Canadian Cyclist


June 15/03 9:33 am - Colorado Springs Track, NORBA 4-Cross

Posted by Editoress on 06/15/03

Track Update - Colorado Springs
Courtesy Kurt Innes

Day two is half over here in Colorado springs, and many of our Canadian riders continue to set new personal best times.

Last night, in the men's 1000 Meter time trial run in less than ideal conditions (between 12-14 degrees celcius at race time) two athletes posted 1:05 times (USA riders) Canadian riders as follows.

5. Travis Smith, 1:06.313
10. Ryan McKenzie, 1:07.459
11. Cameron MacKinnon, 1:08.614
13. Robert Veroba, 1:08.3
15. Yannick Morin, 1:08.614
21. Mike McCorkell, 1:12.007

Today the men's 200 Was on the schedule. 3 USA riders went 10.4 to set the fastest times of the day.

Canadians :
8. Travis Smith, 10.620
12. Lars Madsen, 10.829
Cameron Mackinnon, 10.848
Ryan Mckenzie, 10.953
Yannick Morin, 11.120
Tim Caulfield, 11.239
Ken Cools, 11.54

Women's 500 Meter
1. Christine Witty, 35.340
2. Lori-Ann Muenzer, 35.403
3. Tanya Lindenmuth, 35.42
Laura Yoisten, 37.110
Breanne Loster, 38.698

Mens Team Pursuit
1. McCorkell, Veroba, McKenzie, Smith 4:45.0

Racing continues tonight, with no Canadians participating (as per the ban on internationals in the bunch racing - and sprint /keirin events). Tomorrow on the schedule is the mens and women's team sprint .

Norba National Series 4-Cross #2 - Snowshoe, West Virginia
Courtesy USA Cycling

Snowshoe, WV (June 14, 2003) On the heels of an exciting cross country race this afternoon, the mountain cross athletes took to the dirt this evening and put on a show for the West Virginia crowd in round two of NORBA National Championship Mountain Bike Series.

The final run in the men's event featured a few new faces as the top three seeds from qualifying failed to make it into the final round. David Klassenvanorschot (Riverside, CA; Intense-Spy), Gary Houseman (Temecula, CA; Intense-Santa Cruz); Greg Minnaar (RSA) and Mike King (San Diego, CA; Haro-Lee Dungarees) made the final selection and the stage was set for an aggressive denouement.

As the foursome exited the start gate, King took the early lead and never relinquished it, aided by an early crash by Klassenvanorschot. Minnaar, slowed by the crash and essentially out of contention turned back to help Klassenvanorschot while Houseman continued to chase King. King, benefiting from a strong jump at the gate, easily took the title, his first on the NORBA NCMBS circuit.

"Things worked out my way", King explained. "I knew the first straight was going to be a real struggle because it was long and flat. I think some of my BMX experience helped out. My Haro bike was dialed and the suspension was perfect. I'm looking forward to this year and I hope I come out on top."

The women's event started out in similar fashion as Jill Kintner (San Jose, CA; Staats) got a jump on her final round competitors, Sabrina Jonnier (FRA; Intense), Lisa Sher (Capistrano Beach, CA; Chumba Wumba), and Tara Llanes (Corona, CA; Giant-Pearl Izumi) out of the gate. Kintner, the victor at the series opener in Big Bear, CA, was pressured from behind for the entire run as the other three stayed within striking distance. With Sher fading fast as the final turn approached, Jonnier and Llanes collided and both went down in their last effort to catch Kintner, who sailed to the line for the win. Sher, taking advantage of the late run entanglement easily took second ahead of Jonnier and Llanes.

Llanes explained the mishap following the event. "We were right behind Jill in the second to the last turn and I was still patient and went to the outside and Sabrina came on the inside and we went down. I know it's racing and everything, but it's hard when you're in second, and that track is so physically challenging to make it that far and then go down at the end. I really wanted the points but it's racing."

The final day at Snowshoe features the crowd favorite Short Track event and the Downhill Competition.

1 Mike King (USA) Haro-Lee Dungarees
2 Gary Houseman (USA) Intense-Santa Cruz
3 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Haro-Lee Dungarees
4 David Klassenvanorschot (USA) Intense-Spy

1 Jill Kintner (USA) Staats
2 Lisa Sher (USA) Chumba Wumba
3 Sabrina Jonnier (Fra) Intense
4 Tara Llanes (USA) Giant-Pearl Izumi


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2020 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.