Canadian Cyclist


May 31/03 5:26 am - Montreal World Cup: Story & Results

Posted by Editoress on 05/31/03

Montreal World Cup

Genevieve Jeanson showed once again why she is considered to be one of the best women cyclists in the world by decisively beating a world class field at the Montreal World Cup on Saturday. Nicole Cooke finished second to Jeanson and extended her overall lead in the World Cup.

The 8.2 kilometre circuit around and up Mont Royal has been used repeatedly for some of the most celebrated races in cycling - the World Championships (1974), the Olympics (1976) and multiple World Cups. This year, the women had to ride the 1.2 kilometre climb 12 times, with the finish at the top of the climb.

The race sported an impressive line up: in addition to Jeanson and Cooke, Judith Arndt, winner of the of Tour de L'Aude, Lyne Bessette, second at Tour de L'Aude, Sue Palmer-Komar, second in the Fleche Wallone World Cup, and world champion Suzanne Ljunskog were all on the starting line.

The race began with single breakaway attempts, but all were reeled in on the climb.  As the race wore on, the attrition began to take its toll and the front group was shrinking. However, Jeanson, Arndt, Bessette, Kimberly Bruckner, Sarah Carrigan, Cooke, Ljunskog, and Amber Neben were all at the front.

With two laps to go T Mobile upped the pace and sent Bruckner and Neben off, but Jeanson's Rona-Esker squad used Catherine Marsal and Magalie LeFloch to bring them back - first Bruckner and then Neben.  On the final climb, Neben and Saturn's Mactier had a 9 second gap, but Jeanson exploded in the final kilometre to surge by them and take the victory in front of a partisan crowd of at least 30,000.

Jeanson was surprised that neither Ljungskog nor Cooke were able to stay with her. "The last lap was slow.  Susanne Ljungskog was on my wheel the whole lap.  I had to break to make sure she would not go first.

At the bottom of the climb I was between Ljungskog and Cooke, it was a good position to be.

When I went with 700 metres to go, I was surprised (when I looked back) that no one was there."

