Canadian Cyclist


September 13/04 8:02 am - Multi-Laser Grand Prix

Posted by Editoress on 09/13/04

Multi-Laser Grand Prix
Courtesy Jeff Bakal

The 5th annual Multi-Laser Grand Prix stage race took place in Gananoque Ontario on the on September 11 and 12, 2004. 180 riders took part in the 4 stage race with riders from Jet-Fuel Coffee riding to a 1-2 finish in the PRO/I/II category to take home a total of $4500 in prize money, with an overall time of 4:29.29, just under a minute ahead of Joshua Dillon (Louis Garneau Racing, Vermont) over the 4 stages. Previous winners of this event include Andrew Randell, also from Jet Fuel and Charles Dionne.

The Women's race was dominated by La Bicicletta's Merill Collins who won each of the four stages tp finish 3:56 ahead of Chlo Black (Terry Precision) with Anna Milkowski (Rona) taking third spot

The combined categrory 3/Junior race was won by William Goodfellow from Montreal by less than one second over the 2nd place Trevor Connner (Chris Cookies/ Swan Cycles).

In the 30+ race the leaders jersey changed hands in the final stage after a long 5 rider breakaway in the final criterium which Andy Ruiz, Albany NY (CCB International) made up the necessary time gap to move into the top spot before the end of the race. Three other riders, Dan Coldry (Cyclelogik), Ed Makarchuck (KHS Canada) and James Brooks (Donovan's) other riders in the break group also leapfroged past previous leader Michel Cyr (Rouleurs de l'Outaouais), in the last event.

In the 40+ race early leader Hamish Gordon (Midweek) lost 20 seconds to eventual winner, Glenn Swan (Cranford CTS) in the Time Trial, but was still left with a 5 second gap to Swan after picking up a handful of time bonuses in the criterium. Jim Laird (Multi-Laser) shot to the toward the top of the results sheet after posting the second best time in the the time trial to finish in 3rd overall, just 12 seconds down on first place.



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2018 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.