Canadian Cyclist ARG Tufo Flexus 24/7 Oct 27
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB End of Summer Sale August 21
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
The 11 Email - October 6

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

ARG Tufo Flexus Oct 27

Daily News


April 17/02 10:29 am - Flèche Wallonne

Posted by Editoress on 04/17/02

Flèche Wallonne

Fabiana Luperini has won her 3rd Flèche Wallonne. Results for the women's race are still not avaialble. Lyne Bessette and Team Saturn was there.

Men unofficial

1. Mario Aerts (Bel) Lotto - Adecco
2. Unai Etxebarria (Ven) Euskatel - Euskadi
3. Michele Bartoli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
4. Andrea Noè (Ita) Mapei - Quickstep
5. José Azevedo (Por) ONCE - Eroski
6. Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo - Farm Frites

For the first 100 km the pack stayed together. AT 105km a group of 3 (Jens Heppner (Telekom), Walter Beneteau (Bonjour) and Alex Zülle (Team Coast)) went away and managed a gap of 2:40 by the 120km point. Levi Leipheimer (Rabobank) launched a chase at this point and he was quickly joined by others to make a group of 10. (Paolo Bettini (Ita) Mapei - Quick Step , Inigo Cuesta (Esp) Cofidis , Markus Zberg (Sui) Rabobank , Juan Antonio Flecha (Esp) Ibanesto.Com , Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Bonjour , Steve Zampieri (Sui) Tacconi Sport , Andrea Peron (Ita) Team CSC Tiscali , Gianni Faresin (Ita) Gerolsteiner). They are caught by the 135km mark.

After this a series of attacks and gaps were established... and lost

With 8km to go, Axel Merckx attacked and 3 bridge up to him - Aerts, Etxebarria and Azevedo. Bartoli and Noè join them shortly.

Merckx attacked again with 2 km to go, but was quickly caught.

At 1k to go, Aerts wound up the speed and no one could stay with him


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
D'Ornellas Black Friday Nov 24
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19
TaG Nov 24
CC Advertise April 14


Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2015 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login