Courtesy Organization


1. Geneviève Jeanson (Can) Rona - Esker2:51:07
2. Nicole Cooke (GBr) Ausra Gruodis - Safiat 0:11
3. Judith Arndt (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherungs.t.
4. Katie Mactier (Aus) Saturn Cycling Team0:13
5. Susanne Ljungskog (Swe) P-P-Bik / Catalunya MIXTE0:21
6. Sara Carrigan (Aus) P-P-Bik / Catalunya MIXTE0:31
7. Lyne Bessette (Can) Saturn Cycling Team
8. Kimberly Bruckner (USA) T-Mobileboth s.t.
9. Anita Valen (Nor) P-P-Bik / Catalunya MIXTE0:34
10. Barbara Heeb (Sui) Swiss Cycling Team
11. Tina Liebig (Ger) German National Teamboth s.t.
12. Amber Neben (USA) T-Mobile0:40
13. Susan Palmer-Komar (Can) Genesis Scuba/FFCC0:44
14. Rachel Heal (GBr) Great Britain National Team1:02
15. Kimberly Anderson (USA) T-Mobile1:02
16. Theresa Senff (Ger) German National Team1:19
17. Kristin Armstrong (USA) T-Mobile2:01
18. Manon Jutras (Can) Saturn Cycling Team2:24
19. Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Nürnberger Versicherung3:06
20. Diana Rast (Sui) Swiss Cycling Team3:13
21. Katia Longhin (Ita) ACCA DUE O PASTA3:15
22. Chantal Beltman (Ned) ACCA DUE O PASTAs.t.
23. Andrea Bosman (Ned) P-P-Bik / Catalunya MIXTE3:19
24. Sarah Grab (Sui) Swiss Cycling Team
25. Trine Hansen (Den) S.A.T.S.both s.t.
26. Deirdre Demet-Barry (USA) T-Mobile3:22
27. Meredith Miller (USA) S.A.T.S.3:26
28. Magali Le Floch (Fra) Rona - Esker3:33
29. Leah Goldstein (Isr) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's
30. Karen Bockel (Ger) Rona - Esker
31. Amy Moore (Can) Saturn Cycling Teamall s.t.
32. Annette Beutler (Sui) Swiss Cycling Team3:45
33. Healter Albert (USA) Composite 13:47
34. Sandy Espeseth (Can) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's4:04
35. Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC9:17
36. Isabella Wieser (Aut) Charly Lietzsport9:43
37. Frances Newstead (GBr) Great Britain National Team9:59
38. Miho Oki (Jpn) Japan National
39. Sabine Batz (Ger) Charly Lietzsport
40. Catherine Marsal (Fra) Rona - Eskerall s.t.
41. Stacey Peters (USA) T-Mobile10:02
42. Erinne Willock (Can) Rona - Esker10:06
43. Christina Peick-Anderson (Den) S.A.T.S10:10
44. Iona Wynter (Jam) Genesis Scuba/FFCC10:17
45. Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Ausra Gruodis - Safi10:22
46. Anne Wagner (Den) S.A.T.S.10:25
47. Krirsty Nicole Robb (Nzl) P-P-Bik / Catalunya MIXTE10:27
48. Maggie Shirley (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC10:39
49. Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC10:54
50. Charlotte Goldsmith (GBr) Great Britain National Team11:19
OTL. Sarah Düster (Ger) German National Team
OTL. Liane Bahler (Ger) German National Team
OTL. Penny Edwards (GBr) Great Britain National Team
OTL. Sara Waller (GBr) Great Britain National Team
OTL. Erin Carter (Can) Composite 1
OTL. Ann-Marie Miller (USA) Verizon Wireless-Cervélo
OTL. Catherine Bearce (USA)
OTL. Hiroko Shimada (Jpn) Japan National
OTL. Claudia Stumpf (Ger) German National Team
OTL. Katrina Davis (USA) Verizon Wireless-Cervélo
OTL. Yvonne Ilton (USA) Verizon Wireless-Cervélo
OTL. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherung
OTL. Ayumu Otsuka (Jpn) Japan National
OTL. Stéphanie Bourbeau (Can) Équipe Québec
OTL. Bettina Kuhn (Sui) Swiss Cycling Team
OTL. Francesca Pellegrini (Ita) Ausra Gruodis - Safi
OTL. Élisa Gagnon (Can) Équipe Québec
OTL. Clara Constantinescu (Rom) Genesis Scuba/FFCC
OTL. Kirsten Robbins (Can) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's
OTL. Melissa Holt (Nzl) Rona - Esker
OTL. Petra Pilz (Aut) Charly Lietzsport
OTL. Claudia Meyer (Ger) Charly Lietzsport
OTL. Karin Wieser (Aut) Charly Lietzsport
DNF. Petra Rossner (Ger) Nürnberger Versicherung
DNF. Nicole Demars (Can) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's
DNF. Sophie St-Jacques (Can) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's
DNF. Regina Schleicher (Ger) German National Team
DNF. Lauren Franges (USA) Victory Brewing/Amoroso's
DNF. Miyoko Karami (Jpn) Japan National
DNF. Jessica Phillips (USA) Saturn Cycling Team
DNF. Ghita Beltman (Ned) ACCA DUE O PASTA
DNF. Diana Ziliute (Ltu) ACCA DUE O PASTA
DNF. Caroline L'heureux (Can) Équipe Québec
DNF. Julie Hutsebaut (Can) Équipe Québec
DNF. Madeleine Lindberg (Swe) Nürnberger Versicherung
DNF. Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Ausra Gruodis - Safi
DNF. Katy St-Laurent (Can) Équipe Québec
DNF. Anne Samplonius (Can) Équipe Québec
DNF. Sarah Foulkes (USA) Verizon Wireless-Cervélo
DNF. Julie Monagle (USA) Verizon Wireless-Cervélo


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.