacuone (Australia)
Trent Wilson (Australia)
Brett Lancaster (Australia)
Aaron Olson (USA)

Gears Racing Road Team for the year 2002
Courtesy Gears Racing

Toronto, Canada, December 4, 2001: Mr. Mark S. Bonham, Chairman, and Mr. Kevin Wallace, President, of the Gears Racing Institute ("GRI") are today very pleased to announce the Gears Racing Road Team for the year 2002.

The GRI has adopted a development philosophy for 2002, choosing to support athletes who show great promise and potential by posting solid racing results early in their cycling careers.

Joining the team in 2002 will be Peter Sanowar, National espoir silver medallist (road race). Alongside Peter will be the Ontario provincial espoir road race champion Chris Isaac, National junior bronze medallist (ITT) and world championship participant Warren Tilbrook, and Matthew Kings, the Ontario provincial criterium bronze medallist.

Returning for their second year with the Gears Racing Road Team will be Stirling McArthur, Andrew Hickman, Chris Paton, Paul Hornak, and new recruits Piers Davidge and Jeff Weber.

Michael Moore will be returning to the squad for another year as Team Captain and Manager. Michael had a competitively rewarding year in 2001, becoming Ontario provincial pursuit and points race champion with several top ten finishes throughout the year. "It was a great season for all of the Gears racers, and we are looking forward with great enthusiasm to 2002," stated Michael. "A big addition this year is that we will be testing the abilities of our riders by providing them the opportunity to compete in larger fields at significant races in North America. These will include the Tour of SE Ohio, Fitchburg, Four Bridges of Elgin (espoir), the Canadian Nationals, Univest, and Green Mountain."

Kevin Wallace, president of the GRI, added, "we are pleased with the commitment of our athletes and look forward to the success of this expanded team. The GRI is fully committed to growing our road program in the upcoming seasons to a level where it will complement the abilities of our Mountain Bike Race Team."

The winners of the Canadian Nationals bronze medal in the tandem time trial, and participants in the European Championships, will also be returning to Gears Racing in 2002. Craig DeVeer and Richard Marsolais are looking to build on their experience and success as they build to the Para-Olympic games in 2004.

Gears Racing will continue their support of the Mississauga Bicycle Racing Club ("MBRC") in 2002. The MBRC is a club committed to the pursuit of Road, Track, and Cyclo-cross racing, as well as providing learn to race courses on an annual basis. Further information on the MBRC can be found at

The Gears Racing Institute is a specialist foundation created to identify and develop world-class competitive mountain bikers for Canada. The entry of mountain bike racing to the Olympic Games has created the need for a defined and progressive development program to encourage young Canadians to pursue the sport as a competitive option in maintaining a healthy lifestyle. It is anticipated that the success of the program and its participants will instill a sense of national pride and interest in the sport of mountain biking and cycling in general. For more information, visit .
For further information: Mr. Kevin Wallace, GRI, (905) 271-2400.

2002 Gears Racing Road Team

Rider               Category

Chris Isaac         Espoir
Peter Sanowar       Espoir
Warren Tillbrook    Espoir
Matthew Kings       Elite
Piers Davidge       Elite
Stirling McArthur   Elite
Paul Hornak         Elite
Andrew Hickman      Elite
Jeff Weber          Elite
Michael M. Moore    Elite
Christopher Paton   Master 'A'
Craig DeVeer        Tandem
Richard Marsolais   Tandem

Verge New England Cyclo-cross Series - Wayland Cyclocross, Wayland, Massachusetts, December 1

  Place      Name                Team                                 Time
    1        Tim Johnson         Saturn                            59:40
    2        Todd Wells          Mongoose                             st
    3        Mark  McCormack     Saturn                            59:44
    4        Johannes Huseby     Independent Fabrication/CCB          st
    5        Justin Spinelli     Saeco                                st
    6        Rob Hult                                                 st
    7        Chris Peck          Wheelworks/Cannondale             59:45
    8        Michael T Broderick Jamba Juice                       59:51
    9        Kirk Albers         Jelly Belly                          st
    10       Jeff Leake          NCC/                 1:01:08
    1        Emily Thorne       38:40
    2        Mary McConneloug    Jamba Juice                       39:33
    3        Jodi Groesbeck      Putney/West Hill                  40:14
   4       Shauna Gillies-SmithGearworks/SRP             41:00
    5        Kathryn Roszko Cyclo-cross Team        st
    6        Elizabeth Coleman   Sobe/Headshok                     41:08
    7        yvonne ilton        verizon wireless                  41:16
    8        Katrina Davis       Richard Sachs                     41:50
    9        Kathy Savary        Midstate Cycling Club             41:57
    10       Heather Peck        Wheelworks/Cannondale             43:08

Happy Birthday to....Jacques Landry, National Development Coach


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.