Canadian Cyclist


December 16/02 9:37 am - Sumner Ride, US 'Cross Nationals, Canadian Sport Awards

Posted by Editor on 12/16/02

The 3rd Annual Roger Sumner Ride

The 3rd Annual Roger Sumner Ride will be held on Sunday, December 22nd at 9:00 am. As in past years, the ride will start from the lookout point in UBC on Southwest Marine Drive.

The ride will follow the Vets Ride route that Roger loved so much. As the ride is a celebration of Roger's life and passion for cycling, this ride is purely social in nature and an opportunity for people to share their favorite Roger stories.

If you require further information, please contact:

Chris White via email at

US 'Cross Nationals - Domaine Chandon, Yountville, California

Elite Men
1 Jonathan Page (Richard Sachs) 1:01:29
2 Todd Wells (Mongoose Hyundai) at 1:00
3 Travis Brown (Trek/VW) s.t.
4 Marc Gullickson (Mongoose Hyundai) 1:23
5 Andy Jacques-Maynes (Clif Bar) 2:17
6 Tim Johnson (Saturn) 2:23
7 Dale Knapp (Kona-Kenwood) 2:47
8 Jackson Stewart (Clif Bar) 2:50
9 Frank Mapel (Specialized) 2:55
10 Barry Wicks (Kona) 3:17
11 Ryan Trebon (Krystals) 3:27
12 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Spokesman Bulion Steel) 3:29
13 Adam Craig (Giant) 3:35
14 Justin Robinson (Spokesman/Bullion Still) 3:44
15 Johannes Huseby (Independent Fabrication) 4:20
16 Jeremiah Bishop (Trek/Volkswagen) 4:27
17 Steve Tilford (Shimano) 4:34
18 Alan Obye (Balance Bar/Devo) 4:39
19 Barton Bowen (Kona/Kenwood) 4:47
20 Russ Tiles 5:09
21 Erik Tonkin (Kona/Kenwood) 5:09
22 Mark McCormack (Saturn) 6:16
23 Jonny Sundt (K2) 1 lap

Elite Women
1 Ann Grande (Kona/Kenwood) 45:38
2 Rachel Lloyd (Team Spiney / Santa Cruz) at 0:17
3 Gina Hall (Clif Bar) 0:29
4 Mary McConneloug (Seven Cycles) 1:06
5 Melissa Thomas (Rocky Mounts/Ritchey) 1:28
6 Carmen D'Aluisio (Clifbar) 2:06
7 Christine Vardraros (Sallyspicer.Com) 2:53
8 Gretchen Reeves (Rocky Mountain) 4:01
9 Josie Beggs (Bolla Bianchi) 4:21
10 Kerry Barnholt (Sobe Cannondale) 4:30
11 Shari Kain (RLX Ralph Lauren) 4:44
12 Rhonda Mazza 5:16
13 Jodi Groesbeck (Putney/West Hill) 5:28
14 Shelly Whisenhant (Veloibella) 5:44
15 Stella Carey (Kelly Bike Company) 5:54
16 Hillary Daniels 6:21
17 Kathryn Roszko (Ncc/Bikereg.Com) 7:30

Nominations for 30th Annual Canadian Sport Awards

Ottawa, ON - The Spirit of Sport Foundation (SSF) announced its call for nominations for the 30th annual Canadian Sport Awards (CSA), presented by Investors Group. The nomination period began November 12 and continues to January 9, 2003. The nomination package is available at

"We are extremely proud to be part of the celebration of thirty years of sporting excellence in Canada," said Richard Irish of Investors Group. "The Canadian Sport Awards honour true champions in sport including athletes, coaches, volunteers, media and corporate supporters. These champions are excellent role models for all Canadians, young and old."

Finalists for each award will be announced in February 2003. Winners will be announced at the official gala awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 25, 2003 at the Canadian Broadcasting Centre in Toronto. This annual event brings together more than 700 leaders from the sporting and corporate communities. The ceremony will be broadcast on CBC television during primetime on Wednesday, March 26, 2003.

Established in 1972, the Canadian Sport Awards are the premier recognition event for sporting excellence. Some of the winners from 2001 include long track speed skater, Catriona Le May Doan (Female Athlete of the Year), cyclist, Roland Green (Male Athlete of the Year), former Crazy Canuck, Ken Read (Athlete Leadership) and swimmer, Ashley Cowan (Spirit of Sport Story of the Year).

This year, the SSF has created the Coach of the Year Award that will honour a coach who demonstrates outstanding coaching skills and contributes to Canadian sporting excellence at a national and/or international level. The Pair of the Year award, inaugurated in 1995, has been renamed the Partners of the Year award, and eligibility has been amended to include sports with individual and team elements including pairs, crews, relays, doubles, triples, fours and events where individuals compete together in a team event.

In honour of the 30th anniversary of the Canadian Sport Awards, the SSF has partnered with the Sculptors Society of Canada to design a new award statue that captures the spirit of sport and celebrates the joy of effort. The award statue will be unveiled in February 2003.

30th Annual Canadian Sport Awards award categories:
* Athletic Performance Awards: These awards recognize and celebrate outstanding athletic performance in 2002.

* Male Athlete of the Year (The Norton H. Crow Award)
* Female Athlete of the Year (The Velma Springstead Award)
* Junior Male Athlete of the Year (The Viscount Alexander Award)
* Junior Female Athlete of the Year (The Elaine Tanner Award)
* Male Team of the Year (The Dick Ellis Trophy)
* Female Team of the Year (Edmonton Grads Trophy)
* Partners of the Year (The Wilson and McCall Trophy)

* Leadership Awards: These awards recognize and celebrate an individual‚s outstanding contribution to the betterment of sport.

* Athlete Leadership Award (The Bruce Kidd Award)
* Volunteer Achievement Award (The Bryce Taylor Award)
* Leadership in Sport Award
* Coach of the Year Award

* Corporate Excellence Awards: These awards recognize and celebrate corporations who provide outstanding support to Canadian sport.

* National Team Support
* Individual Athlete Support
* National Initiative Support

* Spirit of Sport Story of the Year Award

* Spirit of Sport Inspired Youth Award

Nomination Eligibility

Any Canadian citizen can nominate an individual, team or corporation for the Canadian Sport Awards. Individuals and corporations can also self-nominate. Eligible entries are for performances or contributions from January 1, 2002 through to December 31, 2002.

Submissions must be received at the SSF no later than 5:00 p.m. E.S.T., Thursday, January 9, 2003. Late submissions will not be accepted. Completed ORIGINAL submissions should be sent to:

Spirit of Sport Foundation
C/o CSA Selection Advisory Committee
2197 Riverside Drive, Suite 300
Ottawa, ON
K1H 7X3

Tickets are on SALE NOW!
Take advantage of the early bird special - 10% off single & package prices until January 2nd 2003 or until the block is sold out.

This offer is only available to those who register on line. So be one of the firsts to support the heroes that live within sport - support the 30th Annual Canadian Sport Awards.

Procurez-vous vos billets DÈS MAINTENANT!

Prenez avantage de notre réduction de 10% pour un billet simple ou de groupe avant l'ouverture officielle de la vente des billets.

Cette offre est valide jusqu'au 2 janvier 2003 ou jusqu'à épuisement de cette série de billets. Cette offre est aussi seulement disponible pour ceux et celles qui se procurent les billets en ligne. Alors soyez parmi les premiers à supporter nos athlètes amateurs et la 30è édition annuelle du Prix Sportif Canadien.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.