Canadian Cyclist EnergyLab 247-2 Sept23
   Follow us on Twitter
Find us on Facebook
WoB Pre Bike Show Sale Oct12
Cyclist's Edge - November 15
ACS Apollo Bikes - November 19

Share the Road - Dec 14

IMBA Canada - Dec 14

Spec Ruby CC2 Sept 13

Daily News


August 16/04 6:29 am - TransRockies Challenge: Final

Posted by Editoress on 08/16/04

TransRockies Challenge
Courtesy TransRockies Challenge

Canmore, Alberta - The Rocky Mountain Business Objects Team of Andreas Hestler of Vancouver and Karl Platt of Germany kept up their furious pace in the final stage of the toughest mountain bike race in the world to win the overall men's championship in the 2004 TransRockies Challenge.

Hestler and Platt were cheered on by a crowd of more than 1,000 as they crossed the finish line today in downtown Canmore Alberta Their finish time of time of 2:22:13 was just six seconds behind last year's champions Andreas Strobel and Silvio Wieltschnig, for an overall time over the 600 km, seven-day course of 29:38:39.

Second overall place was won by Troy Misseghers and Neil Grover, who finished today a little more than three minutes behind the champions. They ended the week with an overall time of 29:52:25.

"It was a big battle all week and we had to fight hard to keep our lead, said Hestler. "I was nervous about losing our position but I felt good for the final few kilometres today," said the champion.

In the master's category, Karl Arnold, 43, and Stephan Ruttimann, 40, remained untouchable in the final leg of the challenge, finishing in 2:55:03 for a total accumulated time of 32:49:40. Second place today and overall was won by Paul Newitt, 39, and Nels Guloien, 49, with a total time of 36:26:31. William Letham, 47, and James Shellard, 40. were third with a total time of 36:41:46.

Niclas Christoffersson of Canmore, a member of the men's championship team in the first TransRockies Challenge in 2002, and Marg Fedyna who rode
today despite injuries from a fall in Bragg Creek two days ago, captured the mixed category championship with a finish today in 3:04:44 for an overall time of 35:14:43. They were followed one minute later today by Eric Warkentin and Louise Kobin, a member of last year's women's championship team, for an overall time of 35:37:08 for second. Third place went to Trish Grajczyk and Pat Doyle who were two hours overall behind the champions.

Germans Karen Eller and Sabrine Grona secured the women's championship with a first place finish today in 3:12:00. Second place went to last year's
women's champion Christina Begy and Joan Orgeldinger who ended up almost one-and-a-quarter hour behind the leaders. Third place today and overall
went to Isabelle Dube and Maria Hawkins who finished with a total time of 42:28:15.

The champions shared $20,000 cash prizes.

The 2005 TransRockies Challenge will be held Aug. 7-13.

Stage 7 Results - Rafter Six Resort to Canmore (PDF)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top
EnergyLab Sept27
DOrnellas Tent Sale Oct6
The 11 Silber April 29



Dundas Speed Shop - Jan 11 (+524)

 © Copyright 1998-2016 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.  Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Login