Canadian Cyclist


February 8/02 12:03 pm - Etoile de Bessèges, Mallorca Challenge, Atlanta Velo Team, Auction Update

Posted by Editoress on 02/8/02

Etoile de Bessèges

Stage 2: Marseille to Sainte-Tulle, 143 km

1 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Alessio 3:12:13
2 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago at 0:01
3 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Adecco 0:15
4 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole
5 Raphaël Jeune (Fra) CSC-Tiscali
6 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
7 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast
8 Jurgen Vermeersch (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
9 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
10 Jean-Patrick Nazon (Fra) La Française des Jeux
11 Bekim Christensen (Den) Team Coast
12 Endrio Leoni (Ita) Alessio
13 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
14 Sébastien Joly (Fra) Bonjour
15 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
16 Allan Johansen (Den) Team Fakta
17 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) CSC-Tiscali
18 Stefan Schreck (Ger) Team Telekom
19 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) Alessio
20 Marcus Ljunqvist (Swe) Team Fakta all s.t.


1 Andrea Ferrigato (Ita) Alessio 6:37:06
2 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago at 0:07
3 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Adecco 0:10
4 Sébastien Joly (Fra) Bonjour 0:23
5 Marcus Ljunqvist (Swe) Team Fakta s.t.
6 Jurgen Vermeersch (Bel) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
7 Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team Coast 0:25
8 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole 0:27
9 Bruno Thibout (Fra) Jean Delatour
10 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
11 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
12 Igor Kranjec (Slo) De Nardi-Pasta Montegrappa
13 Wim Vansevenant (Bel) Palmans-Collstrop
14 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali
15 Sébastien Talabardon (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
16 Stefan Schreck (Ger) Team Telekom
17 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) CSC-Tiscali
18 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) La Française des Jeux
19 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) Alessio
20 Nico Eeckhout (Bel) Lotto-Adecco all s.t.

Mallorca Challenge

Stage 5: Magaluf to Palmanova, 155.6 km

1 Erik Dekker (Ned) Rabobank 4:10:51
2 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Rabobank s.t.
3 David Munoz (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 0:01
4 Javier Pascual Rodriguez (Esp)
5 Oscar Pereiro (Esp) Phonak
6 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Esp)
7 Francisco Cabello (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca
8 Jose Luis Rebollo (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada
9 JaviePascual Llorente (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca
10 Gerhard Trampusch (Aut) Mapei-Quick-Step
11 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank
12 Torsten Schmidt (Ger) Gerolsteiner
13 Nicki Sorensen (Den) Team CSC Tiscali
14 Christian Charriere (Sui) Phonak
15 Antonio Colon (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada
16 Juan Antonio Flecha (Esp)
17 Jorge Ferrio (Esp) Jazztel-Costa De Almeria
18 Luis Perez (Esp) Team Coast
19 Claus Michael Moller (Den) Milaneza MSS
20 Dave Bruylandts (Bel) Domo Farm-Frites
21 Cadel Evans (Aus) Mapei-Quick-Step
24 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Team Coast all s.t.

Final GC
1 Francisco Cabello (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 17:28:12
2 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Esp)
3 Jose Luis Rebollo (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada
4 Antonio Colon (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada 0:04
5 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Team Coast 0:05
6 Luis Perez (Esp) Team Coast
7 Ivan Ramiro Parra (Col) ONCE-Eroski 0:18
8 Jorge Ferrio (Esp) Jazztel-Costa De Almeria
9 Javier Pascual Rodriguez (Esp)
10 Matthe Pronk (Ned) Rabobank 7:36
11 Ruben Plaza (Esp) 8:50
12 David Arroyo (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 8:57
13 Pablo Fernandez (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada 9:53
14 Richard Virenque (Fra) Domo Farm-Frites 12:52
15 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Telekom 16:57
16 Karsten Kroon (Ned) Rabobank 17:04
17 Constantino Zaballa (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 17:13
18 Harald Morscher (Aut) Team Nurnberger 17:19
19 Sergio Perez (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada 17:27
20 Mathew Hayman (Aus) Rabobank 20:28

Atlanta Velo
Courtesy Atlanta Velo

The Atlanta Velo Cycling Team has announced its team for 2002 with a roster targeting Southeastern Regional and National Racing Calendar (NRC) road events as well as the U.S. national track racing series - the ATRA Cup/American Velodrome Challenge (AVC).

Last season, the "skeleton" Litespeed/Atlanta Velo women's roster of two racers placed 22nd of 103 teams on the NRC Team Standings with Shannon Hutchison 3rd in the USPRO National Criterium Championships and 4th Overall at the Wendy's International Cycling Classic among other credible results. The team earned 10 wins, 27 podium appearances and 42 top 10 places in various events last season.

Hutchison returns with her 2001 teammate Tracy Sproule and they will be joined by Andrea Ratkovic and Canadians, Mandy Poitras and Gina Grain. Grain will be based in Atlanta for a part of the racing season. Poitras is a Canadian National Champion, who was 8th in the 2001 World Championships Points Race is ranked 4th overall in the UCI Track World Cup Rankings for the Points Race and has consistent results in NRC racing. She won endurance events at the 2001 AVC track events and is expected to represent Canada at the World Championships in Denmark and the Commonwealth Games in Manchester, England later this year.

Grain is an accomplished road sprinter and mountain biker who was 11th at last year's First Union Liberty Classic in Philadelphia. She is a consistent finisher in NRC events - Cascade Classic, Tour De Toona, McLane Pacific and Sea Otter, with good results at the Gran Prix Feminin in Quebec, Canada. She is also hoping to represent her country at the World Championships and Commonwealth Games.

Also competing for Atlanta Velo in selected cycling events is the personable neo-pro triathlete and 2001 U.S. Elite Duathlete of the Year, Andrea Ratkovic who will focus her season on multi-sport events in her quest to qualify for the 2004 Olympic Games triathlon in Athens. Ratkovic and Hutchison are (year 2000) members of the former Professional Women's Cycling Team.

Poitras, Hutchison and Sproule will race in the 2002 AVC/ATRA Track Cup Series being staged at velodromes around the United States with a view to competing at UCI Track World Cup competitions in addition to their NRC racing schedule.

Gina Grain (Can)
Shannon Hutchison (USA)
Mandy Poitras (Can)
Andrea Ratkovic (USA)
Tracy Sproule (USA)

eBay Team Auction Pulled

The team formerly known as will no longer be available by auction on eBay. The owner of the team was initially unaware that the team was being put up for auction and withdrew the offer when he became aware of it.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.