Canadian Cyclist


June 6/03 10:43 am - Wachovia

Posted by Editoress on 06/6/03

Wachovia - Trenton ClassicTrenton, NJ
Courtesy Threshold Sports

146km - 14 laps of 10.5km
Julian Dean (NZL) of the CSC pro cycling team won the 2003 Wachovia Cycling Series- Trenton today in a time of 2:55:49. An estimated 13,500 fans were in attendance for the 15th annual series race in New Jersey. In a field sprint finish, it was Navigators Oleg Grishkine (RUS) who crossed the line second for the second year in a row followed by Viktor Rapinski (BLR) of Saturn for third.

CSC also dominated Tuesday's Wachovia Cycling Series-Lancaster race with Jakob Pill (DEN) placing first and Dean third. The win moves Dean into the top spot in the 2003 Pro Cycling Tour point standings.

"I've won it the last two times I've been here so maybe it is the perfect race for me," said Dean. "It has been a very rewarding week so far for CSC and we really want to show America what a great team we are."

With two laps left of the 91-mile race, a seven man breakaway with a 22-second advantage was reeled in by CSC and Saturn. Attacks were futile as evidenced by Chris Horner (USA) of Saturn and David Clinger (USA) of Prime Alliance who only opened an eight-second gap. After an attack of four was caught, the race came together leading into the field sprint. With 1K left in the race, CSC and Saturn pushed pace over 37 mph. The field sprint was akin to a drag race as Dean streaked across the line followed closely by Grishkine.

Next up on the four-race Wachovia Cycling Series, America's Elite Week of Cycling, is Sunday's Wachovia USPRO Championship and Wachovia Liberty Classic in Philadelphia. The Wachovia Cycling Series is the key sequence of events within the seven-race nationwide Pro Cycling Tour (PCT). The PCT is managed by Threshold Sports and sanctioned by USA Cycling.

1. Julian Dean (NZl) Team CSC, 2:55:49
2. Oleg Grishkine (Rus) Navigators Cycling Team
3. Viktor Rapinski (Blr) Saturn
4. Fred Rodriguez (USA) Sidermec
5. Lars Michaelsen (Den) Team CSC
6. Charles Dionne (Can) Saturn
7. Mariano Friedick (USA) Jelly Belly
8. Oscar Pineda (Gua) 7UP Maxxis
9. Uros Murn (Slo) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave
10. Henk Vogels (Aus) Navigators Cycling Team
11. Gregory Henderson (NZl) 7UP Maxxis
12. Patrick Calcagni (Sui) Sidermec
13. Antonio Bucciero (Ita) Saeco
14. Antonio Cruz (USA) US Postal
15. Jackson Stewart (USA) Ofoto-Lombardi Sports
16. Chris Horner (USA) Saturn
17. Russell Hamby (USA) Ofoto-Lombardi Sports
18. Stefano Zanini (Ita) Saeco
19. Kevin Monahan (USA) 7UP Maxxis
20. Nathan Russell (Aus) Colavita Bolla
21. John Lieswyn (USA) 7UP Maxxis
22. Kazimierz Stafiej (Pol) Mroz
23. Staf Scheirlinckx (Bel)
24. Massimiliano Mori (Ita) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave
25. Todd Littlehales (USA) Sierra Nevada-Clif Bar
26. Christopher Pic (USA) 7UP Maxxis
27. Marco Gili (Ita) Sidermec
28. Jonathon Page (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team
29. Chann McRae (USA) Schroeder Iron Cycling Team
30. Mark McCormack (USA) Saturn
31. Michael Barry (Can) US Postal
32. David Clinger (USA) Prime Alliance Cycling Team, all s.t.
33. Simon Kessler (RSA), 0:05
34. Kirk Albers (USA) Jelly Belly
35. Simone Masciarelli (Ita) Sidermec
36. Paul Martin (USA) West Virginia
37. Erik Saunders (USA) Ofoto-Lombardi Sports
38. Tristan Hoffman (Ned) Team CSC
39. Pietro Zucconi (Sui) Sidermec
40. Jacob Erker (Can) Schroeder Iron Cycling Team
41. Brent Dawson (Aus) Jelly Belly
42. Martin Wayne Nothstein (USA) Navigators Cycling Team
43. Cameron Hughes (Aus) Schroeder iron
44. Chris Wherry (USA) Navigators Cycling Team
45. Robbie Ventura (USA) US Postal
46. Andrew Crater (USA) Lemond Fitness-Blender
47. Christian Vandevelde (USA) US Postal
48. Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn
49. Keith Horowitz (USA) Ofoto
50. Jonathan Sundt (USA) Jittery Joe's Cycling Team
51. Brice Jones (USA) 7UP Maxxis, 0:16
52. Peter Lopinto (USA) Ofoto-Lombardi Sports
53. Kenny Labbe (USA) US Postal
54. Gustavo Artacho (Arg) Colavita Bolla
55. Andrea Tafi (Ita) Team CSC
56. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn
57. Dominique Perras (Can)

58. Matt Dubberley (USA) Sierra Nevada-Clif Bar
59. Juan Fuentes Angullo (Spa) Saeco, 0:24
60. John Kelly (USA) Webcor Cycling Team
61. David Wenger (USA) West Virginia Cycling Team
62. David Wyandt (USA) Webcor Cycling Team
63. Andrea Masciarelli (Ita) Sidermec
64. Chris Fisher (USA) Jelly Belly
65. Jeff Louder (USA) Navigators Cycling Team
66. Benoît Joachim (Lux) US Postal
67. Domenico Gualdi (Ita) Formaggi Pinzolo Fiave
68. Adam Livingston (USA) Schroeder Iron Cycling Team
69. Ivan Dominguez (Cub) Saturn
70. Jimmi Madsen (Den) Team CSC, all s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.