Canadian Cyclist


May 24/03 10:21 am - Ontario High School MTB Championships, Cyclesmith Short-track Series

Posted by Editoress on 05/24/03

Louis Garneau High School Mountain Bike Championships Hardwood Hills, ON - May 23rd
Courtesy Glenn Meeuwisse

The 2003 version of the Louis Garneau High School Mountain Bike Championships was a huge success, under dry but threatening skies. Over 450 riders were vying for one years worth of bragging rights for themselves and their schools. Emily Batty and Peter Glassford won the Senior Category, and the All Saints team consisting of primarily Bay Cycle riders took the Team Relay. The largest category was the Junior Boys with 162 riders.

Senior Boys - 12 Km.
1. Peter Glassford (Center Dufferin), 36:36.7
2. Chris Thorpe (Dunbarton HS), at 0:00:46.4
3. Mark Batty (All Saints), 1:05.6
4. Kevan Cranmer (St.Mary's Ham.), 1:17.0
5. Ryan May (Center Dufferin), 1:21.4
6. Kyle Douglas (All Saints), 1:30.1
7. Ben Dawson (P.C.V.S.), 2:05.9
8. Stu Alp (Sandwich Secondary), 2:22.4
9. Andrew Hurst (St.Theresa's Mid), 2:38.9
10. Luc Mahler (Huntsville HS), 3:04.0
11. Joel Runk (Lindsay CVS), 3:11.0

Senior Girls - 8.5 km
1. Emily Batty (All Saints), 32:05.5
2. Julie Gordon (St.Theresa's), at 1:29.4
3. Mandy Croppo (Holy Names HS), 5:42.9
4. Amy Armstrong (Grey Highlands SS), 7:27.1
5. Valerie Lateur (Dunbarton HS), 8:07.2
6. Cynthia Sharp (St. Benedict), 10:25.3
7. Sheena Parent (Barrie North), 11:15.0
8. Ksenia Kleban (Bishop Ryan SS), 12:42.9
9. Lindsay Case (Bradford DHS), 13:24.8
10. Ashley Tamlin (Lindsay CVS), 13:27.6

Junior Boys - 8.5 Km
1 935 Luc Mahler (Huntsville HS ), 27:55.8
2 323 Mathew Bell (Mentor College), at 0:06.7
3 204 Craig Browne (H.B.Beal SS), 1:17.8
4 201 Kris Lysionek (St.Charles College), 1:19.7
5 237 Thomas Wood (Midland SS), 1:30.6
6 598 Codey May (Center Dufferin), 1:40.4
7 377 Lance Martin (Grand River), 2:06.1
8 221 Keith Gauld (Simcoe Comp.), 2:24.9
9 220 Evan MacAlpine (Simcoe Comp.), 2:27.3
10 101 Zach Winn , 2:35.8

Junior Girls - 6km
1. Sarah Coney (Aurora), 27:35.9
2. Alana Thomas (Glenforest SS), at 0:11.8
3. Shannon Everist (Huntsville HS), 0:33.7
4. Elizabeth Ross (OCDVI), 1:59.5
5. Kelly Bietola (Pickering), 2:39.8
6. Sonya Hones (Grand River), 4:31.9
7. Laurelle Cox (Courtice SS), 6:03.2
8. Brianna Greaves (Owen Snd CI), 6:10.0
9. LeeAnne Belcourt (St.Joseph's), 6:59.4
10. Nicola Gladwell (West Hill), 7:18.6

Full results are available at

2003 Cyclesmith Short-track Summer Series
Courtesy Andrew Feenstra

Cyclesmith 2003 Summer Short-track Series begins Tuesday May 27, 2003

Short-track mountain bike racing is all about speed, strategy, and fun. Featuring an easy, fast and fun short course for all ages and skill levels. This event will be fun for everyone from those seeking a gentle introduction to mountain biking, to the most competitive racer.

The 8 race series will span over most of June and July, held on Tuesday evenings in both Halifax and Dartmouth, with the finals being on Saturday July 26th. You can take part in just one race, or even do all of them. For those participating in the entire series, the best 5 results will be used to calculate the overall series standings.

* The series final will be an all-day festival held on Saturday July 26 at Seaview Look-Off Park in Halifax, NS. The event will feature learn-to-race clinics, a BBQ, a parent-child race, the final race of the event, and the series award ceremony.

Whether you would rather just watch or participate, we invite you to get involved and come enjoy the fun and excitement of mountain biking at its best!

Race categories:

Under 10 M/F (U10) Ages 7-9
Under 17 M/F (U17) Ages 15-16
Under 13 M/F(U13) Ages 10-12
Open Sport Men Ages 17+
Under 15 M/F (U15) Ages 13-14
Open Expert Men Ages 17+
Open Women Ages 17+

Entry Fees:

$25 for U10, U13, U15

$25 for all other categories + 2003 BNS license (application process must be done through BNS) -or- 2003 BNS One Event Membership ($20 Can be applied for at event.)


Halifax:Seaview Park Look-off (end of Novalea drive)
Dartmouth: Spectacle Lake (in Burnside off Commodore drive, near MSI building)


Tuesday May 27 (HFX) 6:30pm

Tuesday June 3 (HFX) 6:30pm

Tuesday June 10 (Dart) 6:30pm

Tuesday June 24 (Dart) 6:30pm

Tuesday July 1 (HFX) 6:30pm

Tuesday July 8 (Dart) 6:30pm

Tuesday July 15 (Dart) 6:30pm

Saturday July 26 (HFX) * Series Final, approximately 12 ˆ 7pm

Thanks to our Sponsors: Trek Bicycles, Sobeys(Cole Harbour), Forbes Chev-Olds, Bicycle Nova Scotia, and Cyclesmith.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.