Canadian Cyclist


June 17/98 8:47 am - Jackson Wins HP, Beauce, Manitoba

Posted by Editor on 06/17/98

Jackson Wins Bogus Basin Time Trial To Open HP Women‚s Challenge
(courtesy USA Cycling)

BOISE, Idaho -- Canadian Linda Jackson won the opening Bogus Basin Time Trial Tuesday, earning the leader‚s jersey after the prologue of the Hewlett-Packard International Women‚s Challenge.

Jackson (Saeco-Timex) covered the 1.7-mile, uphill course in seven minutes, 13 seconds despite a howling head wind estimated at a steady 20mph with gusts of much higher speed.

"It‚s a relief to have the jersey," Jackson said. "When I go back and tell the team, I think they‚ll be really psyched."

Lithuanians Edita Pucinskaite (Boise Cascade Office Products) and Diana Ziliute (HP Toner) finished second and third, respectively. Mari Holden (Office Depot) was the top American finisher in ninth place, and Alison Sydor took 10th.. Eight different nations were represented in the top 10 finishers.

Defending champion Rasa Polikeviciute (HP Toner) of Lithuania finished 20th, 39 seconds behind Jackson. Polikeviciute was assessed a 15-second penalty for cutting the course as she rounded the final turn on the left side of the center stripe.

The performance marks a return to form for Jackson, who has not had a 1998 season equal to a year ago, when she won the Tour de L‚Aude in France and was on the podium at the Tour Feminin and Giro d‚Italia as well as the HP stage race.

The story of the day was the conditions, especially the wind which hampered the 138 riders. Jackson‚s time was 53 seconds off the record time of 6:20 set by Rebecca Twigg in 1986.

"It was so hard," said Stacey Peters (LeMond). "Oh my god, I‚m going to die."

Peters finished 18th with a time of 7:51.

Wednesday‚s first stage is a 47.5-mile road race from Boise to Idaho City.

Prologue, Bogus Basin Time Trial, June 16, 1.7 miles

1. LINDA JACKSON (SAECO-TIMEX), Nepean, Ont., Canada, 7:13
2. Edita Pucinskaite (Boise Cascade), Lithuania, 7:19
3. Diana Ziliute (HP Toner), Lithuania; 7:23
4. Jeannie Longo (Longo-Ebly), France, 7:23
5. Valentina Polkhanova (Office Depot), Russia; 7:27
6. Kathy Watt (Texas Premier-SmartFuel), Australia, 7:27
7. Alessandra Cappellotto (Boise Cascade), Italy, 7:30
8. Meike de Bruin (Dutch National), Netherlands, 7:35
9. Mari Holden (Office Depot), Colorado Springs, Colo., 7:36
10. Alison Sydor (Canadian National), N. Vancouver, B.C., Canada, 7:36

(courtesy J.L.)

The wind was so strong you could hardly stand up but the cyclists put on a very good show in the prologue criterium of the GRAND PRIX CYCLISTE DE BEAUCE last night.

Right from the beginning, Frank McCormack and Czeslaw Lukaszewiscz got away from the pack and were never caught. They lapped the whole bunch to finish the race in 55 m. 35 s., an average of over 42 km/hr which is remarkable considering the very heavy rain and the howling wind.

Today, the GP de Beauce leaves Quebec City at 12:30 pm for a 158 km ride to Ste-Marie de Beauce. The weather you ask ??? Let's just say, that at least ... it is not snowing !

PROLOGUE - Quebec City, 40 km

1 - Frank McCormack (Saturn) 55:35
2 - Czeslaw Lukaszewiscz (MROZ) s.t.
3 - Levi Leipheimer (Saturn) 57:03
4 - Chann McRae (Saturn) s.t.
5 - Andrzei Sypytkowski (MROZ) s.t.
6 - Brat Bowen (Saturn) s.t.
7 - Roy Knickman (Mercury) s.t.
8 - Thomas Konecny (ZVVZ) s.t.
9 - Scott Moninger (Navigators) s.t.
10 - Norm Alvis (Saturn) s.t.

Manitoba Results (courtesy Dave Benson)

In spite of rain showers throughout the day, the evening provided sunshine and blue skies for the final Kids of Mud Race of the series.

Paul Benson
Luc Sudermann

Josh Friesen
Chris Butcher
Sasha Buors

Ian Case
Mike Mazepa
Jackson Locken

MCA Results:
Jack Brodowski  Olympia
Mike Giesbrecht Olympia

Lauren Giesbrecht   Olympia
Adrian Alphonso Gords
Tim Friesen     WBC

Mike Sudermann  Gords
Neil Jenkins       Olympia
Jake Bobowski   Olympia
Danna Harper       Olympia

Commissaires  Ian Clapperton and David Blatz


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.